OFFICIAL Seagate Central Owners Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2013, 04:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Well, knowing just enough to make me dangero...I mean, still stupid in the streaming world, I waltzed into best buy ready to buy a WD Live Hub to serve up movies off an HDD AND (imperatively for me) stream them locally to iPhones and iPads with their app.

Within 5 minutes I discovered the Seagate Central, a product I had yet to learn of in my travels searching for an "ideal" (lol) streamer.

Pretty reasonably priced I thought for 3TBs of local storage ($179): http://m.seagate.com/external-hard-drives/network-storage/home/seagate-central/

In a nutshell this box basically makes your stored audio/video/photo files usable over your network...including apple devices via their app which has worked splendidly for me, thus far. Also through any web browser but the hiccup there seems to be a 2 gig file limitation.

I've only dragged and dropped about a dozen movies onto it thus far but the ps3 has been pretty good with them, playback-wise. My own personal goal is to discover what file type works best with the ps3 and iOS devices, but I may just grab a WDLive that I think should work much better, straightway.

I cannot wait until more inclined gentlemen get their hands on this so I can leech them for help!

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2013, 01:09 PM
Member
 
ToonTonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
At last a user for the Seagate Central. I know theyve just been released but ive had mine for about a week (uk). Picked it up along with a Series 7 Samsung TV. Very impressed so far although having issues with Metadata using the Smart TV app & the Android/iPhone apps. I find it picks & chooses when it wants to show the info.

That said I think its a fantastic bit of kit and does what it says on the box.

THe apps need alot of work imo...but its all new so give it time. I guess
ToonTonic is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 258
^ Yes, thus far the apps for ios have been great...some files won't play back but that's not the Seagate's fault.

I'm still trying to figure out the best $100 streamer for me and my desire to consolidate a couple of these (Seagate 4TB HDDs) in a nice jukebox format.

Can anyone speak to a superior option that the PCH 210 for this?

thanks

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
Old 04-30-2014, 01:10 AM
Newbie
 
paul44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm using the Seagate Central strictly for local (read: offline_internet) backup and media streaming purposes. I've written down my experience in this document, and hope that it might be handy for some of you...

 

 

SeagateCentrallocalNAS 987k .pdf file  

Attached Files
File Type: pdf SeagateCentral.pdf (987.0 KB, 1525 views)
paul44 is offline  
Old 05-07-2014, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
funkychunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

"happyelements" has got transmission working:

 

http://stx.lithium.com/t5/Seagate-Central/unrar-first-version/td-p/217373

funkychunky is offline  
Old 05-10-2014, 07:37 PM
Member
 
buzzmag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Would the Seagate Central offer any advantage over my current method which is:

1. All videos stored in external hard drive.

2. I have three media players two of which are too far from my wireless router to expect any kind of video performance. These are connected via powerlines to my network and both perform flawlessly. The third is close enough to the router to deliver wireless video.

3. The third media player has a hard drive and Samba capability allowing playing video on the two remote media players from its' hard drive over the network. The only downside here is copying videos to the hard drive over the network is a very slow process. I can of course connect it to my PC for quicker copying but that's not convenient.

I'm happy with what I have so the question is, is there anything to gain with the Seagate Central?
buzzmag is offline  
Old 05-14-2014, 09:17 PM
Member
 
9512tacoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you put your iTunes purchased movies on the central, can you use AIRPLAY from your iPhone to stream them to your ATV?
9512tacoma is online now  
Old 05-24-2014, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
dg141's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I have a Seagate Central 3tb hard drive which I use to watch movies and TV shows on and is mostly great.
But when I try to watch a mkv movie using the app on my smart tv which I have downloaded the black bars at the top and bottom of the screen do not appear thus stretching the picture.
My TV is a Samsung ue46f800 I don't know if I can change any settings on the app or the TV.
Thanks for any help
dg141 is offline  
Old 08-08-2014, 09:34 AM
tji
AVS Special Member
 
tji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Recently picked one of these up.. Does anyone know of a way to set user quotas on these?

Among other things, I am using it for Time Machine backup for two Macs. I believe Time Machine will just keep taking more space until it reaches 100% and starts deleting the oldest backups. That won't work well for a multi-purpose NAS. I would like to allocate 1TB for one Mac, 500GB for the other, and the remaining 2TB for media. Can that be done?
tji is offline  
Old 08-20-2014, 06:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkychunky View Post
"happyelements" has got transmission working:
 
http://stx.lithium.com/t5/Seagate-Ce...on/td-p/217373
I'm looking for a way to install Transmission on my seagate central. This is the only info I found about it, but this link doesn't work

Does anyone have more info?
almararn is offline  
Old 08-20-2014, 06:09 AM
Newbie
 
funkychunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by almararn View Post
I'm looking for a way to install Transmission on my seagate central. This is the only info I found about it, but this link doesn't work

Does anyone have more info?
I had it working perfectly for months, then an automatic firmware update happened and wiped the lot. I've been looking for the last 2 months to try and find where I got the transmission download from but seagate seem to have removed it.

I've tried a few different transmission builds over the last couple of months with no sucess, I think my next option will be to try and find the previous firmware. What firmware are you running?
funkychunky is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 05:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do you guys know if you can watch stuff via USB from the Seagate on a PC or external media device. When I plug the Seagate into my PC for example via a USB device it doesnt show up as an external drive? Same happens when I plug it into my Android media box.
Glassy80 is offline  
Old 02-27-2015, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
I'm looking for a way to install Transmission on my seagate central. This is the only info I found about it, but this link doesn't work
Does anyone have more info?
I feel your pains. I briefly got some stuff to run, but nothing binary. Seagate has the device locked down at the kernel level and I'm currently sifting through the extracted firmware and am going to see if I can't patch it to remove the restrictions or at least add binutils so I can compile my own stuff on there.

