[HOW-TO] Roll your own Synology DiskStation for NAS - UPDATE 5/28/2013 DSM 4.2-3211 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by replayrob View Post

Run the NAS off a UPS... most power problems are transient- lasting only a few seconds, with a UPS your NAS wouldn't even notice the outage.
Or, get one of the flash drives with a mechanical lock switch on it, program it- then set the write protect switch. I just bought a few of them for work for DOS boot drives for out ToughBook laptop and old Motorola DOS only programs.

If you followed the instructions to the T you will not have any reboot issues resulting in GRUB errors on reboot or after power failure. If it makes you feel better then get a write-protected USB stick and flip the switch after your installation is complete.

Yes, get a UPS. That goes without saying for any storage appliance.
r3zon8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by replayrob View Post

Can't believe you guys want to run your NAS without a UPS, it should be considered part of the system like the hard disks.
Get the smallest one they sell- $49 on sale at local big box stores all the time. No worries after that. No system with hard drives like unexpected loss of power, it's very stressful on the hardware.


Agreed, get a UPS
r3zon8 is offline  
post #93 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post

Very neat experiment though I don't understand why anyone would actually use this. You want a NAS to be stable and not hack. When playing around with 8TB's of data do you really want to be using a house of cards? Servers don't need to be powerhouses for the most part. There are a variety of price points for Synology and other NAS brands. That would be the safer way to go.

Philip

If you're experimenting with hardware you had 'lying around', chances are your Synology box will be buggy. Get yourself the right hardware and your box will be as solid as any commercial NAS available.
r3zon8 is offline  
post #94 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post

As I have said before, this is a neat experiment. I can't see it being used as a main device for two reasons. The first is you don't want a hack as a server. The second, and this seems to not have been brought up, is that this appears to be something verging on theft of Synology's OS. DSM is one of the reasons why people buy their hardware. Remove that and their hardware becomes less valuable. There really seems to be something wrong in all of this.

Philip

Synology makes their code publicly available through Sourceforge as required by GPL. No wrong doing here, just hard work. Have at it yourself before you infer any theft of IP.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/dsgpl/files/
r3zon8 is offline  
post #95 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex50 View Post

I followed the steps using N40L and a 4GB usb flash drive. Everything worked fine during the installation process, and I was able to log into DSM. However, when I shut down from within DSM, and turn the unit back on, it fails to boot with the following error message:

GRUB loading, please wait....
Error 17

I have a DS1812+ and would like to use this as a backup target for Folder Sync. Could anyone assist with the error above?

Thanks.

Re-image your USB drive; did you follow the instructions strictly?
r3zon8 is offline  
post #96 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjneder View Post

Looks like 4.2 is out. Any word on posting this version?

Working on it..
r3zon8 is offline  
post #97 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

Hi Philip,
If I had the right hardware lying around (and I might), then I would consider this for a "backup" NAS. What better way to backup your 8TB's?

I already have a Synology, and it is a hassle keeping all of that data backed-up. A secondary Synology to roll to primary onto could simplify my life.

Install the CrashPlan client on DSM; 6$/month, unlimited cloud backup. cool.gif
r3zon8 is offline  
post #98 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentxw View Post

Does this support H77?
My motherboard is P8H77-I

I would suggest:
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/E35M1I/

High Compatibility with this guide. Good Asus build quality. Fanless/Silent design. 6 ports of full 6GB/s throughput. cool.gif
r3zon8 is offline  
post #99 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Now you have me really wondering if this board would work:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/C60M1I

Is there somewhere where we can see the hardware IDs of the hardware supported by this through the GPL?
Sarcoptic is offline  
post #100 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,636
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentxw View Post

Does this support H77?
My motherboard is P8H77-I
If you install this on your P8H77 and it works, I'd love to know as I've been considering this board for a WHS build, but would consider doing this instead.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #101 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 02:02 PM
Member
 
unmesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3zon8 View Post

I think you are mistaken with how DSM installs itself. The USB stick acts as the DOM which is embedded on each Synology on its logic board. You dont 'need' a disk dedicated for the installation.
It wouldn't be the first time I'm mistaken about something smile.gif

So what is the .pat file being installed to?
unmesh is offline  
post #102 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
soccermonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is cool! i got it to wok on an intel SS4200!
soccermonkey is offline  
post #103 of 369 Old 03-21-2013, 03:56 PM
Member
 
pjneder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3zon8 View Post

Working on it..

