*Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread - Page 100 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 148Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 73
The TiVo fees are 0 if you pay a ridiculous amount of money for a lifetime membership and that's only per box and not per account like on a tablo. And plex is free. You don't have to have a membership. I also want better codec support for less transcoding and I want hd audio support, something the TiVo doesn't have. So it offers me nothing but a ota dvr which my tablo does. I have a TiVo. I don't use it anymore.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
reddice likes this.

Nvidia Shield Android TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen,
archer75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I don't know why they felt the need to include 1080p upscaling. All 4K TVs have to do a good job of that since at this point it's 80%+ of what they're asked to display with most of the rest being 720p.I wonder if they allow you to disable that?
Scalers are one chip, one piece commodity items.
Gary J is online now  
post #2973 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,208
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2161 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
The TiVo fees are 0 if you pay a ridiculous amount of money for a lifetime membership and that's only per box and not per account like on a tablo. And plex is free. You don't have to have a membership. I also want better codec support for less transcoding and I want hd audio support, something the TiVo doesn't have. So it offers me nothing but a ota dvr which my tablo does. I have a TiVo. I don't use it anymore.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
I paid $250 for lifetime and $50 for the Roamio itself during the last sale. Considering DVR fees from my cable company are $20/mo, I break even the first year. My 3 Minis have no additional fees. That would run me at least $40/mo total from the cable company. I have no interest in OTA, so Tablo isn't on my radar.

So what streaming boxes support HD audio?
Primestar31 likes this.
mdavej is offline  
 
post #2974 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,261
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
So what streaming boxes support HD audio?
I didn't know there were any sources of streaming HD audio.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #2975 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
I also want better codec support for less transcoding and I want hd audio support, something the TiVo doesn't have. So it offers me nothing but a ota dvr which my tablo does. I have a TiVo. I don't use it anymore.
yet you have no problem with tablo butchering the audio to stereo? or the resolution butchering they do (or did) to progressive channels?

Cord Cutter | OTA - NYC DMA - 6 TB TiVo Roamio - 3 TiVo Mini's | Plex Pass | Netflix | Hulu | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is offline  
post #2976 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Nvidia shield. Tons of other streamers out there discussed on these various forums. Currently I use an htpc.

I.would never pay dvr fees with cable or satellite so I never counted it as a savings. One phone call to quit and they'd either give it to me for nothing or I'd just cancel. Right now I have no tv provider.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Nvidia Shield Android TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen,
archer75 is offline  
post #2977 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
yet you have no problem with tablo butchering the audio to stereo? or the resolution butchering they do (or did) to progressive channels?
It is true they don't yet support surround sound(it's coming) but it's not as big a deal on the tv I watch OTA content on. Any future devices I purchase will be for my home theater room where it does matter. I've never encountered this resolution butchering you speak of.

Nvidia Shield Android TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen,

Last edited by archer75; 10-07-2015 at 11:33 AM.
archer75 is offline  
post #2978 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Plex seemed to work fine last time I tried it on my Tivo. My Tivo monthly fee ($0) is less than Plex or Tablo fees.

In any case, I use Tivo primarily as a cable TV DVR and to watch the major streaming services (Netflix, etc.). If you want to do lots of file streaming, you're better off with something else. I still have to use my Roku for HBO and SHO streaming.

You bought a lifetime subscription for your TiVo, so the comparison is not really fair. I paid lifetime subscription fees for both Plex and Tablo, so I don't have any monthly fees either. The Tablo lifetime subscription has one major advantage in that it is connected to the account and not to the device. I can buy multiple Tablo devices or upgrade to newer ones without ever having to pay the fee again. That said, the Tablo is a completely different animal than TiVo. I chose it because my entire entertainment universe is built around Roku devices. Roku + Tablo + Plex + Vudu + Streaming provides a comprehensive media strategy that works well for my entire family.

I don't care about apathy

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Marantz SR6010 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi HTPC (OpenPHT/Aeon Nox) * Roku Ultra * Samsung Blu-Ray * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2 * Harmony Ultimate One * HDFury Linker (Zone 2)
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #2979 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
Nvidia shield. Tons of other streamers out there discussed on these various forums. Currently I use an htpc.

I.would never pay dvr fees with cable or satellite so I never counted it as a savings. One phone call to quit and they'd either give it to me for nothing or I'd just cancel. Right now I have no tv provider.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
I've been interested in the Shield for awhile, but Android TV just doesn't have the app support I require. For me to use a streamer, it must support Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, Vudu, Plex, Drama Fever, YouTube, Spotify and Pandora at minimum.

I don't care about apathy

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Marantz SR6010 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi HTPC (OpenPHT/Aeon Nox) * Roku Ultra * Samsung Blu-Ray * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2 * Harmony Ultimate One * HDFury Linker (Zone 2)
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #2980 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 73
They don't have Amazon but I have other devices for that. It supports everything else though right?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Nvidia Shield Android TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen,
archer75 is offline  
post #2981 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,406
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Scalers are one chip, one piece commodity items.

