*Official* Dune HD TV303D/ Base 3D Streamer Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1303 Old 03-01-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
ddiehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

PLay with full menus

Thanks

What if it contains no menus- just the title? Probably a dumb question, but just want to be sure..
ddiehl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1303 Old 03-01-2014, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Anyone has problem playing BD folder structure on the TV303D? On lite-playback, when a track is playing, I can't jump to the next track. frown.gif
Skylinestar is online now  
post #1083 of 1303 Old 03-02-2014, 07:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddiehl View Post

Thanks

What if it contains no menus- just the title? Probably a dumb question, but just want to be sure..

Correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post

Anyone has problem playing BD folder structure on the TV303D? On lite-playback, when a track is playing, I can't jump to the next track. frown.gif

As in you can't go to the next chapter, or are you trying to go to a different title on the disc?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1084 of 1303 Old 03-02-2014, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Correct
As in you can't go to the next chapter, or are you trying to go to a different title on the disc?
Each track has its own m2ts file.
In this case, I want it to play the next track automatically, ie the next m2ts file.
Skylinestar is online now  
post #1085 of 1303 Old 03-03-2014, 02:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post

Each track has its own m2ts file.
In this case, I want it to play the next track automatically, ie the next m2ts file.

I believe for that you need to pull up the BD Lite menu and manually select the next title/track, it is not like skipping chapters in a movie

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1086 of 1303 Old 03-08-2014, 06:59 AM
Member
 
jr0dd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woke up to a new firmware being available date 140223 b6 it reboots to install but never installs. The lcd screen just keeps saying "wait" and never begins the update process. After a few minutes of nothing I shut it down with the switch in back and turn it back on. Came back up fine thankfully. I dunno what's up with this update though it won't install for me. Gonna do a factory reset first and see if it will install then.

So there are 2 updates available. The beta B8 and B6 which looks like it's supposed to be the stable version. B8 is installing just fine.
jr0dd is offline  
post #1087 of 1303 Old 03-08-2014, 07:22 AM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jr0dd View Post

Woke up to a new firmware being available date 140223 b6 it reboots to install but never installs. The lcd screen just keeps saying "wait" and never begins the update process. After a few minutes of nothing I shut it down with the switch in back and turn it back on. Came back up fine thankfully. I dunno what's up with this update though it won't install for me. Gonna do a factory reset first and see if it will install then.

So there are 2 updates available. The beta B8 and B6 which looks like it's supposed to be the stable version. B8 is installing just fine.

B8 Installed ok for me as well.
Pressing the INFO button while some media file is playing now gives you the filename of the source across the top of the screen.
That's a start, since my ancient TViX 6500 does that and gives audio/video info as well, where the Dune only provides video info.
SJSJ is offline  
post #1088 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 06:52 PM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm thinking of picking up the Base 3d player and have a couple questions.

1) can someone please give me the physical size of the unit?
2) All my media is from network share on my 30+ TB of storage, in Xbmc I can have separate tabs on the main screen for 3d, 2d and tv shows which are all in different network folders, can I do the same with the Dune HD Base 3d?
3) Will it scrape cover art like Xbmc does or do I have to do it manually like I did with my old wdtv's?

Thanks for any info.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #1089 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 07:59 PM
Member
 
leo5111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 14.2 x 5.5 inches ; 5.1 pounds
leo5111 is offline  
post #1090 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 08:10 PM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yeah, I googled those dimensions as well, don't get the impression that its 5.5" tall

Found these dimensions 430 x 252 x 49mm (2.2"tall) at http://dunehd.co.za/files/2011/11/DUne-Product-Comparisons.pdf

Can someone confirm the height?
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #1091 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 08:16 PM
Member
 
leo5111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
leo5111 is offline  
post #1092 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 08:27 PM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I got those as well... from the link I provided it shows different. rolleyes.gif I'd like someone that has the unit to confirm the size as height is a limit I have.
A lot of vendors had the size of the box of the speakers I bought, not the actual speaker size
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #1093 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 08:27 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

I'm thinking of picking up the Base 3d player and have a couple questions.

