Mede8er MED600X3D new 3D version to 2013 - Page 25 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > Mede8er MED600X3D new 3D version to 2013

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tangled Cable's Avatar Tangled Cable
11:22 AM Liked: 29
post #721 of 932
10-09-2013 | Posts: 641
Joined: Nov 2005
So am I right in thinking there is still an issue with forced subtitles and .m2ts rips and 3d isos? No simple plug and play solution?
giomania's Avatar giomania
08:26 PM Liked: 32
post #722 of 932
10-09-2013 | Posts: 2,947
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tangled Cable View Post

So am I right in thinking there is still an issue with forced subtitles and .m2ts rips and 3d isos? No simple plug and play solution?

I had a problem (stuttering audio) with 3D ISO's, but it was not the Mede8er's fault. I learned on the Mede8er forum that someone else with my model NAS streamed them just fine. As noted above, MKV's worked for me instead. Probably the cascaded switches in my network causing the issues.

Mark
Tangled Cable's Avatar Tangled Cable
08:30 PM Liked: 29
post #723 of 932
10-09-2013 | Posts: 641
Joined: Nov 2005
Any issue with forced subtitles?
giomania's Avatar giomania
09:24 PM Liked: 32
post #724 of 932
10-09-2013 | Posts: 2,947
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tangled Cable View Post

Any issue with forced subtitles?

I don't have any titles with that issue yet. From what I understand, all media players have issues with forced subtitles, but perhaps others will chime in.
robnix's Avatar robnix
09:34 AM Liked: 304
post #725 of 932
10-10-2013 | Posts: 1,842
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post

I don't have any titles with that issue yet. From what I understand, all media players have issues with forced subtitles, but perhaps others will chime in.

The Dune and PCH players will show forced subs in MKV files only. They need to be marked as forced in order for this to work.

None of the players will handle forced subs in ISO or m2ts files.
deewan's Avatar deewan
03:08 PM Liked: 68
post #726 of 932
10-10-2013 | Posts: 1,303
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post


The Dune and PCH players will show forced subs in MKV files only. They need to be marked as forced in order for this to work.

None of the players will handle forced subs in ISO or m2ts files.

I could easily be wrong. I have a Micca ep600 player that, if my memory serves me right, plays forced subtitles from BD .iso files that I have ripped using DVDFab. I will double check that fact tonight.

Anyways, I was about to buy a med600 but I am not waiting for a fix or something else if forced subtitles won't be displayed with BD .iso files.

(and sorry if I am not understanding something. I know just enough about streaming devices and ripping to be dangerous, not an expert.) smile.gif
djc11369's Avatar djc11369
03:42 PM Liked: 22
post #727 of 932
10-10-2013 | Posts: 494
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by deewan View Post

I could easily be wrong. I have a Micca ep600 player that, if my memory serves me right, plays forced subtitles from BD .iso files that I have ripped using DVDFab. I will double check that fact tonight.

Anyways, I was about to buy a med600 but I am not waiting for a fix or something else if forced subtitles won't be displayed with BD .iso files.

(and sorry if I am not understanding something. I know just enough about streaming devices and ripping to be dangerous, not an expert.) smile.gif

No, none of the Realtek 1185/1186 players recognize forced subtitles which includes the Micca.
deewan's Avatar deewan
08:41 PM Liked: 68
post #728 of 932
10-10-2013 | Posts: 1,303
Joined: Dec 2005
Ahhh, I see the errors of my ways now. Several of the movies I have watched do have subtitles and only when there is a non-english language spoken. but it appears they are hard coded, not 'forced'. I didn't realize there are all different types of subtitles with .iso files. Sorry for my added confusion! cool.gif
robnix's Avatar robnix
09:13 AM Liked: 304
post #729 of 932
10-11-2013 | Posts: 1,842
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by deewan View Post

Ahhh, I see the errors of my ways now. Several of the movies I have watched do have subtitles and only when there is a non-english language spoken. but it appears they are hard coded, not 'forced'. I didn't realize there are all different types of subtitles with .iso files. Sorry for my added confusion! cool.gif