I understand that but why should Roku impose theirs on me? I might have a component downstream that can do a better job. Maybe they'll let people turn it off. (Seems strange that they'll only upconvert 720p to 1080p, leaving the television to upconvert it the rest of the way).

I spoke with my buddy who works at TiVo and he can get me the 500 GB Bolt for $225 ($75 savings) or the 1TB one for $300 ($100 savings) under their "Friends and Family" plan. Discounted or not they all come with first year's service ($180 savings). I'm in. He can't order it yet but will let me know when he can.

I love my TiVos. They're my favorite streaming device for Netflix, Amazon and VUDU since they can output their predominantly 24p content as a 24Hz signal which my 120Hz refresh TV can display without 2:3 pulldown; very, very few things can output 24p streaming at 24Hz. (I'm not that sensitive to 2:3 pulldown judder but it gives me warm fuzzies to know that it's not being applied ). They have some cool features like a cross-video-source search (which Roku also has) and OnePass, a replacement for their old Season Pass feature which integrates streaming sources. If I set up a OnePass which includes streaming sources it will list all of the episodes of the series (starting at the season that I specify) which can be streamed, a very nice feature when you decide part-way through a season to watch a program, particularly in conjunction with a cable service's included VOD feature like Cox On DEMAND, TWC TV and Xfinity TV Go.

I have a bad habit of moving on to the next model without ever getting around to selling the previous one, so I have a Premiere and a Series3 gathering dust, both with lifetime service. That Series3 with PLS had a used value around $500 when I shelved it; ones like mine are going for about $150 on eBay now .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill

Last edited by michaeltscott; 10-07-2015 at 11:51 AM.
michaeltscott is online now  
post #2982 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 215
We are talking about a cheap streaming device aimed at the masses not a high end one. If they add features very few care about it will no longer cost $130. Business 101 - you have to draw the line somewhere.
Gary J is online now  
post #2983 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,406
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
We are talking about a cheap streaming device aimed at the masses not a high end one. If they add features very few care about it will no longer cost $130. Business 101 - you have to draw the line somewhere.

What feature are you referring to?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #2984 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 215
The cost of design, programming, testing, implementation, etc to "let people turn it off". People who have ever been computer programmers understand this.
Gary J is online now  
post #2985 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,406
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
The cost of design, programming, testing, implementation, etc to "let people turn it off". People who have ever been computer programmers understand this.

I have 30+ year experience as a software engineer and manager thereof, the last 20 of which were spent working on systems embedded in consumer and business electronics so there's little or nothing you can tell me about such issues. The unnecessary expense is in putting a completely superfluous upconversion feature in it in the first place. As I stated the televisions themselves have to do a good job of that to sell well since 1080i, 1080p and 720p are almost all that they display at this point, and people who want better upconversion will have placed something which might do a better job of it in the path between their devices and the television. It's unlikely that some piffling $130 device will do a better job of upconverting any resolution to 4K than my much more expensive television for which that upconversion is a make or break issue. IMNSHO it's goofy design.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill

Last edited by michaeltscott; 10-07-2015 at 01:57 PM.
michaeltscott is online now  
post #2986 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Once again these are a COMMODITY chip mass produced for and likely used by many similar devices by other manufacturers. For Roku to have their own design would add significant cost. This is not a difficult concept for someone in the business.
Gary J is online now  
post #2987 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,631
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2138 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Has Vudu launched 4K content with their app already?
No, not yet.

lujan
154 Ultra HD
821 HD
19 HD DVD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #2988 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,406
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Once again these are a COMMODITY chip mass produced for and likely used by many similar devices by other manufacturers. For Roku to have their own design would add significant cost. This is not a difficult concept for someone in the business.

It's difficult to believe that they bought a chip with 4K upconversion which cannot be defeated (and which only outputs 1080p for 720p ) and if they did that's on them.

It's useless to argue this since we don't yet know that you can't turn it off.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #2989 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 215
It's a least common denominator design to be massed produced and used for many devices at minimum expense as opposed to a custom design that might be used in higher end devices. I think you get it. /done
Gary J is online now  
post #2990 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Doesn't the Roku 3 already have some type of upconverting for 720p when watching Hulu? They don't say but it occurs to me that it does.
maddog510 is offline  
post #2991 of 3227 Old 10-07-2015, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,406
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1479
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post
Doesn't the Roku 3 already have some type of upconverting for 720p when watching Hulu? They don't say but it occurs to me that it does.

The current Rokus only output a single resolution as selected by you, either 720p60 or 1080p60. They upconvert 480p to the selected resolution and 720p to 1080p if that's what you've selected.

