*Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread - Page 75 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 47Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2232 Old 12-24-2014, 05:41 PM
Member
 
bukzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dboff01 View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by Plasmalvr60 

Receiver has no HDMI ports. Television does.


OK, so your options are limited with the equipment you currently have. There are HDMI converters but price-wise are on par with a Roku.

One recommendation is to return the Roku 3 and purchase a Roku 2 XS. It is a capable previous generation model and offers HDMI and analog audio outputs which should work with your existing AVR.

Another option is to upgrade your AVR to include multiple HDMI inputs, which even the budget models do these days.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


HDMI (digital to analog) converters. Anyone tried one with an older Slingbox Pro (# SB 200-100), my Slingbox only has S-video and RCA inputs.


I know I could buy a Roku 2 but think a converter box may be a good option.

Ideas? Work arounds?


Thx!

Bukzin
North California
bukzin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by adun79 View Post
You can now see the stream info during play like on PS3 by pressing *

EDIT talking about Netflix
About time but too late for me I replaced my other Roku 3 with another Fire TV.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim Wired
.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #2223 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by adun79 View Post
You can now see the stream info during play like on PS3 by pressing *

EDIT talking about Netflix
Good to know. Thanks for the heads up.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #2224 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 01:33 PM
Member
 
bukzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bukzin View Post
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


HDMI (digital to analog) converters. Anyone tried one with an older Slingbox Pro (# SB 200-100), my Slingbox only has S-video and RCA inputs.


I know I could buy a Roku 2 but think a converter box may be a good option.

Ideas? Work arounds?


Thx!

I found this unit and wonder if something like this may work?

Anyone tried something like this?

http://www.monopricehub.com/files/ma...ual_120512.pdf

Bukzin
North California
bukzin is online now  
post #2225 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 02:18 PM
Member
 
OCSMITH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Glen Allen, Virginia
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
About time but too late for me I replaced my other Roku 3 with another Fire TV.



I replaced all my Roku 3 with Fire TV
reddice likes this.

Orlando C. Smith
OCSMITH is offline  
post #2226 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCSMITH View Post
I replaced all my Roku 3 with Fire TV
Yes. I would have kept my Roku 3 if that WiFi direct did not broadcast on the same channel as my 2.4ghz network. When it was on 5ghz on channel 165 it was not a issue but now it just follows whatever channel you have your router on which is pathetic considering that I was using it wired.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim Wired
.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #2227 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 03:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 834
I got a Fire TV Stick and was signally unimpressed; if it'd provided 24Hz output for 24p sources I might have kept it hooked up but I played with it for a couple of hours, got bored and put it back in its box. It doesn't do anything that I want to do particularly better than things that I already have. I got it during the sale that was on for the first days after it launched when it was $20 for Prime members so no big loss. It might come in handy sometime.
ToonMasterTim likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #2228 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
It doesn't do anything that I want to do particularly better than things that I already have.
for $20? get real
reddice likes this.
Gary J is online now  
post #2229 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 04:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
for $20? get real

By which you mean...? That I should use it because it was cheap? I wouldn't use it if it'd been free. I only ever use a hand full of streaming services; principally Netflix, Amazon, VUDU and Hulu Plus. I have a boatload of things attached to this system with which to stream all of those. (I generally only use my TiVo for those now since it can output their 24p content at 24Hz which my television can display with even pulldown and no added judder). I only bought it because I was curious and it was $20 . I satisfied my curiosity; I may put it on another system someday.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #2230 of 2232 Old Yesterday, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Same response - for $20? get real!
reddice likes this.
Gary J is online now  
post #2231 of 2232 Old Today, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CANNON-FODDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Yes. I would have kept my Roku 3 if that WiFi direct did not broadcast on the same channel as my 2.4ghz network. When it was on 5ghz on channel 165 it was not a issue but now it just follows whatever channel you have your router on which is pathetic considering that I was using it wired.
To fix that you can link the the Roku to the wireless, set the Roku to wired, and then change the channel in the router -- except you have to do this every time the power is cycled. Because in my neighborhood there are no close 5 GHz networks, I connect mine on 5 GHz, switch to the wired connection, and then change the router to another 5 GHz channel -- that way the Roku is on wired, the Roku-Direct is on an un-used 5GHz channel, my tablet is on the 5GHz router channel, and the phones and such are on the 2.4 GHz channel.

v/r,
C-F
CANNON-FODDER is offline  
post #2232 of 2232 Old Today, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by CANNON-FODDER View Post
To fix that you can link the the Roku to the wireless, set the Roku to wired, and then change the channel in the router -- except you have to do this every time the power is cycled.
C-F
I did do that at first but having to do it every time it is power cycled is a pain and is the reason why I stopped using my Roku 3. I don't want to mess around with my router every time my Roku 3 reboots. All I know before the last software update my Roku 3 always use to stay on channel 165 which was not being used for anything. Now it follows whatever channel you use on 2.4ghz which is bad it is so congested. I do stream anything wireless on 5ghz but certain things like printers and phones in weaker areas still use 2.4ghz so I need it to not interfere because of the Roku 3 WiFi direct. If they next Roku 4 decides to go with Bluetooth again for the remote I will try Roku again.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim Wired
.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Roku 3 Streaming Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off