*Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread - Page 85 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 69Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 11:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,121
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1057 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
repeat
Not interested in the other two suggestions? Otherwise, call Roku for a warranty replacement of remote and/or main unit. Nothing else you can do.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 113
I may go with another remote but sometimes wi-fi seems to have a mind of it's own so I will give it time to see if it decides to start working again. Maybe I have one with pollen allergies.
Gary J is offline  
post #2523 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 11:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,121
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1057 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
I may go with another remote but sometimes wi-fi seems to have a mind of it's own so I will give it time to see if it decides to start working again. Maybe I have one with pollen allergies.
Is your reset/pairing procedure like this:
http://rokuhowto.blogspot.com/2013/0...king-easy.html

In any case, a universal is really the way to go. After using universals for the past 20 years, I could never go back to juggling remotes. My JP1 upgrade for Roku is killer and has a lot more commands than any Roku remote. Can easily be converted to pronto hex if needed or taught to any other remote from a cheap JP1 remote.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dl...&file_id=12733
mdavej is offline  
post #2524 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Is your reset/pairing procedure like this:
http://rokuhowto.blogspot.com/2013/0...king-easy.html

In any case, a universal is really the way to go. After using universals for the past 20 years, I could never go back to juggling remotes. My JP1 upgrade for Roku is killer and has a lot more commands than any Roku remote. Can easily be converted to pronto hex if needed or taught to any other remote from a cheap JP1 remote.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dl...&file_id=12733
Yes that came up first for me in Google.

I have a couple of Harmony set ups but this is for a small system in a vacay home -

old Denon receiver
Panasonic LCD TV (cable input)
Apple TV
Roku 3

I'm thinking something like this might do -

http://www.amazon.com/RCA-RCRP05BR-D...ds=jp1+remotes
Gary J is offline  
post #2525 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 12:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,121
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1057 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Yes that came up first for me in Google.

I have a couple of Harmony set ups but this is for a small system in a vacay home -

old Denon receiver
Panasonic LCD TV (cable input)
Apple TV
Roku 3

I'm thinking something like this might do -

http://www.amazon.com/RCA-RCRP05BR-D...ds=jp1+remotes
No Roku codes built into that one, but you could certainly load mine into it with a JP1 cable or simply learn the codes from one of your Harmonys.

These JP1 remotes DO have Roku codes (or it can be loaded via included cable):

http://www.amazon.com/Inteset-Univer.../dp/B00M4I1BAY
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-NEVO...-/191535345422
http://www.walmart.com/ip/One-For-Al...emote/35275383

If you get a JP1 cable, this is currently the cheapest remote you can load the codes into:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TESTED-WORKI...e/181631605544

EDIT: Roku code on JP1 remotes that have the code, like the Inteset INT-422 above, is 03061 (or CBL 3061)

Last edited by mdavej; Yesterday at 12:53 PM.
mdavej is offline  
post #2526 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Good stuff. Looks like that one on Amazon will do me - thanks!
Gary J is offline  
post #2527 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Had an issue with my remote on roku 3. The OK button got stuck. Roku sent me the new Enhanced Remote for Roku 3 w/ the netflix, amazon, and hulu buttons for free.
BroadwayBlues is offline  
post #2528 of 2531 Old Today, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Does anyone know if the Spotify app is different on the Roku 3 vrs the Roku 2 xs? I know the Netflix app on the Roku 3 is like the PS3's.
Steelman99 is offline  
post #2529 of 2531 Old Today, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,783
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steelman99 View Post
Does anyone know if the Spotify app is different on the Roku 3 vrs the Roku 2 xs? I know the Netflix app on the Roku 3 is like the PS3's.

I doubt it. Netflix would like for all Roku-2XS-and-later boxes to have the UI on the Roku 3 and Roku has stated that they and Netflix worked very hard to make that happen but failed. That UI is implemented in highly portable but resource-intensive web technology (JavaScript, etc) and they could not get it to work acceptably on the earlier Roku platforms. The fact that the Roku 3 has twice as much memory as Roku 2XS is no doubt a significant factor. I personally think that they could get it to work on the recent Roku 1 and Roku 2 (no XS or XD, etc) and I suspect that it will work on the updated Roku 2 that's supposed to release soon. It works on the Roku HDMI Stick and Roku TV and will work on all models in the future.

I don't think that any of the other channels is different from Roku model to model.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #2530 of 2531 Unread Today, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I doubt it. Netflix would like for all Roku-2XS-and-later boxes to have the UI on the Roku 3 and Roku has stated that they and Netflix worked very hard to make that happen but failed.
Therefore, no profiles on the 2 XS...

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #2531 of 2531 Unread Today, 04:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,783
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Therefore, no profiles on the 2 XS...

Yes, though it seems to me as though they could add support for profiles to to Roku native Netflix UI. I can't imagine what would prevent it and they've added support to other devices with non-standard Netflix UIs, like ATV.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Roku 3 Streaming Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off