*Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread - Page 83 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 68Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2461 of 2465 Old 02-28-2015, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haywood Jablomi View Post
If you know the file is not a virus, just override your AV and load it.
The developer said the same thing. Only this time I am copying it to my thumb drive. It takes 15 minutes to download (it's a ZIP file) then the AV quarantines it making it unusable.
Dominic26 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2462 of 2465 Old 02-28-2015, 10:22 PM
Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic26 View Post
The developer said the same thing. Only this time I am copying it to my thumb drive. It takes 15 minutes to download (it's a ZIP file) then the AV quarantines it making it unusable.
Why not just disable AV while you install?

Scott
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #2463 of 2465 Old 03-01-2015, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haywood Jablomi View Post
Why not just disable AV while you install?
It's McAfee. It's too aggressive. There is NO way to turn off the setting for "Viruses, trojans, worms, bots, or rootkits" during a download. It is automatically on at all times. It even quarantined the file when I try to download it to the thumb drive. I have a request in to McAfee to override this specific file. it will take a day or two . Better this than an AV program that lets things through. I am going to have MCEBuddy convert all TV recordings to Mpeg and leave them on my NAS. Then I will be able to stream them from the ROKU 3s and any other devices around the house.
Dominic26 is online now  
post #2464 of 2465 Old 03-01-2015, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HELP! I got MCEBuddy up and running. I converted shows to MP4. I set up PLEX Server on the desktop (including folders, and yes Plex plays the media on the desktop). I have the newest Plex channel on the ROKU 3. Now the Plex on ROKU is saying the server is offline. WTH gives?? Can some one tell me what I did wrong.
Dominic26 is online now  
post #2465 of 2465 Old Today, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic26 View Post
HELP! I got MCEBuddy up and running. I converted shows to MP4. I set up PLEX Server on the desktop (including folders, and yes Plex plays the media on the desktop). I have the newest Plex channel on the ROKU 3. Now the Plex on ROKU is saying the server is offline. WTH gives?? Can some one tell me what I did wrong.
NAILED IT! I forgot to open a port on the firewall for the ROKU's to access Plex on the PC. It is doing exactly what I want it to do. I'd really pefer Plex to be on my NAS, but installation is not working out right.
Dominic26 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Roku 3 Streaming Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off