looking for a recommendation on a RAID or backup solution - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 12-15-2012, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi. I'm looking for a recommendation for a RAID or backup solution for my existing setup. My setup is very straight forward. I have a HP Proliant N40L server running WHS 2011. I currently have 3 of the 5 storage bays filled with 3TB WD hard drives. The 4th Bay is open, and the I have a Blu-Ray drive in the optical disk bay. Setup is used for ripping my Blu-Ray collection to .MKV files and used with MyMovies and a Dune Player. The only software I run on the server is MakeMKV and MyMovies for WHS to catalog the rips.

I'm a newbie when it comes to RAID and backup. What I would like is to be able to add a 4th Hard Drive to the setup as a backup for the other 3..so If any of the other ones failed, I wont loose the .MKVs stored on it. Can this be done with software on my current setup? or is something more elaborate needed?

I don't really like talking about my flair

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 12-20-2012, 04:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

any thoughts/suggestions appreciated.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 Old 12-20-2012, 06:50 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Not really familiar with WHS so I might be wrong here but I don't think it does RAID at least in the normal way most other NAS do because it's really just a PC OS with custom front end. You need to get a RAID controller which operates independent of the OS just like you would on a PC. Some more details on this site and check the bios of the PC (N40L) and see if has a RAID controller built in, flip it from IDE/ACHI to RAID.