No worries, it's confusing for everyone.
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
10:12 AM Liked: 608
post #730 of 932
10-11-2013 | Posts: 6,456
Joined: Mar 2009
I'm just going to ask this anyway even though I am pretty sure the answer is NO. Is there going to be a possibility for Mede8er to support Plex like Popcorn Hour has?
halfelite's Avatar halfelite
11:43 AM Liked: 62
post #731 of 932
10-11-2013 | Posts: 1,257
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I'm just going to ask this anyway even though I am pretty sure the answer is NO. Is there going to be a possibility for Mede8er to support Plex like Popcorn Hour has?

they have no plans to. I asked on there forum. you can use the web browser on the mede8er to access the plex html portal and play videos that way though. but its not easy to operate
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
12:48 PM Liked: 608
post #732 of 932
10-11-2013 | Posts: 6,456
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

they have no plans to. I asked on there forum. you can use the web browser on the mede8er to access the plex html portal and play videos that way though. but its not easy to operate

Oh well then, that removes the Mede8er from my list of possible media players to buy. I like the Mede8er support and features, but my wife, kids and I just hate the jukebox completely.
tamnguyen's Avatar tamnguyen
05:23 PM Liked: 10
post #733 of 932
10-18-2013 | Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2005
Let me first apologize if my would be question has already been asked.

Although not care too much for 3D movie, I am really like this Mede8er 600x3d and thinking about to buy one to replace my aging SageTV300. My movie collection contains only DVD and 2D BlueRay that in their native format, folder structure. Most of the posts here are only discussing 3D movie in ISO or MKV file and have not seen in depth discussion of 2D in folder format. Will 600x3d plays the folder structure as greate as ISO files or do i have to convert the movies to iso or mkv? Thank you.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
05:33 PM Liked: 71
post #734 of 932
10-18-2013 | Posts: 11,337
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamnguyen View Post

Let me first apologize if my would be question has already been asked.

Although not care too much for 3D movie, I am really like this Mede8er 600x3d and thinking about to buy one to replace my aging SageTV300. My movie collection contains only DVD and 2D BlueRay that in their native format, folder structure. Most of the posts here are only discussing 3D movie in ISO or MKV file and have not seen in depth discussion of 2D in folder format. Will 600x3d plays the folder structure as greate as ISO files or do i have to convert the movies to iso or mkv? Thank you.

600x3D will play the 2D BR ISOs fine. The only exceptions would be no forced sub or seamless branch support (I can't remember if the SageTV supported either of these, was a real long time ago that I used the TV300)
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
05:53 PM Liked: 477
post #735 of 932
10-18-2013 | Posts: 10,527
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

600x3D will play the 2D BR ISOs fine. The only exceptions would be no forced sub or seamless branch support (I can't remember if the SageTV supported either of these, was a real long time ago that I used the TV300)
So what does it do, actually, if it doesn't support seamless branching. Does it just go into the BDMV\STREAM folder and play the largest .m2ts file?
Does it open a playlist at all -- i.e. does it at least support chapter skip points in a BD.iso.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
04:09 AM Liked: 71
post #736 of 932
10-19-2013 | Posts: 11,337
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

So what does it do, actually, if it doesn't support seamless branching. Does it just go into the BDMV\STREAM folder and play the largest .m2ts file?
Does it open a playlist at all -- i.e. does it at least support chapter skip points in a BD.iso.

I believe it grabs the longest playlist and uses that. The movie will play in its normal sequence, but you will see some jumping as you go from one m2ts to the next.,
tamnguyen's Avatar tamnguyen
05:43 PM Liked: 10
post #737 of 932
10-19-2013 | Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2005
Thank you dbone. when you say not supporting force subtitle and seamless branching, are you refer only to 3d or both of 2d and 3d on Medde8er? I am currently using hd300 for all 2d dvd and blueray. Some of the dvd and blueray I do notice microsecond pause when it change to next scene, kind of annoyance tho. About the force subtitle, I play the Avatar DVD with subtitle turn on and do see the sub for alien language. The same goes with the BR Star Trek when Klingon speaking foreign tongue. If the Mede8er can display force sub when the subtitle feature is turned on, I am good with that.

