Kdlinks hd700? - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 58 Old 10-29-2013, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

While it costs more, it's worth getting a Mede8er 600X3D over any other Realtek 1186-based 3D streamer. Perfect 23.976 and 24.000, movie/TV jukeboxes, and good support.
I heard kdlinks supports BD menus. Does Mede8er supports bd-menus?
sukumar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 58 Old 10-29-2013, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,977
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Neither supports Blu-ray menus, unless it's older discs with profile 1.0 menus.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #33 of 58 Old 11-05-2013, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Currently I have a WDTV live SMP. I want to stream full BD rips either in the native BDMV folder structure or even ISO if I have to. Currently, the WDTV does not support playback of these formats. They will only play the first or longest .m2ts file.

So, this KDlinks700 will work for what I want to do?

Will this recognize Windows shares from a computer? Would you recommend serving my media this way with the KD? This is how I do it with the WDTV.

I also don't like that the WDTV outputs DTS core vs full DTS-MA. This will pass full DTS-MA?

Thanks fellas
johnBlanker is online now  
post #34 of 58 Old 11-15-2013, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Bump
johnBlanker is online now  
post #35 of 58 Old 11-15-2013, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,977
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 71
KDlinks700 uses RTD1186 chip, so it should play 3D rips (folder or ISO) and pass both TrueHD and DTS-MA. What I don't know is if it supports choosing playlists like Mede8er X3D series.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #36 of 58 Old 11-21-2013, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Hey everyone, I started an *Official KDLINKS HD*** Official Thread over here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1500875/official-kdlinks-hd-streaming-media-player-thread
johnBlanker is online now  
post #37 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
whats the cheapest media player with dts ma passthrough available???
Bamafan35611 is online now  
post #38 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 09:10 AM
 
Bob Olink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Not sure what the cheapest is but the WD TV Live HD Streaming Media Player does pass DTS Master HD and Dolby True HD. I got a refurb on ebay for $60 that looks absolutely new and I can confirm it does pass the audio correctly after updating to the latest firmware. Warranty is only 90 days. Shipping was free with priority mail. The auction lists shipping as economy but mine was sent priority possibly because it was an in-state shipment where priority and parcel are the same price for light packages. Anyway, it was a good deal for my bedroom setup and something you might consider. http://www.ebay.com/itm/WD-TV-Live-HD-Streaming-Media-Player-1080P-WDBGXT0000NBK-with-Wifi-netflix-/231104821699?pt=US_Internet_Media_Streamers&hash=item35ceebb9c3
Bob Olink is offline  
post #39 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olink View Post

Not sure what the cheapest is but the WD TV Live HD Streaming Media Player does pass DTS Master HD and Dolby True HD. I got a refurb on ebay for $60 that looks absolutely new and I can confirm it does pass the audio correctly after updating to the latest firmware. Warranty is only 90 days. Shipping was free with priority mail. The auction lists shipping as economy but mine was sent priority possibly because it was an in-state shipment where priority and parcel are the same price for light packages. Anyway, it was a good deal for my bedroom setup and something you might consider. http://www.ebay.com/itm/WD-TV-Live-HD-Streaming-Media-Player-1080P-WDBGXT0000NBK-with-Wifi-netflix-/231104821699?pt=US_Internet_Media_Streamers&hash=item35ceebb9c3


i have a wd tv live and it does not play dts ma it only does the dts core
Bamafan35611 is online now  
post #40 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 12:53 PM
 
Bob Olink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Mine lights up the DTS Master HD light on my receiver with the most recent firmware from a couple of weeks ago so I assume it is passing the entire magilla.
Bob Olink is offline  
post #41 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olink View Post

Mine lights up the DTS Master HD light on my receiver with the most recent firmware from a couple of weeks ago so I assume it is passing the entire magilla.


its prob because you have the Live I have the Live plus its a different player all together
Bamafan35611 is online now  
post #42 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 27
yes, the WDTV Live smart media player, currently around $80 on Amazon, will pass DTS-MA with the latest FW. This FW also gave it the ability to play seamless branching files in the correct order. However this is only confirmed by some users as the changelog was VERY vague about this. It fixed that bugged-out rear usb port too.