Excellent. I am curious, have you ever gotten the HDD spin down to work on any board? For me, WoL and HDD spindowns do not work.

Thanks for this!

Journeyman hometheaterphile.
pjneder is offline  
post #104 of 369 Old 03-22-2013, 12:13 AM
Newbie
 
unmesh59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex50 View Post

I followed the steps using N40L and a 4GB usb flash drive. Everything worked fine during the installation process, and I was able to log into DSM. However, when I shut down from within DSM, and turn the unit back on, it fails to boot with the following error message:

GRUB loading, please wait....
Error 17

I have a DS1812+ and would like to use this as a backup target for Folder Sync. Could anyone assist with the error above?

Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3zon8 View Post

Re-image your USB drive; did you follow the instructions strictly?
Or simply pull the USB drive out before clicking on shutdown in DSM biggrin.gif
unmesh59 is offline  
post #105 of 369 Old 03-22-2013, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
gene396302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3zon8 View Post

Yes, any unsupported hardware will cause the watchdog process to initiate a shutdown.

Questions:

1) The Dell PERC H700 use LSI MegaRAID SAS controller AND LSI MegaRAID is on your support list, why can't it work?



2) Is there any ways to get my Dell PERC H700 work on DSM, I would really appreciate if you help me




Thanks a lot ! smile.gif
gene396302 is offline  
post #106 of 369 Old 03-22-2013, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3zon8 View Post


Synology makes their code publicly available through Sourceforge as required by GPL. No wrong doing here, just hard work. Have at it yourself before you infer any theft of IP.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/dsgpl/files/

DSM is NOT open source. They use some open source software and hence document the changes they make to it.

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #107 of 369 Old 03-22-2013, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
pglover19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
r3zon8,

It looks like the installation of DSM on my HP N54L Microserver went fine. However, I am getting a Volume 1 Degraded warning message on the 8GB USB Drive. Is this normal for everyone? Please advise. I have attached a screenshot of the warning message.

pglover19 is offline  
post #108 of 369 Old 03-22-2013, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
soccermonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it means your 8GB usb was used as part of the pool. you probably had to reflash your usb drive to boot. i did the same thing. i had to start over and the next time i made sure the flash drive was not selected as part of the pool.
soccermonkey is offline  
post #109 of 369 Old 03-22-2013, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
pglover19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soccermonkey View Post

it means your 8GB usb was used as part of the pool. you probably had to reflash your usb drive to boot. i did the same thing. i had to start over and the next time i made sure the flash drive was not selected as part of the pool.

Yes... I had to reflash the usb drive... If I start over, how I can I make sure that the flash drive is not selected as part of the pool? Please advise...
pglover19 is offline  
post #110 of 369 Old 03-23-2013, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
pglover19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok.. I fixed the warning message about the USB drive... Another question... Within the DSM software, is the Download Station working for you? See below the error message I am getting... If you know how to resolve it, please let me know..

pglover19 is offline  
post #111 of 369 Old 03-23-2013, 06:57 PM
Newbie
 
lan_baba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone successfully enabled jumbo frame on the N40L/N54L? I got a "MTU setting failed" error.
lan_baba is offline  
post #112 of 369 Old 03-23-2013, 10:35 PM
Newbie
 
nomorgow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think we just need to wait until the new DSM is ready. These are all likely bugs fixed with the new code and new features. smile.gif
nomorgow is offline  
post #113 of 369 Old 03-24-2013, 02:08 PM
Member
 
pjneder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lan_baba View Post

Anyone successfully enabled jumbo frame on the N40L/N54L? I got a "MTU setting failed" error.

