stream home server movies with directv deca device - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-05-2013, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dzirkelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had directv and ties into their deca units to get Internet at each TV. I was able to stream my 1080p mkv with be audio flawlessly to an htpc per each TV.

I recently cut the cable chord, so I started using power over Ethernet devices instead. this works, hub now my movies buffer using xbmc, assuming due to network lack of speed.

so, can I use directv deca devices without any receivers? I have all the hardware, just not the receivers.
dzirkelb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-06-2013, 12:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 45
You could try using a UPnP/DLNA server (Serviio, Mezzmo) instead on the PC holding the media, you wont get XBMC media library* but for playing files it would give a speed boost to the powerline adapters.

* It is possible to sort of get XBMC media library if using XBMC as a UPnP server to other XBMC instances as clients.
Alx330 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-06-2013, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dzirkelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have about 4 Tb of movies, so they will need to stay where they are on the home server.

it's strange. Apple TV, wireless, never fails. built in Hulu app hard wired on same tv through power line adapter buffers on occasion. Apple TV makes a good product for sure, just no xbmc on the latest model.

might do plex on my roku, but it is a little flaky.
dzirkelb is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-06-2013, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Ponziani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Campbell, CA, USA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never tried a setup without any DTV receivers at all, but in two rooms I have a DECA with an external power adapter to provide network access to the room, and that works fine. However, you probably wouldn't be able to have an antenna or regular cable TV signal on the coax at the same time, since DECA differs from MoCA adapters in the frequency range that it uses (geared specifically to avoid the range DTV uses).
Ponziani is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-06-2013, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dzirkelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that would be fine about the antenna signals.

how do I power them at each TV? one has a power adapter, rest used to get power from the receiver it seemed, but so t now I don't thi I without it
dzirkelb is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-06-2013, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Ponziani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Campbell, CA, USA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Satellite online vendors like Solid Signal have power adapters (or at least they used to). I have the white DECA adapters, can't speak to the newer ones.
Ponziani is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-06-2013, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dzirkelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool, thanks, I now know what to google to purchase smile.gif
dzirkelb is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off