*Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread - Page 109 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 150Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3252 Old Today, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
Anyone else having problems with their YouTube app? After 12 seconds or so, mine says "a network error has occurred, please try again later"..... I uninstalled, restarted, reinstalled / signed in and that fixed the problem for that session, but the next day it happened again.

Am I the only lucky one?
Very seldom but has happened before. I think it might be a network problem caused by your wifi/internet. Are you with Spectrum? If you are then they sucked!
D Bone likes this.
80sGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3252 Old Today, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,631
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
Very seldom but has happened before. I think it might be a network problem caused by your wifi/internet. Are you with Spectrum? If you are then they sucked!
Thanks for the reply. I'm with ATT U-verse and have made zero changes to my internet. I have never had this problem before, and the only change I see on Roku's end is my Pandora app had a major update, other than that I have no idea.

YT works fine on all other streaming sources in my home.

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 BD ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon AVR-X3200W ~ SVS Prime Bookshelf L/R ~ SVS Prime Satellite Surrounds ~ MultEQ XT Flat / DEQ OFF~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is offline  
post #3243 of 3252 Old Today, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge (Lower Michigan)
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
Anyone else having problems with their YouTube app? After 12 seconds or so, mine says "a network error has occurred, please try again later"..... I uninstalled, restarted, reinstalled / signed in and that fixed the problem for that session, but the next day it happened again.

Am I the only lucky one?
I had that with the Youtube app on my Tivo Roamio this morning. I had to reboot it, and then it worked ok. In fact I'm using it right now to watch "Return to the Batcave"
D Bone likes this.
Primestar31 is offline  
 
post #3244 of 3252 Old Today, 08:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 36
80sGuy is offline  
post #3245 of 3252 Old Today, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,631
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
Try a manual reboot.
As in restart? If so, then I have done that over a dozen times with no change. The only thing that works is uninstalling or even just signing out / resigning in, but it's only temporary with that session.

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 BD ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon AVR-X3200W ~ SVS Prime Bookshelf L/R ~ SVS Prime Satellite Surrounds ~ MultEQ XT Flat / DEQ OFF~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is offline  
post #3246 of 3252 Old Today, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
As in restart? If so, then I have done that over a dozen times with no change. The only thing that works is uninstalling or even just signing out / resigning in, but it's only temporary with that session.
That's what I did whenever I experience the same problem but then again mine could be isolated.
80sGuy is offline  
post #3247 of 3252 Old Today, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
Very seldom but has happened before. I think it might be a network problem caused by your wifi/internet. Are you with Spectrum? If you are then they sucked!
Not to go off topic, but I hope FCC deregulates the cable industry so every city would get more competition from cable companies themselves. One cable company per city is why everyone dislikes their provider!
tanman is online now  
post #3248 of 3252 Old Today, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanman View Post
Not to go off topic, but I hope FCC deregulates the cable industry so every city would get more competition from cable companies themselves. One cable company per city is why everyone dislikes their provider!
Not off-topic at all since all these devices are relying on nothing but isp service. How I have been wishing and longing for that day to come. The exorbitant cost of cable TV is absurd. Spectrum has always affected the quality of my wifi usage and media-streaming. When that happens Netflix and Youtube looks like crap through my Roku 3 and Oppo.
80sGuy is offline  
post #3249 of 3252 Old Today, 10:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,274
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 903 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
Not off-topic at all since all these devices are relying on nothing but isp service. How I have been wishing and longing for that day to come. The exorbitant cost of cable TV is absurd. Spectrum has always affected the quality of my wifi usage and media-streaming. When that happens Netflix and Youtube looks like crap through my Roku 3 and Oppo.
I use my Roku 3 almost daily. First thing I do is a speed test to check my internet. I then usually use Pandora. I've had no issues with YouTube, but I normally watch that on my TiVo.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #3250 of 3252 Old Today, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I use my Roku 3 almost daily. First thing I do is a speed test to check my internet. I then usually use Pandora. I've had no issues with YouTube, but I normally watch that on my TiVo.
I agree. The sound quality is much better with TiVo than the Roku 3. Also I have never had an issue with YouTube on Roku, just Spectrum. They seem to loose local channels just about every other week during prime time .
tanman is online now  
post #3251 of 3252 Old Today, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I use my Roku 3 almost daily. First thing I do is a speed test to check my internet. I then usually use Pandora. I've had no issues with YouTube, but I normally watch that on my TiVo.
Living with your OCD must be tedious. Speed test daily just to stream a couple of Kbps from pandora, Only turning on your TiVos on the weekends, constantly checking signals, etc.

All power to you Joe, I hope you have time left to watch tv.
Aero 1 is online now  
post #3252 of 3252 Old Today, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,274
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 903 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
Living with your OCD must be tedious. Speed test daily just to stream a couple of Kbps from pandora, Only turning on your TiVos on the weekends, constantly checking signals, etc.

All power to you Joe, I hope you have time left to watch tv.
Two Roamio units that run 24/7. One networked Premiere for off-line storage. Speed test is only one button. I enjoy playing with my toys.
JoeKustra is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Roku 3 Streaming Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off