If its upconversion of 1080p to 4K cannot be defeated it will be just one of many disappointing shortcomings of the product. It cannot do anything that I want that Roku 3 doesn't do (or at least any of those things well enough to be enticing). Some similarly priced products like WD TV have for years had more sophisticated hardware capabilities whereas Roku has concentrated on amassing a amazingly large collection of streaming services, literally 99% of which has no appeal for me. Roku Search is a good feature, but that's about all it's got going for it. It has ceased to be a product that I have much use for and Roku 4 does not apparently improve on that situation.

Of course, I'm a TiVo user, which is admittedly not a product for everyone.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #2992 of 3227 Old 10-10-2015, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If I am reading this correctly, I can HBO GO for $15/month with no provider subscription. I know it gets bundled with other stuff on cable / sat / telco systems. If I am cutting out the middle man and going straight to the source, and NOT getting their competitor's thrown into the bundle, then in my "Fair Market Value" opinion $15/month is too much.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #2993 of 3227 Old 10-10-2015, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
I received a pre-order email. I am definitely not cancelling it though. I am anxious to see the 4k channel.
There is probably less than 100 hours of 4K content on Netflix I would want to watch for FIRST time. Just don't see value in content.

Memphis Tiger Fan-Sports enthusiast
rjhseven is offline  
post #2994 of 3227 Old 10-10-2015, 06:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 215
That's just Netflix and that's just you.
Gary J is online now  
post #2995 of 3227 Old 10-10-2015, 09:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic26 View Post
If I am reading this correctly, I can HBO GO for $15/month with no provider subscription. I know it gets bundled with other stuff on cable / sat / telco systems. If I am cutting out the middle man and going straight to the source, and NOT getting their competitor's thrown into the bundle, then in my "Fair Market Value" opinion $15/month is too much.
It is the cable/sat companies that offer discounts on the monthly subscription fee, not HBO. So, if you buy direct from the seller, it's the actual full price of the service you should expect to pay.
And it's HBO Now-Go is for pre-existing HBO cable subscribers.

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #2996 of 3227 Old 10-11-2015, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Roku 3 IR sensor location?

Using a Logitech/Harmony programmable remote + IR repeater on my system, just added the Roku 3 to the list of devices, want to know where the Roku 3's IR sensor is located.

Guessing to the left of the white light, but would like confirmation from someone who actually knows for sure. Thanks.
DougDingle is offline  
post #2997 of 3227 Old 10-11-2015, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CANNON-FODDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
Using a Logitech/Harmony programmable remote + IR repeater on my system, just added the Roku 3 to the list of devices, want to know where the Roku 3's IR sensor is located.

Guessing to the left of the white light, but would like confirmation from someone who actually knows for sure. Thanks.
Looks like it:

http://blog.streamingmedia.com/2013/...e-new-box.html

http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?p=479701

v/r,
C-F
CANNON-FODDER is offline  
post #2998 of 3227 Old 10-12-2015, 03:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post
It is the cable/sat companies that offer discounts on the monthly subscription fee, not HBO. So, if you buy direct from the seller, it's the actual full price of the service you should expect to pay.
And it's HBO Now-Go is for pre-existing HBO cable subscribers.
I checked the prices with my cable company (Cablevision). It appears that the price for the service is the same whether I add it onto my cable package or whether I purchase the HBO Now product on its own. It's $15 either way. We have a package with multiple movie channels, so each one is discounted but that's the a la carte price. We also get HBO Go included.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #2999 of 3227 Old 10-14-2015, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctego View Post
I checked the prices with my cable company (Cablevision). It appears that the price for the service is the same whether I add it onto my cable package or whether I purchase the HBO Now product on its own. It's $15 either way. We have a package with multiple movie channels, so each one is discounted but that's the a la carte price. We also get HBO Go included.
We dropped Satellite ($100 + / month) in favor of the ROKU for purely economic reasons. We were basically watching 3-4 channels. Now I pay about $21 / month for what we actually watch. HBO is tempting but is still priced almost double than most other services. If I want to stay on budget, I'm just stating the obvious. They are overpriced. The Cable/Sat/Telcoms are NOT paying HBO $15 / month and charging us even money.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #3000 of 3227 Old 10-14-2015, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,631
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2138 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic26 View Post
We dropped Satellite ($100 + / month) in favor of the ROKU for purely economic reasons. We were basically watching 3-4 channels. Now I pay about $21 / month for what we actually watch. HBO is tempting but is still priced almost double than most other services. If I want to stay on budget, I'm just stating the obvious. They are overpriced. The Cable/Sat/Telcoms are NOT paying HBO $15 / month and charging us even money.
I agree, HBO has not had any quality content now for a long time and is definitely not worth what they are charging. I only watch the occasional HBO content via other means.

lujan
154 Ultra HD
821 HD
19 HD DVD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Roku 3 Streaming Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off