Not on that hardware, but on other mobo, yes and it works.

Journeyman hometheaterphile.
pjneder is offline  
post #114 of 369 Old 03-24-2013, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
pglover19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For some reason, after a reboot, my USB drive is being corrupted and I have to reflash the USB drive. When I do that, I get the volume degraded warning message in the DSM GUI. To get rid of the warning message, I need start the entire process over again (flashing the USB drive, wiping the hard drive, etc.). I am using a SanDisk Cruzer 8GB USB drive. Any suggestions....
pglover19 is offline  
post #115 of 369 Old 03-24-2013, 08:17 PM
Newbie
 
nomorgow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3zon8 View Post

Working on it..
Hi r3zon8, are there plans in the future to share how to package builds of DSM to make them run properly on the microserver so that when upgrades get released, that we will be able to build and test within the community? If you need help, i am sure i and others will be able to come together and help you test.

The features of 4.2 are too great to pass up, especially lun snapshot, clone, amongst others.

Thank you!!
nomorgow is offline  
post #116 of 369 Old 03-25-2013, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
replayrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY- The tax State
Posts: 4,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by pglover19 View Post

For some reason, after a reboot, my USB drive is being corrupted and I have to reflash the USB drive. When I do that, I get the volume degraded warning message in the DSM GUI. To get rid of the warning message, I need start the entire process over again (flashing the USB drive, wiping the hard drive, etc.). I am using a SanDisk Cruzer 8GB USB drive. Any suggestions....
Use a flash drive with a physical write-protection switch 4GB for $18:
http://www.amazon.com/Kanguru-Flashblu-4GB-Flash-Drive/dp/B0012WDFV6/ref=pd_bxgy_e_text_y
I use this type of flashdrive to boot my NAS4Free server- I write my boot image to it, save my config file to it- then slide the lock switch to "on" this way it's bullet-proof from writes/corruption, etc.

"If we ain't outta here in ten minutes, we won't need no rocket to fly through space."
replayrob is online now  
post #117 of 369 Old 03-25-2013, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
soccermonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like similar problem I had and another forum member...it seems the flash drive was included as part of your pool. so when you restarted you couldn't, so you re-flash your usb and then DSM is not in degraded state since the usb is now no longer a part of your pool. what i did was after it booted up i took out the flash drive before the pool was created so it only used my hard drives.
soccermonkey is offline  
post #118 of 369 Old 03-25-2013, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
NotYetRated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please let me know if SHR spins up all drives at once during data reads/writes? I know, either unRAID or freeNAS... one of the alternative file storage systems, does not. I rather like the idea of every drive in the array NOT spinning up during all reads/writes, as I see that as unnecessary use of disks...

Anyone know?
NotYetRated is offline  
post #119 of 369 Old 03-26-2013, 09:33 AM
Member
 
iaflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lan_baba View Post

Anyone successfully enabled jumbo frame on the N40L/N54L? I got a "MTU setting failed" error.
I am using a different motherboard, but I have not gotten the jumbo frames to work - I get the same response to any change in the MTU. I have a few other issues that don't work (external USB, and UPS) that I'm chalking up to incorrect drivers.

In response to someone else asking, Download Station works fine for me. I might suggest rebooting after you install the package - if I remember with another package I was having some difficulty and a reboot solved it.
iaflyer is offline  
post #120 of 369 Old 03-27-2013, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
chung0816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone can run the DSM4.2 3203 in physical server?
I had download the DSM4.2 3202 from Xpenology, I had try to install at Virtual box, it work great.
But I try to boot from my HP N40L, I cannot find the DSM from the Synolongy Assistant......

I had using the DSM 4.1 at my HP N40L, any bros can give me the suggestion to run on the physical machine?
chung0816 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Synology Ds1812 Diskstation High Performance Nas Server Scales Up To 18 Drives For Smb Users
Gear in this thread - Ds1812 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off