1) can someone please give me the physical size of the unit?
2) All my media is from network share on my 30+ TB of storage, in Xbmc I can have separate tabs on the main screen for 3d, 2d and tv shows which are all in different network folders, can I do the same with the Dune HD Base 3d?
3) Will it scrape cover art like Xbmc does or do I have to do it manually like I did with my old wdtv's?

Thanks for any info.

1) Approx 2" tall, 16 3/4 wide, 10 deep

2) Probably if you learn the "media_url" concept.

3) It doesn't scrap squat, but you can get programs like Zappitt,TViXiE, Dune Explorer, Yadis, Dune Flash Interface, ... that do scrap. Zappitti is the most inflexible pile, IMO.

My 2 cents, I don't recommend Dune Base 3D (and never will). It's a poorly engineered. You'd be lucky to get one that doesn't have the dreaded restart problem.
SJSJ is offline  
post #1094 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 08:43 PM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post

1) Approx 2" tall, 16 3/4 wide, 10 deep

2) Probably if you learn the "media_url" concept.

3) It doesn't scrap squat, but you can get programs like Zappitt,TViXiE, Dune Explorer, Yadis, Dune Flash Interface, ... that do scrap. Zappitti is the most inflexible pile, IMO.

My 2 cents, I don't recommend Dune Base 3D (and never will). It's a poorly engineered. You'd be lucky to get one that doesn't have the dreaded restart problem.

1) Meets my needs.
2) For the rumored video quality increase, not worth the loss of functionality/customization from xbmc
3) Auto scraping is nice, but not a must have.

Thanks for the info, this isn't the product for me. I'm sticking with the xbmc platform for now
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #1095 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 08:45 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
That Amazon measurement is pure rubbish.. I physically went to my box and measured it.
SJSJ is offline  
post #1096 of 1303 Old 03-18-2014, 08:47 PM
Member
 
leo5111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post

That Amazon measurement is pure rubbish.. I physically went to my box and measured it.
figures...tongue.gif well im eyeballing a streamer what do you recomend? i was looking at a popcorn a410 BUT at moment only dealer to get 1 in usa Cloud Media is having issues sending em to usa apparently
leo5111 is offline  
post #1097 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 01:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

I'm thinking of picking up the Base 3d player and have a couple questions.

1) can someone please give me the physical size of the unit?
2) All my media is from network share on my 30+ TB of storage, in Xbmc I can have separate tabs on the main screen for 3d, 2d and tv shows which are all in different network folders, can I do the same with the Dune HD Base 3d?
3) Will it scrape cover art like Xbmc does or do I have to do it manually like I did with my old wdtv's?

Thanks for any info.

2. yes you can do so with yadis at least (i think you can do it with other jukeboxes by using some kind of personal category)
3. no autoscrap for dune players, you need to use a third party jukebox that will scrape your movies/tv series like you used to do it with your wdtv. Biggest players for jukebox are yadis, zappiti (only if you by a zappiti player, won't work on a Dune even if it's exactly the same product), mymovies, dune explorer, DFI. yadis is the most customizable one IMO and should give you the look and feel of xbmc (but don't dream, you will never find something really close to xbmc on a dune).
Mr Eric is offline  
post #1098 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 03:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post



My 2 cents, I don't recommend Dune Base 3D (and never will). It's a poorly engineered. You'd be lucky to get one that doesn't have the dreaded restart problem.

My understanding the restart problem has been fixed

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1099 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 07:04 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

2. yes you can do so with yadis at least (i think you can do it with other jukeboxes by using some kind of personal category)

This does peak my interest again. I just wish there were places around that had them setup so I could go in and play with it.
I have my Nuc sold if I decide to so the cost difference is minimal, but if I hate the interface that wouldn't be worth the money.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #1100 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 08:00 AM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

This does peak my interest again. I just wish there were places around that had them setup so I could go in and play with it.
I have my Nuc sold if I decide to so the cost difference is minimal, but if I hate the interface that wouldn't be worth the money.

