*Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread - Page 70 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > *Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

TonyB1966's Avatar TonyB1966
07:36 PM Liked: 24
post #2071 of 2230
09-01-2014 | Posts: 405
Joined: Sep 2009
If you don't get a Roku solution, YouTube will carry the Pac-12 Network/s for international viewers. I know of a few who are setting-up VPN's in Canada, Mexico and elsewhere to view the games on YouTube...

http://pac-12.com/content/pac-12-net...tional-youtube
rjhseven's Avatar rjhseven
08:44 PM Liked: 11
post #2072 of 2230
09-01-2014 | Posts: 232
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
If you don't get a Roku solution, YouTube will carry the Pac-12 Network/s for international viewers. I know of a few who are setting-up VPN's in Canada, Mexico and elsewhere to view the games on YouTube...

http://pac-12.com/content/pac-12-net...tional-youtube
I know I could Google it but not sure I would understand it. Could anyone explain how to set up an international VPN? I have a lot of people who would like to watch the Memphis UCLA game this Saturday.
cornemuse's Avatar cornemuse
11:52 AM Liked: 11
post #2073 of 2230
09-02-2014 | Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
Nope, that's it. You got the wrong box if your looking for every file type under the sun.
E-mail from rOKU @@@@@@ @@@@@@ @@@@@@
In order to access the contents from the a USB device, First you have to add the
Roku Media Player channel
, which enables you to play back personal video, music
and photo files from a DLNA server on your local network or a USB drive attached
to a USB equipped Roku.


The following media file formats are supported:
Video %u2014 MKV (H.264), MP4 (H.264), MOV (H.264), WMV (VC-1, firmware 3.1
only)
Music %u2014 AAC, MP3, WMA, FLAC (firmware 5.3 and later), WAV (firmware 5.3 and
later)
Photo %u2014 JPG, PNG, GIF (non-animated) @@@@@@ @@@@@@ @@

Lets see, 4 video formats, 5 music, 3 photo.

Every file type under the sun!!

Except about 100 more!

But NOT iso, vob, etc.

Plus, you need to install:

"In order to access the contents from the a USB device, First you have to add the Roku Media Player channel"

And to do this, they want my credit card #, even tho theres no charge, "We'll only charge you if you buy something". (from another roku email)

I'll pass on roku, I will return it.

Where to buy 'Popcorn'? It seems one must buy it from the Phillipines.?

-corne-
Aero 1's Avatar Aero 1
12:02 PM Liked: 68
post #2074 of 2230
09-02-2014 | Posts: 706
Joined: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post
E-mail from rOKU @@@@@@ @@@@@@ @@@@@@
In order to access the contents from the a USB device, First you have to add the
Roku Media Player channel
, which enables you to play back personal video, music
and photo files from a DLNA server on your local network or a USB drive attached
to a USB equipped Roku.


The following media file formats are supported:
Video %u2014 MKV (H.264), MP4 (H.264), MOV (H.264), WMV (VC-1, firmware 3.1
only)
Music %u2014 AAC, MP3, WMA, FLAC (firmware 5.3 and later), WAV (firmware 5.3 and
later)
Photo %u2014 JPG, PNG, GIF (non-animated) @@@@@@ @@@@@@ @@

Lets see, 4 video formats, 5 music, 3 photo.

Every file type under the sun!!

Except about 100 more!

But NOT iso, vob, etc.

Plus, you need to install:

"In order to access the contents from the a USB device, First you have to add the Roku Media Player channel"

And to do this, they want my credit card #, even tho theres no charge, "We'll only charge you if you buy something". (from another roku email)

I'll pass on roku, I will return it.

Where to buy 'Popcorn'? It seems one must buy it from the Phillipines.?

-corne-
you misunderstood. i said you got the wrong box if you want to play every file under the sun. i didnt say the roku plays every file under the sun. the roku is an internet streamer, not a local file player. you want to play local files on it? you use those formats that it supports or you get a media server like plex that will play almost everything on it. or..you buy a local file player.
archer75's Avatar archer75
12:36 PM Liked: 36
post #2075 of 2230
09-02-2014 | Posts: 1,719
Joined: Dec 2003
Plex. It's quite wonderful.
rjhseven's Avatar rjhseven
12:48 PM Liked: 11
post #2076 of 2230
09-02-2014 | Posts: 232
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
you misunderstood. i said you got the wrong box if you want to play every file under the sun. i didnt say the roku plays every file under the sun. the roku is an internet streamer, not a local file player. you want to play local files on it? you use those formats that it supports or you get a media server like plex that will play almost everything on it. or..you buy a local file player.
Don't want to be a pest but still looking for way to watch PAC 12 network this Saturday.
Dave Harper's Avatar Dave Harper
10:11 PM Liked: 18
post #2077 of 2230
09-02-2014 | Posts: 3,126
Joined: Feb 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post
Don't want to be a pest but still looking for way to watch PAC 12 network this Saturday.
I'm pretty sure the Time Warner Cable app has those channels, but you'd need someone that has the login credentials and those channels in their package to access it.
HD-Master's Avatar HD-Master
06:06 AM Liked: 68
post #2078 of 2230
09-03-2014 | Posts: 587
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Harper View Post
I'm pretty sure the Time Warner Cable app has those channels, but you'd need someone that has the login credentials and those channels in their package to access it.
You also have to be on their network for internet access for it to work.
Mcfly indasoup's Avatar Mcfly indasoup
12:22 PM Liked: 2
post #2079 of 2230
09-03-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2006
I have a question I was not able to find skimming this thread or the roku site.

