"Play On" How does it work? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 03-19-2013, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I'm kind of new to all of this new-age media, but I'm getting tired of paying for Dish network! I heard of this thing called Ruku, and an 'app' called "Play On". I guess with play on, you can watch a whole bunch of different shows, and different channels. And, what play on doesn't have, apparently you can go to something similar to an 'app store', and get 3rd party apps (called "Plugins") that have specific cable type channels, and even specific shows.

So, what I'm trying to figure out, is how does this work, exactly? I know it's through the internet, and you use either the Ruku box, or a blue ray player with wifi, and basically play the internet on your TV. But, what I don't understand, is these channels you can get, and the plugins, are they all "live" (like as on Dish, or cable), or is it just certain programming? I watch many different 'cable' type channels, as well as primarily CBS for broadcast TV. I see that there is a plugin, with someone who says you can get city-specific local CBS programming on play on. Again, I don't know if it's 'live', or something from days, or weeks ago?

I want to basically use this play on like my dish service, so I can drop them. But, I would still like to be able to watch programs that are on certain channels, that come on at certain times, like the channels currently on Dish. Can I do this?

And, since we're on the subject, what about the 'play on' add on, called "Play Later". Is that just like a regular DVR? How does that work, exactly?

I realize that I'm asking quite a lot of questions, but I can NOT find ANYONE in ANY electronics store that can answer any of these questions! HH Gregg, Best Buy, Wally World, Radio Shack, etc. I've asked them all! Everyone has heard of play on, but no one can tell me specifically how it works!