Is the dune the way to go? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 01-04-2013, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
N49ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well about to finally pull the trigger on a media streamer. I'd like to use it over an HDbaseT. I'd like to rip my BD to ISO on network storage. Was looking at the HD Max. Anything else to consider?
N49ATV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 01-05-2013, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Dune is the way to go, nothing else to consider right now.
mlknez is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 01-05-2013, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
N49ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Think I'll try to find a base 3d for distribution, and still have a dedicated in room for rentals etc

*edit*

Looks like a smart b1 for distribution, since it will support full bd. and a newer player for 3d
N49ATV is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 01-06-2013, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Dunes + a media jukebox (Yadis/Zappiti) = a beautiful thing smile.gif
bluewhale1 is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 01-06-2013, 06:02 AM
Member
 
mjt5282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Old Greenwich, CT, USA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Dune + Zappiti plays everything i throw at it. Zapp is a little buggy but in the end does the job. Flexible with subtitles and soundtracks. It even has a iPad app ... I use MakeMKV to create single file MKV's per BD or TV show. Works well.
mjt5282 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 01-06-2013, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Metric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
when is the 3d ready to order?

I want to die in my sleep like grandpa... not kicking and screaming like the people in his car.
Metric is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 01-06-2013, 01:07 PM
Member
 
fasterthanlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm hearing the 1st quarter of this year (2013) for the Dune HD Base 3D here in the US. i plan to purchase one for BD 3D and use my Smart for BD ISO for full menu support.

I have my Zappiti folder on my NAS so both Dunes will use a central repo for movie covers and info. Works like a champ!

Cheers,
FTL
fasterthanlight is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 01-06-2013, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metric View Post

when is the 3d ready to order?

You can order right now. They started production 2 weeks ago.
mlknez is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 01-06-2013, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
N49ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Won't the 3d have cinavia?

I am planning on going with a dune + multi room+, as a distribution. Hence the ISO playback
N49ATV is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 01-07-2013, 01:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
no Cinavia on media players (dune or other) simply because it will kill the purpose of having a media player...

But : no cinavia = no menu but only Lite mode for BR.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 01-07-2013, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
N49ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I were to order a d1, it will have lost its menus? Or just new players lose menus?
N49ATV is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 01-07-2013, 07:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
no you will still have menus because the Smart series was created before cinavia became mandatory in the BDA licencing. Cinavia is a problem only for products launched and including a BD licence after early 2012, that's why all the 2013 generation of media players don't have menus, only BD Lite.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 01-08-2013, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
agogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post

You can order right now. They started production 2 weeks ago.

Where can we order from? I haven't seen any resellers preordering it. And if they are, what is the price?
agogley is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 01-09-2013, 01:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by agogley View Post

Where can we order from? I haven't seen any resellers preordering it. And if they are, what is the price?

http://www.diamondhomedesign.com/store/Default.aspx (I bought mine from here)

or

www.duneplayer.com

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 01-09-2013, 10:24 AM
Member
 
travanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

no you will still have menus because the Smart series was created before cinavia became mandatory in the BDA licencing. Cinavia is a problem only for products launched and including a BD licence after early 2012, that's why all the 2013 generation of media players don't have menus, only BD Lite.

I didn't know that. Even more reason to like my Dune Smart still chugging away.
travanx is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 01-11-2013, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
N49ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered the D1
N49ATV is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 01-11-2013, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Metric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Still don't see how to order the new 3d version.

I want to die in my sleep like grandpa... not kicking and screaming like the people in his car.
Metric is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 01-11-2013, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metric View Post

Still don't see how to order the new 3d version.

Duneplayer.com website pre orders start next week for Base 3d and Zappiti player.
bluewhale1 is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 01-12-2013, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
agogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by N49ATV View Post

Just ordered the D1

I have two and love them! I'd like a 3d player though.
agogley is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off