When I had it, about a month ago, it froze up on every .m2ts file I played and it did not handle FF/RW. It locked it up. Not sure if this was improved.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #43 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olink View Post

Not sure what the cheapest is but the WD TV Live HD Streaming Media Player does pass DTS Master HD and Dolby True HD. I got a refurb on ebay for $60 that looks absolutely new and I can confirm it does pass the audio correctly after updating to the latest firmware. Warranty is only 90 days. Shipping was free with priority mail. The auction lists shipping as economy but mine was sent priority possibly because it was an in-state shipment where priority and parcel are the same price for light packages. Anyway, it was a good deal for my bedroom setup and something you might consider. http://www.ebay.com/itm/WD-TV-Live-HD-Streaming-Media-Player-1080P-WDBGXT0000NBK-with-Wifi-netflix-/231104821699?pt=US_Internet_Media_Streamers&hash=item35ceebb9c3


eeennnggggg,, manufac refurb? IDK, I would rather fork over the extra $20 for a new one. I'm not much of a risk taker tho.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #44 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post

yes, the WDTV Live smart media player, currently around $80 on Amazon, will pass DTS-MA with the latest FW. This FW also gave it the ability to play seamless branching files in the correct order. However this is only confirmed by some users as the changelog was VERY vague about this. It fixed that bugged-out rear usb port too.

When I had it, about a month ago, it froze up on every .m2ts file I played and it did not handle FF/RW. It locked it up. Not sure if this was improved.

this is the one I am looking at is this the correct one?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005KOZNBW/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=37WYP2VP9VIR4&coliid=I22B513KYR36AU
Bamafan35611 is online now  
post #45 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 03:34 PM
 
Bob Olink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yeah, I have a bit of trepidation when ordering factory refurbs although I have had no trouble with any of the 4 or 5 items I've purchased over the years. New stuff is an entirely different story for me. It seems if there is a bad one on the shelf that's the one I grab. You mention trouble with ff/rw, that is something I haven't tried yet on the few movies I've watched so will have to give it a go. Guess I should butt out now and let this thread get back on track.
Bob Olink is offline  
post #46 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post

this is the one I am looking at is this the correct one?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005KOZNBW/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=37WYP2VP9VIR4&coliid=I22B513KYR36AU
Yes, that is the one. Let us know how you like it. I purchased it on Oct 24 but returned it soon after due to the problems they later fixed with the most recent FW update.mad.gif

I will eventually be purchasing 2 more streamers, 1 for downstairs and 1 for the bedroom. If the ff/rw and playback problems are fixed I will go with the WDtv. Nothing against the kdlinks but I don't need the HD bay and the 700 is more money. Plus the interface and apps are much better on the wdtv. Also, it shows metadata info (artist, runtime) while browsing. You have the play the movie to get the metadata info (NFO files) on the KDL. The WDTV has iOS/Android apps, is hackable with custom themes, and has a longer proven track record. WD is not going out of business any time soon.

All in all, none of these fancy things mean squat if it won't play my files flawlessly. If I had to choose then it's back to the kdlinks and I'll be happy.

The wdtv streamers use the Sigma chip.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #47 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olink View Post

Yeah, I have a bit of trepidation when ordering factory refurbs although I have had no trouble with any of the 4 or 5 items I've purchased over the years. New stuff is an entirely different story for me. It seems if there is a bad one on the shelf that's the one I grab. You mention trouble with ff/rw, that is something I haven't tried yet on the few movies I've watched so will have to give it a go. Guess I should butt out now and let this thread get back on track.

I should mention, I only have experience with streaming files through my network. Wait. Actually I did load up some BD rips and play them on a portable HDD plugged into the front usb port.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #48 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
To bad they don't unlock the dtsma pass through for the wd tv live plus
Bamafan35611 is online now  
post #49 of 58 Old 12-31-2013, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I hope the live will support a USB powered hub cause I had to get customers firmware for the live plus to see the USB hub
Bamafan35611 is online now  
post #50 of 58 Old 07-05-2014, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
bakibd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kdlinks HD700 stuttering issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post
I recently purchased (and returned) a KDLinks HD700. It has the 24Hz bug, that no player should ever have. The earliest versions of the WDTV from several years ago had the bug but they soon corrected it with a firmware update. Why would any manufacturer still be putting out media players with an incorrect refresh rate - no excuse. Also I found that the HD700 would hang-up or stutter with a lot of the Blu-ray rips, both in mkv and m2ts file formats, that play without any issue on either my PC or my WDTV player.
I am in the same opinion with Ron Jones, my hd700 stutters with almost all the bluray rip movies, and it is grossly noticeable in a fast moving scene. Could you find any solution to this issue, Ron Jones?
bakibd is offline  
post #51 of 58 Old 07-06-2014, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 6,236
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakibd View Post
I am in the same opinion with Ron Jones, my hd700 stutters with almost all the bluray rip movies, and it is grossly noticeable in a fast moving scene. Could you find any solution to this issue, Ron Jones?

