XBMC supports Bluray Menus - buggy as hell though - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 03-07-2013, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
watchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The new XBMC nightly seems to support Bluray menus. Its extremely buggy from what I can tell it works on very limited bluray menus. I tested it on my mac with the nightly build. Dave mathews bluray worked. Highschool of the dead blurays worked. I'm attempting to test some of the few hundred blurays I have.

Someone else test it and let me know if its working for you.
watchy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 03-08-2013, 03:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am willing to test it but I have no idea how. If it works on windows and you can provide a link let me know.
Just to get my head around if we assume this works on the pc/mac will this work in xbmc media players? What about cinavia?
720p is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 03-08-2013, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I'd guess this is related to the work on libbluray that VLC has been doing, they've had experimental Blu-ray menu support in their builds for a while now.

Cinavia is completely neutered as XBMC is open source software with no DRM to worry about. Arm XBMC based media players on how they handle BD menus will have to be a wait and see.
Alx330 is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 03-08-2013, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
watchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Here is a link to the nightly builds.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Development_builds

I used the one for os X, but i'm sure the Windows one also has it. It won't load some menus at all, but its a great start. Can't wait for this to work perfect but that of course may take years. As i said though some menus on some movies won't even show up.
watchy is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 03-08-2013, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Definitely a start in the right direction. I am sure it will take time to really work out any bugs and some content may not be viewable (a license may be required for BD Live stuff I believe I have seen mentioned). I know as well the upcoming Dune is supposed to run XBMC with full BD menu support, so hopefully that means more developers are involved getting it to work properly
Phrehdd likes this.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 03-08-2013, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Awesome! I love XBMC.
StinDaWg is online now  
post #7 of 20 Old 03-08-2013, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Phrehdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Definitely a start in the right direction. I am sure it will take time to really work out any bugs and some content may not be viewable (a license may be required for BD Live stuff I believe I have seen mentioned). I know as well the upcoming Dune is supposed to run XBMC with full BD menu support, so hopefully that means more developers are involved getting it to work properly

Way back in the days of Dune 3 Base, I talked with someone who markets the Dune line in the USA and one of the first things I mentioned was it would be far better a unit if it supported XBMC. The menuing is so "raw" that it wont appeal to the average users wanting a slick media player. I have the Dune 3 Base unit with a 2 gig drive inside. The unit worked well but now it is semi-retired in favor of my Oppo Bdp 103. If Dune comes out with a player that matches somewhat the output of the Oppo and has XBMC, I'm back in the game with Dune products.

I still recommend Dune products to friends who are just starting out with digitizing their media library and those that took my advice are extremely happy with Dune products other than the menu system. One of the things I mentioned was the idea of separates which of course (probably not by my suggestion) came to be with the smart units. This was a nice move on Dune's part. Now if we have XBMC with ability to read full BD menus as well, they will have the media server killer.
Phrehdd is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 03-09-2013, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I actually wanted full blu ray menu support, but with cinavia i decided to convert everything to mkv now im quite happy (a ton of work though). Do alot of people still like their menus? When I asked on the htpc area almost nobody was using full iso's or folders anymore.

I guess it would be nice to have but i really have not used menus anymore in months.

The only thing I wish they would implement is native resolution support, its ready but the creator fought with xbmc developers, and now its just sitting. I am looking to buy a new pioneer avr which includes the marvell qdeo kyoto g2 chip the same chip in oppo's new bluray players, but it wont be of much use until its implemented.

And 3d mkv's (not sbs) support would be nice to.
Murilo is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 12:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks watchy for the link. I am extremely impressed with it. I only tried 3 or 4 blu-rays but had no problem with the menus.
I installed over teamviewer. You have to hit Alt+Enter after you launch xbmc to enter windowed mode or else you just get a black screen.
I then installed the xbmc remote app on my iphone and used that to control everything. After the scraping was done (via teamviewer) the remote worked flawlessly displaying movies sorted by date with the year and score next to them including cover art etc.
Hit play and away it goes, can select subtitles, etc. but the button layout is clumsy.
I will see if I can make it select the right resolution..
In terms of scraping/ui this is about a 1000 years ahead of my crappy ntv550.
I did not test hd audio as I was not using the onboard audio (my standalone graphics doesn't support it).
I also tested Blu-ray 1:1 folder rips, no dvds, etc.
If anyone has any questions let me know or better yet install it yourself, doesn't take more than a couple of minutes to have it up and running.
I am retyping the link by watchy:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Development_builds
and this is what the remote app look like:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Official_XBMC_Remote/iOS
720p is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
watchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 720p View Post