If I have an HD homerun antenna for OTA broadcasts on my network, will I be able to watch live TV on the Roku 3?
archer75's Avatar archer75
01:42 PM Liked: 36
post #2080 of 2230
09-03-2014 | Posts: 1,719
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcfly indasoup View Post
I have a question I was not able to find skimming this thread or the roku site.

If I have an HD homerun antenna for OTA broadcasts on my network, will I be able to watch live TV on the Roku 3?
No
TonyB1966's Avatar TonyB1966
01:49 PM Liked: 24
post #2081 of 2230
09-03-2014 | Posts: 405
Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcfly indasoup View Post
I have a question I was not able to find skimming this thread or the roku site.

If I have an HD homerun antenna for OTA broadcasts on my network, will I be able to watch live TV on the Roku 3?
If there was an HD Homerun Roku channel, then yes, I would think. Look at Tablo, a tuner and DVR... There is a Tablo channel for Roku, and it allows Tablo users to watch like TV through the Roku. I was doing so just last week...
Westly-C's Avatar Westly-C
03:24 PM Liked: 75
post #2082 of 2230
09-03-2014 | Posts: 3,083
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcfly indasoup
I have a question I was not able to find skimming this thread or the roku site.

If I have an HD homerun antenna for OTA broadcasts on my network, will I be able to watch live TV on the Roku 3?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
If there was an HD Homerun Roku channel, then yes, I would think. Look at Tablo, a tuner and DVR... There is a Tablo channel for Roku, and it allows Tablo users to watch like TV through the Roku. I was doing so just last week...
You can read about the Tablo here.
michaeltscott's Avatar michaeltscott
05:04 PM Liked: 831
post #2083 of 2230
09-03-2014 | Posts: 18,128
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcfly indasoup View Post
I have a question I was not able to find skimming this thread or the roku site.

If I have an HD homerun antenna for OTA broadcasts on my network, will I be able to watch live TV on the Roku 3?

There's this.
Mcfly indasoup's Avatar Mcfly indasoup
09:03 AM Liked: 2
post #2084 of 2230
09-04-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2006
Thanks for replies, but I will have the homerun dual that only does OTA live TV..

The Tablo is interesting, but expensive.
Mcfly indasoup's Avatar Mcfly indasoup
09:11 AM Liked: 2
post #2085 of 2230
09-04-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
There's this.
So I need to upgrade to a prime/plus according to that link to do this with the roku. Thanks. good to know.
TonyB1966's Avatar TonyB1966
09:26 AM Liked: 24
post #2086 of 2230
09-04-2014 | Posts: 405
Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcfly indasoup View Post
Thanks for replies, but I will have the homerun dual that only does OTA live TV so the prime is out of the running.

The Tablo is interesting, but expensive.
For someone who already has a Homerun Dual, such as yourself, I see how this can be seen as expensive. A Tablo can be purchased for about $100 more than a Dual. I got a Tablo for $190 delivered from Newegg... For that $100, one gets a DVR though and the ability to stream, not just on the home network, but over the internet. And, if one has a Roku, as discussed earlier, once can watch live TV, on a TV. Pretty neat stuff for that price delta...

Staying with the Homerun, this is what I see though: http://www.silicondust.com/forum2/vi...p?f=16&t=15760
cornemuse's Avatar cornemuse
10:51 AM Liked: 11
post #2087 of 2230
09-04-2014 | Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 2013
It all becomes moot 4 me, I returned the rOKU yesterday.