I found the HD7000 to be hopelessly flawed for playback of 1080p rips. My solution was to send it back to Amazon for a refund.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #52 of 58 Old 10-23-2014, 04:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
From today YouTube stopped to work on Kdlinks HD700.
It displays "Youtube on TV is not supported on this device"

I have latest firmware 1.3.

WTF?
b1085525 is offline  
post #53 of 58 Old 12-29-2014, 12:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ey guys, sure could use your help as i got my hd700 about 2 weeks ago & i havent been able to open, access much less enjoy it like you guys have...i grow envious each time i read each posts. But here it is; when i plug it & turn the switch backside, it just gives me a prompt saying "hello" on the display...waited for about 20 mins several time and still nothing. I tried downloading the firmware update (1.3?), saved it in a usb drive & allowed more waiting for the player to automatically pick up the update file and still nothing. I have mo idea how to hard reset the unit so perhaps that cud also help if you guys know.

Another time, i got a prompt saying "please wait USB update", or another time its USB OTG configuration, so i got even more confused. I'd really appreciate your help guys. Thanks a lot and advance happy new year to all!
Tremorz1970 is offline  
post #54 of 58 Old 12-29-2014, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Sent you a private message with the contact info for the KDLinks
johnBlanker is online now  
post #55 of 58 Old 01-05-2015, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
KenB123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Attached HD

Before I end up with a HD700, I was wondering how it works with attached HDs via the USB ports? I have 3 2-TB drives from my Netgear 550, all BR in ISO format, DVD, and mp3s. From the manual it states it will scan the drives on power-up. Does this scan take long? Can the scan be saved and just done under my control after I make changes? Any prior 550 owners that can compare the two units? Thanks.
KenB123 is offline  
post #56 of 58 Old 02-11-2015, 09:30 AM
Member
 
palavering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thumbs down Subtitle problem

I bought this a few months ago, because I wanted a device that played DTS HD Mstr audio. This player does it! But I need subtitles. The subtitles appear seconds after the person has spoken the words. In other words, the subtitles lag behind--and they also disappear too quickly. Any thoughts?

Last edited by palavering; 02-17-2015 at 12:21 PM.
palavering is offline  
post #57 of 58 Old 02-17-2015, 12:20 PM
Member
 
palavering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoHo View Post
This big question is can it do 23.976 fps natively like the Mede8er just added with the latest firmware. It's the first device (including HTPCs) I've ever seen play video 100% stutter free.
Yes!
palavering is offline  
post #58 of 58 Old Today, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Kdlinks HD 720 playback issues

I have the HD680 and the HD720. I also have an older Diamond Multimedia MP1000. I got the HD720 for 3d and it works well. However, I have an issue with the HD720, as well as the HD680, not being able to play back certain movies. It stutters like a slideshow. Here's what happens.

Two movies, Avatar and XMen Days of Future Past, both play flawlessly on my Diamond MP1000. It plays well through the network and usb connections. After hooking up my HD720, both Avatar and XMen stutter like a slideshow. And here's the kicker, it won't stutter during the resume play screen with "cancel" and "ok" buttons on screen. Plays flawlessly while that is on screen. However, once I make a selection, stutter like no tomorrow. Does it both through the network and usb connections.

I originally thought it was a bandwith issue, so I changed to usb connection and same thing. I've concluded it's a video processing issue with the player itself. Anyone else have this problem? Most movies are fine, but about 10% of the movies stutter and that's a lot.
pixelzpusher is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Kdlinks Hd700 Extreme Full Hd 1080p 3d Media Player
Gear in this thread - Hd700 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off