Thanks watchy for the link. I am extremely impressed with it. I only tried 3 or 4 blu-rays but had no problem with the menus.
I installed over teamviewer. You have to hit Alt+Enter after you launch xbmc to enter windowed mode or else you just get a black screen.
I then installed the xbmc remote app on my iphone and used that to control everything. After the scraping was done (via teamviewer) the remote worked flawlessly displaying movies sorted by date with the year and score next to them including cover art etc.
Hit play and away it goes, can select subtitles, etc. but the button layout is clumsy.
I will see if I can make it select the right resolution..
In terms of scraping/ui this is about a 1000 years ahead of my crappy ntv550.
I did not test hd audio as I was not using the onboard audio (my standalone graphics doesn't support it).
I also tested Blu-ray 1:1 folder rips, no dvds, etc.
If anyone has any questions let me know or better yet install it yourself, doesn't take more than a couple of minutes to have it up and running.
I am retyping the link by watchy:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Development_builds
and this is what the remote app look like:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Official_XBMC_Remote/iOS

If your looking for a dedicated box to run XBMC on, I suggest a Intel NUC. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856102002
It can bitstream audio to an AVR and play full Bluray images perfectly. I put a 120gb SSD in mine along with 8gigs of ram and its perfect. Once bluray menus get better i'll be using this instead of a mix of my Dune and this for everything.
watchy is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 02:04 PM
Member
 
jch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by watchy View Post

If your looking for a dedicated box to run XBMC on, I suggest a Intel NUC. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856102002
It can bitstream audio to an AVR and play full Bluray images perfectly. I put a 120gb SSD in mine along with 8gigs of ram and its perfect. Once bluray menus get better i'll be using this instead of a mix of my Dune and this for everything.

What SSD did you use, and what RAM? How does it handle full BR rips? What about 3D Blu-Ray ISOs, if you've done them?
jch1 is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
watchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm using 120gig Muskin. Seems to work great. I got 8gig Crucial Sodimms. I just got a 3D Tv but I havent tested it. I got a lazy eye and can't see 3d so it never was very important.

It handles full bluray rips perfect.
watchy is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 10:43 PM
Member
 
thetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I dont know why people are saying it has menu support. I just threw something like 10 blu-rays at it with menus that work fine on my neotv 550, and the only one that had any sort of menu support (i.e. for all of them it detected the menu and let me choose it, but generally just skipped to the feature). And for the one that it did work, it only gave the initial "Disney language" choice menu, and then when it went to previews, I lost the picture (though it was displaying subtitles).

I'd say that menu support isn't close to being viable. I wish it was, if/when xbmc gets good blu-ray menu support it will make android media center boxes somewhat future proof (as long as they have the proper oomph)
thetoad is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 03-15-2013, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
watchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetoad View Post

I dont know why people are saying it has menu support. I just threw something like 10 blu-rays at it with menus that work fine on my neotv 550, and the only one that had any sort of menu support (i.e. for all of them it detected the menu and let me choose it, but generally just skipped to the feature). And for the one that it did work, it only gave the initial "Disney language" choice menu, and then when it went to previews, I lost the picture (though it was displaying subtitles).

I'd say that menu support isn't close to being viable. I wish it was, if/when xbmc gets good blu-ray menu support it will make android media center boxes somewhat future proof (as long as they have the proper oomph)

I never said the menu support was good or even useable, but its there on some blurays and nice to know its being worked on because of all the new players no longer supporting menus.
watchy is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 03-15-2013, 05:46 AM
Member
 
thetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by watchy View Post

I never said the menu support was good or even useable, but its there on some blurays and nice to know its being worked on because of all the new players no longer supporting menus.

oh, I strongly agree with that. hence my last sentence.
thetoad is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 03-15-2013, 06:56 PM
Member
 
jch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So you are saying when loading a movie, even if it's saved in ISO or Folder Structure with menus, it just loads the main feature? I oftentimes think it'd be nice to keep menus, but i NEVER access them...
jch1 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 03-16-2013, 03:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by jch1 View Post

So you are saying when loading a movie, even if it's saved in ISO or Folder Structure with menus, it just loads the main feature? I oftentimes think it'd be nice to keep menus, but i NEVER access them...

It gives you a prompt, you can choose from what it thinks is the title stream, a list of streams on the disc or display menus.

Alpha 1 of XBMC 13 is now out, though the nightly builds might be more cutting edge the prompt on BD's is in this version too.
Alx330 is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 03-16-2013, 05:57 PM
Member
 
thetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
it basically acts the same as everything else based on libbluray, it loads what it thinks is the main feature. not guaranteed to be it though.
thetoad is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 03-28-2013, 09:33 AM
Member
 
MeatHead88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cleveland Area
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you try a 3D BluRay iso yet?

I'm sold on this as soon as 3D BluRay iso playback is confimed by someone....

MeatHead88 is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 03-28-2013, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Phrehdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
I've always been a fan of XBMC and though I only use it with my computer monitor, I look forward to the day I can hook up a Mac Mini to my 65" plasma, play bd ISO's, get HD audio. I may just have to bite the bullet and load Linux or MS crap on my Mac to get there.

XBMC team are amazing for what they give us all. I hope some makers of media boxes will try to work with them (such as DUNE) to get XBMC working with their offerings.

In the meanwhile, I'll play around with bd offering listed here and see how things progress.
Phrehdd is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off