How do you extend the range of a WiFi Router? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-12-2013, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RNaval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Melville, NY, USA
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do some WiFi-N routers provide better range than others? And is it possible to extend the range of a WiFi signal around the house without repeaters, etc? I have a D-Link DIR625, is it outdated now and should I upgrade?
RNaval is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-15-2013, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
bobsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Netgear's higher end routers starting with the WNDR4500, WNDR4700, r6200 and r6300 all have higher powered RF amplifiers then standard grade routers. In addition the routers I just listed use 3 radio technology and Beam Forming technology that also increase range due to the way in which it can communicate with the client devices. The WNDR4500/4700 are N routers. The r6300/6200 are AC and N routers. AC standard is the state of the art today and will allow 1gb transfer speeds. This is near equivalent to gigabit ethernet. The AC standard is still not final but close.

I have written reviews on all these routers. Please see the links below.

WNDR4700 review
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1444918/new-netgear-centria-wndr4700-all-in-one-router-and-nas-review

WNDR4500 review
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1360419/comparison-of-new-netgear-wndr3800-and-wndr4500

R6300 review
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1411661/netgear-r6300-r6100-gigabit-802-11ac-wireless-routers-thread


If you want to extend range beyond what these routers will provide you either need to add and access point or a range extender. The access point is the best solution as it provides no performance hit but requires a hard wire connection to the main router. If that isnt practical then you need to use a repeater. The repeater basically wirelessly links to your main wireless network and can repeat its signal. The issues up until now is you are using the single band (ie 2.4ghz) to send and receive. This adds double duty to it and as result takes a performance hit. Netgear recently introduced a dual band repeater the WN3500RP that can send on 1 band (say 2.4ghz and receive on the other band 5ghz) Now for this to work your main router must be dual band which the 4 I listed are.

You can read my review on the 3500 here.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1462152/a-great-wifi-range-extender-solution-netgear-wn3500rp-dual-band-wifi-extender-with-fastlane-technology-and-apple-airplay

The Netgear routers and repeaters are excellent products that I am sure will satisfy your needs. I have first hand experience using them in my 3000 sq ft home. Again please read the reviews for more info.


I hope this helps you.

Bob Silver
Netgear AV Consultant
bobsilver is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-15-2013, 01:48 PM
Member
 
jimbo75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RNaval View Post

Do some WiFi-N routers provide better range than others? And is it possible to extend the range of a WiFi signal around the house without repeaters, etc? I have a D-Link DIR625, is it outdated now and should I upgrade?

So based on the post, I assume you have coverage issues? Where is the router relative to everything else? Is it possible to move the router to a different room to provide better coverage? What else do you have that uses 2.4 GHz? (cordless phones, baby monitors, etc) It's possible that changing channels may help. (would also need to see what channels your neighbors are using)

Just throwing some questions out there... maybe it saves you from buying a new router. (unless you really want a new router) I think that DLink has external antennas, if so, you may be able to get away with a higher gain antenna.
jimbo75 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-15-2013, 01:57 PM
Member
 
travanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Some routers like my netgear wndr3700 v2 can have better antennas added on. I have that as the main router another 3700 repeating with an ethernet connection on the other side of the house. And a linksys wrt54g in the garage to wireless repeat for outside. There is more reason why I split up everything this way but adding just the antennas made a pretty big difference.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2
travanx is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-16-2013, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I have been very happy replacing two older Linksys wireless N routers (running Tomato and using WDS to extend the range of the first router) with a single Asus RT66U. The Asus gave better coverage throughout our house and 1 acre property than the 2 older routers using WDS - not only much better range but much higher throughput at long range.

Review here including wireless performance http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/31687-asus-rt-n66u-dark-knight-dual-band-wireless-n900-gigabit-router-reviewed
undecided is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off