I saw the v3 firmware is release. Will the new firmware be factory install or is it still on the v1.x? I am also big on movie wall and convenience of not having to mess with 3rd party app for the movie wall. Thanks again for your answer.
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
07:59 PM Liked: 477
post #738 of 932
10-19-2013 | Posts: 10,527
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I believe it grabs the longest playlist and uses that. The movie will play in its normal sequence, but you will see some jumping as you go from one m2ts to the next.,
I see, thank you. So this jumping is obviously the complaint I'm reading about with regard to seamless branching.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
06:13 AM Liked: 71
post #739 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 11,337
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamnguyen View Post

Thank you dbone. when you say not supporting force subtitle and seamless branching, are you refer only to 3d or both of 2d and 3d on Medde8er? I am currently using hd300 for all 2d dvd and blueray. Some of the dvd and blueray I do notice microsecond pause when it change to next scene, kind of annoyance tho. About the force subtitle, I play the Avatar DVD with subtitle turn on and do see the sub for alien language. The same goes with the BR Star Trek when Klingon speaking foreign tongue. If the Mede8er can display force sub when the subtitle feature is turned on, I am good with that.

I saw the v3 firmware is release. Will the new firmware be factory install or is it still on the v1.x? I am also big on movie wall and convenience of not having to mess with 3rd party app for the movie wall. Thanks again for your answer.

I am talking about both 2D and 3D Blu rays. For Blu Rays the only way the Mede8er will display the forced subtitle when turned on is if the forced subtitle track is the default track (i.e. the Mede8er will automatically load the default subtitle track). Otherwise you will have to cycle through the subtitle tracks to figure out which one is the forced sub track.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

I see, thank you. So this jumping is obviously the complaint I'm reading about with regard to seamless branching.

Yes, the jumping seems to be more obvious in some blu ray titles versus others for whatever reason.
StratmanX's Avatar StratmanX
07:58 AM Liked: 23
post #740 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 261
Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I am talking about both 2D and 3D Blu rays. For Blu Rays the only way the Mede8er will display the forced subtitle when turned on is if the forced subtitle track is the default track (i.e. the Mede8er will automatically load the default subtitle track). Otherwise you will have to cycle through the subtitle tracks to figure out which one is the forced sub track.
How difficult is it to find the forced subtitle track on the disk when ripping in order to make it the default subtitle track? It must not be apparent because people post about this a lot. How do you know which is the forced subtitle track before you rip the movie?. Is there an application that can help find it?

What about after you rip a movie without making forced subtitle the default - how to you find/use it during movie playback - by trying every subtitle track for your language via the Mede8er remote's subtitle button?
robnix's Avatar robnix
08:02 AM Liked: 304
post #741 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 1,842
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by StratmanX View Post

How difficult is it to find the forced subtitle track on the disk when ripping in order to make it the default subtitle track? It must not be apparent because people post about this a lot. How do you know which is the forced subtitle track before you rip the movie?. Is there an application that can help find it?

What about after you rip a movie without making forced subtitle the default - how to you find/use it during movie playback - by trying every subtitle track for your language via the Mede8er remote's subtitle button?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1176923/movies-with-forced-subtitles/0_50

Helps a lot. biggrin.gif
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
08:07 AM Liked: 71
post #742 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 11,337
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by StratmanX View Post

How difficult is it to find the forced subtitle track on the disk when ripping in order to make it the default subtitle track? It must not be apparent because people post about this a lot. How do you know which is the forced subtitle track before you rip the movie?. Is there an application that can help find it?

What about after you rip a movie without making forced subtitle the default - how to you find/use it during movie playback - by trying every subtitle track for your language via the Mede8er remote's subtitle button?

Forced subs are tricky because they are not always flagged as forced subs (I am assuming the disc authors/studios may do this to further confuse). A tool like MakeMKV looks for forced subtitles, and if founds sets as the default sub in an mkv. I use Clown_BD (the tools behind it being eac3to and bdsup2sub) which will extract the forced subtitles for you (once again, not 100%).