-c-
maddog510's Avatar maddog510
12:32 AM Liked: 14
post #2088 of 2230
09-10-2014 | Posts: 429
Joined: Sep 2004
I wonder if the Roku will have better streaming performance when connected to the Asus EA-AC87 whenever it comes out. I'm considering purchasing it.
wase4711's Avatar wase4711
05:27 AM Liked: 103
post #2089 of 2230
09-10-2014 | Posts: 999
Joined: Sep 2004
I have that router, and its great..
archer75's Avatar archer75
09:52 AM Liked: 36
post #2090 of 2230
09-10-2014 | Posts: 1,719
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post
I wonder if the Roku will have better streaming performance when connected to the Asus EA-AC87 whenever it comes out. I'm considering purchasing it.
A roku 3 doesn't support 802.11ac so you won't get any added speed boost. No online streaming service needs those speeds so it's a waste.
The only benefit could be higher bitrate rips in plex. Still better off going wired.

If you have a decent 802.11n router now I don't see a reason to upgrade just for the roku.
maddog510's Avatar maddog510
10:34 AM Liked: 14
post #2091 of 2230
09-10-2014 | Posts: 429
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
A roku 3 doesn't support 802.11ac so you won't get any added speed boost. No online streaming service needs those speeds so it's a waste.
The only benefit could be higher bitrate rips in plex. Still better off going wired.

If you have a decent 802.11n router now I don't see a reason to upgrade just for the roku.
Im aware the Roku isn't 802.11ac. The EA-AC87 is a wireless AC media bridge with 5 Ethernet ports on it. It can get up to 1734 Mbps when paired with the Asus RT-AC87 router since it's a 4x4 client. I have the RT-AC68 router so @ best this thing would run @ 1300 Mbps that's the most the router can put out in 5ghz mode.
archer75's Avatar archer75
10:48 AM Liked: 36
post #2092 of 2230
09-10-2014 | Posts: 1,719
Joined: Dec 2003
Netflix only uses around 5Mbps for HD. PLEX maxes out at 20Mbps. So you don't need that much speed. Unless you're having range issues?
HDMI Guy's Avatar HDMI Guy
09:57 AM Liked: 20
post #2093 of 2230
09-11-2014 | Posts: 1,307
Joined: May 2007
I am sorry if this has been answered. I did a search and could not find the answer. Are ESPN and the major networks, ABC, NBC, Fox, CBS, etc... available live on the TWC app for Roku 3? I realize that recorded programs from ESPN are available on VOD.
DoctorOhh's Avatar DoctorOhh
11:11 PM Liked: 10
post #2094 of 2230
09-11-2014 | Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post
I am sorry if this has been answered. I did a search and could not find the answer. Are ESPN and the major networks, ABC, NBC, Fox, CBS, etc... available live on the TWC app for Roku 3? I realize that recorded programs from ESPN are available on VOD.
I don't have Time Warner TV service, but I can point you to the Time Warner FAQ.
HDMI Guy's Avatar HDMI Guy
08:27 AM Liked: 20
post #2095 of 2230
09-12-2014 | Posts: 1,307
Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorOhh View Post
I don't have Time Warner TV service, but I can point you to the Time Warner FAQ.
Thanks for the reply. The problem is the Time Warner FAQ link has a question "What channels are available on Roku" but the answer is a chart listing all channels available on cable boxes etc... with a disclaimer that some channels are not available on all devices. Thanks Time Warner.
Gary J's Avatar Gary J
01:46 PM Liked: 99
post #2096 of 2230
09-12-2014 | Posts: 7,676
Joined: Mar 2000
ESPN yes. All the local networks in USA of course not.
HDMI Guy's Avatar HDMI Guy
09:10 PM Liked: 20
post #2097 of 2230
09-12-2014 | Posts: 1,307
Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
ESPN yes. All the local networks in USA of course not.
Thanks. I was under the impression you entered your zip code so it could then look for locals in that zip code. I am happy about the ESPN. Thanks again for the information.
donaldsonjune's Avatar donaldsonjune
04:50 PM Liked: 18
post #2098 of 2230
09-13-2014 | Posts: 652
Joined: Feb 2007
hello all,

i just switched from wd tv to roku. wd tv stopped streaming netflix!! but $4.00 to use the usb port. WOW!!!
last thing, can this unit play dts hd ma?
TonyB1966's Avatar TonyB1966
12:23 PM Liked: 24
post #2099 of 2230
09-15-2014 | Posts: 405
Joined: Sep 2009
Are there any Air Play like channels for the Roku? Something that allows one to stream or mirror web content from their Mac or IOS device....

Some searching found Trimeplay, but I haven't been able to get beyond "Waiting for connection" after entering the MAC address... Thank you.
archer75's Avatar archer75
05:57 PM Liked: 36
post #2100 of 2230
09-15-2014 | Posts: 1,719
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldsonjune View Post
hello all,

i just switched from wd tv to roku. wd tv stopped streaming netflix!! but $4.00 to use the usb port. WOW!!!
last thing, can this unit play dts hd ma?
No, it cannot play lossless audio
Tags: Roku 3 Streaming Player

Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3