Comcast wireless troubles - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-31-2013, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kel J Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My dad just got Comcast double play (internet and tv). Now my mediabridge wireless adapter will not connect to the wifi access point no matter what I do. I am able to connect via ethernet.
Now, before we had comcast we had At&t and I believe I setup the new att router on my computer. I am wondering if the old att profile somehow is still on my computer preventing the new comcast router from connecting to the wireless network.
I have:
-power cycled the comcast router
-uninstalled the mediabridge driver
-restarted my computer
-went to command prompt and entered: ipconfig/release & ipconfig/refresh
the message that comes up when I try to input the CORRECT network key is: the key is incorrect. but it is not.

I am able to connect my ipod touch and both of my laptops to the new router.
None of my attempts have worked. Is there anything else I can do.
I am using a desktop.
Kel J Jackson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-01-2013, 12:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Can you just search for available wireless network? Find the correct name for the router, double click it and input the correct SSID?

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-01-2013, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 47
If you have a Comcast router, that's your problem. Comcast should have NOTHING to do with your home network. The only thing Comcast owns in my apartment is one CableCard.
Kel J Jackson likes this.
BiggAW is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-13-2013, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kel J Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I figured it out and the comcast router was blocking my computer through some wacky parental control module. I have never seen anything like that before. Whatever, I got my wifi working.
Kel J Jackson is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off