After the last firmware upgrade b8, my unit is working worse (more restart errors and more freezes with mkv movies requiring reboots) then any prior firmware.
SJSJ is offline  
post #1101 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

This does peak my interest again. I just wish there were places around that had them setup so I could go in and play with it.
I have my Nuc sold if I decide to so the cost difference is minimal, but if I hate the interface that wouldn't be worth the money.

This yadis running on a dune

Everything on the menu first raw after Films/Series Tv are personal shortcuts created by the user. You can use it to add your own personal categories like 2D, 3D, Mom's fav', for kids or whatever you want.

Of course this is just one layout and you can find many different templates here : http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28388
Mr Eric is offline  
post #1102 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

This yadis running on a dune

Everything on the menu first raw after Films/Series Tv are personal shortcuts created by the user. You can use it to add your own personal categories like 2D, 3D, Mom's fav', for kids or whatever you want.

Of course this is just one layout and you can find many different templates here : http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28388

That layout looks pretty nice.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is online now  
post #1103 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
the handling of tv series has always kept me from yaDIS, although that could have very well changed by now since it has been a while since I looked at

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1104 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

the handling of tv series has always kept me from yaDIS, although that could have very well changed by now since it has been a while since I looked at

I agree. Lately, I've been using 10Muse + iPad app, and my kids and wife like it as well. I still update the yadis and Zappiti as well....I'm not sure why I do it since I haven't used them in a long time.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is online now  
post #1105 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 09:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I agree. Lately, I've been using 10Muse + iPad app, and my kids and wife like it as well. I still update the yadis and Zappiti as well....I'm not sure why I do it since I haven't used them in a long time.

I actually hadn't used 10Muse in a while, went to set it back up and the movies was pretty much a breeze. I forgot though how much I hate the TV show setup initially where you have to copy the tvdb url for each show, so I just stopped there. I should get the iPad app back up and running though as now my boys have been operating the Dune more of late

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1106 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I actually hadn't used 10Muse in a while, went to set it back up and the movies was pretty much a breeze. I forgot though how much I hate the TV show setup initially where you have to copy the tvdb url for each show, so I just stopped there. I should get the iPad app back up and running though as now my boys have been operating the Dune more of late

I got used to it so now it doesn't really bother me.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is online now  
post #1107 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 11:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I got used to it so now it doesn't really bother me.

Yeah, just sucks when you have 40+ tv series that you have to set up at first. Got through about 5 and got tired of having to go to tvdb, search for TV show, copy url, paste in 10Muse, wait for it to scrape all data, and then move on to the next show...

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1108 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 11:53 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

This yadis running on a dune

Everything on the menu first raw after Films/Series Tv are personal shortcuts created by the user. You can use it to add your own personal categories like 2D, 3D, Mom's fav', for kids or whatever you want.

Of course this is just one layout and you can find many different templates here : http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28388


Thank you, that does give the functionality that I'm looking for. Now if the reboot issue mentioned earlier can get resolved...
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #1109 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 11:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

Thank you, that does give the functionality that I'm looking for. Now if the reboot issue mentioned earlier can get resolved...

As I mentioned, I thought it was resolved and not present in the new stock of players (I could be incorrect, this is just from talking to one of the distributors)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1110 of 1303 Old 03-19-2014, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Yeah, just sucks when you have 40+ tv series that you have to set up at first. Got through about 5 and got tired of having to go to tvdb, search for TV show, copy url, paste in 10Muse, wait for it to scrape all data, and then move on to the next show...

That sucks. I only got 5 TV shows. This is probably something you could request and the next 10Muse update.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Tv303d Wifi 3d Streamer
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off