Boot Dune into Zappiti - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 02-07-2013, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
briancav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just yesterday picked up a Dune Smart H1. I have Zappiti running and everything is just about working perfectly.

I saw a post somewhere (can't seem to find it now) about a new firmware adding the ability to launch a Favorite when the device is powered on. I want to go right to Zappiti when it's turned on.

I'm running the most current firmware but I still don't have this option.

Anyone know when that firmware will be publicly available?

Thx
briancav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 02-07-2013, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Create a shortcut to your zappiti index
Go to favorites, select the zappiti shortcut you just created then press popup menu. You should see the option here wink.gif
Mr Eric is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 02-07-2013, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

Create a shortcut to your zappiti index
Go to favorites, select the zappiti shortcut you just created then press popup menu. You should see the option here wink.gif

^ This. Although I haven't checked if it is in the Smart Series yet (I confirmed this on the TV303D)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 02-07-2013, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Still only available for the new models frown.gif

I should read the post before answering. I was sure it was about zappiti player (because of the title), not the smart range...

Sorry.

I really hope this feature will be added ASAP to the smart.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 02-07-2013, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

I really hope this feature will be added ASAP to the smart.
+1

Waiting with bait-like breath . . .
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 02-07-2013, 02:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

+1

Waiting with bait-like breath . . .

It does work well on my TV303D.

If you look at my review in the 3rd Party jukebox section you can see what the settings look like that Mr Eric pointed out:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2013/02/07/review-dune-hd-tv303d/

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 02-08-2013, 01:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 601
This isn't an option for the Smart Series yet. Trust me, I check my D1 as soon as I read Demains TV303D review.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #8 of 21 Old 02-09-2013, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Because I have a Base 3.... I didn't want to wait for HDI to finally update their FW to do what we all want to do...

So, I was able to figure out how to get my Hamony to automatically power on all my devices and the go directly to the yaDIS/Zappiti menu system...

I thought I would share the setup:

1: Click on the Settings tab of the Watch Movie activity:



2: Click on the "Change Options" of the Watch Movie activity:



3: In the "Play on Enter" section... Choose "Do not Send Play" (This option starts to build a playlist if the "Send Play" option is chosen



I also made some changes to the "Review the settings for this Activity"

1: Choose... Review settings for this Activity



2: Choose: "Yes, but I want to add more control...


Make sure everything is correct on all pages until you come to this page... where you can then add custom actions to your startup. I added a 2 second delay as well as sending the "Enter" command to the Dune.


Just thought I'd share... Now my five year old can be trusted to stream movies with the Dune!

Sorry... The above setup works because I have yaDIS as the first item on the Dune's main screen biggrin.gif



If you do not have it there as well... you will also have to add the "Direction Keys" to the action... prior to the "Enter" command in this part of the harmony setup:


The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 02-09-2013, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 601
I've done that already. It doesn't work for me all the time. That's why I mainly use the Dune remote, iPad or iPhone app.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #10 of 21 Old 02-11-2013, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The new Dunes are set to automatically boot from a media jukebox (Zappiti/Yadis) The FW will trickle down.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 02-14-2013, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
CIR-Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I thnk the next FW update for the older models will have the ability.

craigr

Precision Video Calibration
JETI Specbos 1211 Spectroradiometer
Klein K10-A Laboratory Grade Colorimeter
Quantum Data QD780 Multimedia Generator
ChromaPure Pro Color Calibration Software

www.CIR-Engineering.com - craigr@cir-engineering.com

Craig Rounds

CIR-Engineering is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 02-19-2013, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
sac130e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How exactly did you get the Yadis icon to be the first item on the Home screen?
I have looked everywhere and the best I can do is get into the favorites folder.

Scott
sac130e is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 02-19-2013, 12:27 PM
Member
 
fasterthanlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
+1 for another Dune Smart user anxiously awaiting the Zappiti - On - PowerUp feature firmare update !!!!
fasterthanlight is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 06-13-2013, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
any update on this yet?

I don't really like talking about my flair

My Home Theater Project:
barhoram is online now  
post #15 of 21 Old 06-13-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post

any update on this yet?

Been working on the Dunes for a few months now with no issues

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 06-13-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Been working on the Dunes for a few months now with no issues

+1

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #17 of 21 Old 10-18-2013, 04:23 AM
Newbie
 
Bokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

That mean the function is now available after FW update?

Bokin is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 10-18-2013, 05:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokin View Post

That mean the function is now available after FW update?

Yes

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 07-17-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Did the latest Dune firmware for the Smart D1 break something with Zappiti? When I go into the app now I get a little loading bar on the bottom right hand side of the screen with every button press when navigating movies and it often kicks me back out of the Zappiti interface. Very sluggish and buddy. Worked flawlessly before taking the new Dune firmware.

This is "Version "140610_0131_b8" (stable version)"
hifiaudio2 is online now  
post #20 of 21 Old 07-17-2014, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Update: I reverted back to firmware Version "131213_0131_b6" and all is well (VERY nice that the Dune has a feature right in the GUI to see tons of older firmwares and just "upgrade" to whichever one you want).


Is there another thread discussing this? I would have thought others would run into whatever the issue is.
hifiaudio2 is online now  
post #21 of 21 Old 07-17-2014, 07:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 232
I've never bothered with booting directly into Zappiti, but I'm on the latest firmware and having no trouble using Zappiti the regular way.
rdgrimes is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off