As far as after you rip there is no easy way. First, you need to know ahead of time that the movie even has forced subs. After that, it is just a matter of guessing by cycling through the available subtitles (even then this is not easy since the forced subs will only appear in a few scenes you need to know what scenes to even be sure you turned them on)
StratmanX's Avatar StratmanX
10:17 AM Liked: 23
post #743 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 261
Joined: Aug 2011
Thank you robnix and dbone. This is a bit of a mess. Either you do the work at the time of the rip or you interrupt watching the movie when you realize you need a subtitle and have to go searching. You would think someone would have written an app to view the subtitles on the sidk before ripping to more easily determine the forced subtitle to add to your rip.
hifiaudio2's Avatar hifiaudio2
12:27 PM Liked: 75
post #744 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 2,712
Joined: Oct 2001
Yeah I was going to start ripping to MKV for playback on a new 600x3d but all of this became too time consuming. I will just stick to ISO and my Oppo with Iso playback until somehow playing back forced subs is resolved in an easier manner.
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
12:46 PM Liked: 608
post #745 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 6,456
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

Yeah I was going to start ripping to MKV for playback on a new 600x3d but all of this became too time consuming. I will just stick to ISO and my Oppo with Iso playback until somehow playing back forced subs is resolved in an easier manner.

You sire are going to be waiting for a very long time for proper support of forced subtitles. Specially for Mede8er since it appears to be a hardware issue. I switched everything to MKV and flagged the subtitle tracks, and by using the Dune patch, it will play the forced subs correctly. I've been testing Plex with forced subs for Avatar and The Avengers, and it played the forced subs also. I haven't had time to test other movies yet. With Plex you need to flag the subtitle track as well. Plex can also download the subtitle tracks if need it, but I haven't tested that yet.
hifiaudio2's Avatar hifiaudio2
12:57 PM Liked: 75
post #746 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 2,712
Joined: Oct 2001
Yeah I probably will be waiting quite a while. Oh well. From what I read it just looked incredibly time consuming and a lot of time wasted in "trail and error" to effectively rip to MKV while keeping proper forced subs intact. Maybe its one of those things that would become quick and second nature once I started doing it, who knows.

I really would like to, as clicking a movie and having it start immediately with no menus like my discs or rips would be very nice. I would watch small favorite parts of movies way more often like that.
blipszyc's Avatar blipszyc
01:06 PM Liked: 38
post #747 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 2,664
Joined: Aug 2000
Well here's an odd notion and one that works well for me...I don't even mess with ripping discs with foreign or alien languages that might be difficult to rip the subtitles. Avatar and Die Hard 4 come to mind in the last year or so for me. I just pop the disc in the Blu-ray player and voila, perfect subtitles. wink.giftongue.gif
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
01:36 PM Liked: 608
post #748 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 6,456
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post

Well here's an odd notion and one that works well for me...I don't even mess with ripping discs with foreign or alien languages that might be difficult to rip the subtitles. Avatar and Die Hard 4 come to mind in the last year or so for me. I just pop the disc in the Blu-ray player and voila, perfect subtitles. wink.giftongue.gif

I don't have issues with Forced subs with MKV + Dune Smart Series + Subtitle Patch = It Works.biggrin.gif
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
02:14 PM Liked: 477
post #749 of 932
10-21-2013 | Posts: 10,527
Joined: Jul 2004
The issue of handling forced subs with media players has been beat to death several times in the Ripping Blu Rays II thread.
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
11:45 PM Liked: 608
post #750 of 932
10-22-2013 | Posts: 6,456
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

The issue of handling forced subs with media players has been beat to death several times in the Ripping Blu Rays II thread.

Did I mentioned that Mede8er should look into supporting Plex. Plex so far recognizes the forced sub flagged from my Avatar and The Avengers. Further, the Plex Jukebox is better since it supports both movies and TV shows biggrin.gif
Tags: Med1000x3d Hd 3d Multimedia Player

Gear in this thread
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3