Does anyone know a Media Player with 3tb hdd support? (GPT Support) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-12-2012, 02:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Charlie Blanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello to all, new here!

I bought a Seagate 3tb and installed into my argosy hv335t, only recognized me 465gb, I tried it with 2 partitions and it didnt recognized it either, i was researching about this other GPT partition system for HDDs bigger than 2tb and wondered...

is it possible that an upgrade on the firmware may solve this in the near future? or is this more a hardware thing that needs new components on the Argosy?

Also, is there in the market a media player with GPT support? i can use my 3tb HDD by the Argosys usb port but not inside the unit

Thanks
Charlie Blanco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-12-2012, 03:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
DUNE for sure but i think that PCH are also doing it
Mr Eric is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-12-2012, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Blanco View Post

Also, is there in the market a media player with GPT support?
The WDTV Live supports GPT. I've had a 4TB GPT volume attached to one (USB) and it worked perfectly. You need Win Vista or Win-7 to set up GPT partitions on a HDD.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-16-2012, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Charlie Blanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Kelson, I also have my 3tb attached to my argosy via usb, but I am looking for an specific model/brand that let me put my 3tb inside and that recognize the 3tb
Charlie Blanco is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off