I think it's either a flag when they compiled the kernel (IRQ/FRQ) or a flag in the u-boot script.

I cross-compiled busybox for the Armv6l arch but when running it the Central simply says "killed."

But if you can find something that runs on Python or something, not requiring C or compiling, then you can probably get it to work. I've gotten close with deluge until I was missing Python deps I couldn't get ahold of.

:/ I will get this though. Eventually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glassy80 View Post
...watch stuff via USB from the Seagate on a PC or external media device. When I plug the Seagate into my PC for example via a USB device it doesnt show up as an external drive? Same happens when I plug it into my Android media box.
Not exactly sure what you are asking, whether you are plugging the Seagate into a PC, or plugging a USB Hard Drive into the Seagate Central and it isn't showing up on a PC.

Basically, you can only access external drives connected TO the Seagate Central through SMB. See paul44's PDF file up there. I saw that process in there when I skimmed.

Seagate didn't configure the Twonky DLNA/uPNP server to add files from USB and I never could configure it to either (mainly for a lack of interest.)



PS I know this is a thread necro but still relevant information I felt like sharing.
TheOPar is offline  
Old 04-11-2015, 06:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
how to streaming media content to apple tv using itunes service, but not neccesary with the pc on
agdle is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the NAS of this thread. I got it for PC backups, not for home theater. But now I see it supports "DLNA", which I'd never heard of until yesterday.

So now I wonder if there's a cheap device that's got 1) an Ethernet jack to get data from the NAS, 2) output jack (HDMI or whatever), and 3) a remote control. And of course it would have a built-in DLNA client. I've seen other things that I think would work (game consoles and Blu-Ray players), but I didn't want the complexity of those, if I could help it. I'm thinking simple and cheap...this isn't for me, it's for a less technical local media watcher.

Is there a one trick pony that will pull via DLNA out of the NAS and display on my 'dumb' TV? If not, I can do what I've been doing...USB thumb drive sneaker-net.
sengsational is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by sengsational View Post
I just got the NAS of this thread. I got it for PC backups, not for home theater. But now I see it supports "DLNA", which I'd never heard of until yesterday.

So now I wonder if there's a cheap device that's got 1) an Ethernet jack to get data from the NAS, 2) output jack (HDMI or whatever), and 3) a remote control. And of course it would have a built-in DLNA client. I've seen other things that I think would work (game consoles and Blu-Ray players), but I didn't want the complexity of those, if I could help it. I'm thinking simple and cheap...this isn't for me, it's for a less technical local media watcher.

Is there a one trick pony that will pull via DLNA out of the NAS and display on my 'dumb' TV? If not, I can do what I've been doing...USB thumb drive sneaker-net.
Roku

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Paradigm Millenia CT
hpp8140 is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 04:04 PM
Member
 
9512tacoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Seagate has an app for the roku that is free and works with the central. Just plug the central Ethernet cable into your router. Roku models can be wireless or wired or both, hdmi or the old rca cables for SD only though. Cost is $40 to $100


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
9512tacoma is online now  
Old 02-10-2016, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9512tacoma View Post
Cost is $40 to $100
Thanks for the information. Roku is just a bit more than I want/need. I can get two 16GB flash drives for $10 and leave one in the TV and one in the computer, then switch them as needed. That will be good enough for this application.
sengsational is offline  
Old 03-07-2016, 08:48 AM
Member
 
GregAmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump.

Anyone have a disk image for the Seagate Central? My hardware is OK but the drive crapped, and I have no way to recover it. It's out of warranty, given I pulled it apart some time ago to drop in a larger hard drive (and, stupidly, did not save that cloned disk image).

Been using this for a couple years as a NAS for me (on a PC) and my wife (on a Mac). I'm also using a WDLV Live to stream video files and ripped DVDs to the big screen TV. Works fine, except a couple points:

- You need to ensure you're on a 1gbit network. 100mbit doesn't always cut it, especially for Blu-Ray rips
- You need to keep it cool. Any heat build up and the throughput speed goes to total hell. I resolved that by putting it in a cooler space on my bookcase, and I've got it lifted off its feet on two 9V batteries laid on their end.

If I can't recover this, then I'm likely to head toward a higher-end solution, likely the Netgear ReadyNAS 102/104 or similar. Would much prefer a lesser-expensive solution, though.

Thanks!
GregAmy is offline  
Old 03-10-2016, 01:53 PM
eg1
Newbie
 
eg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I use one of these to store my digital music files (FLAC) on. It's ethernet-connected to my router and I point both my Sonos system and my Logitech Media Server at it.

I can also access it from my Onkyo receiver, but I almost never do this, since the Sonos Connect is already attached to it

Onkyo TX-NR636; Vizio M65 c1; PS4; MyGica atv582; SB Touch; Sonos Connect; Cerwin Vega HED U123; Yamaha NS-C310
eg1 is offline  
Old 04-07-2016, 05:59 AM
Member
 
SBMongoos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Issues with my Seagate BlackArmor NAS 220. Suddenly I noticed I could no longer access my NAS on my network. I have a fixed IP address to it. I did the ping test which fails but oddly comes back pointing to my desktop PC saying destination host unreachable. I suppose since I have it mapped in Windows. In any case I've tried powering this off and on and no luck. Currently the power light is on steady but the System Status light just has a steady blink and the HDD light is off. The System Status light has been blinking steady for at least two days now.

Any ideas? Tried to go to Seagate.com but it seems their pointing customers to Facebook and the like for support. Didn't find the Seagate forum.
SBMongoos is offline  
Old 05-18-2016, 10:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a Seagate Central device with 2TB space allocation. I have set up incremental backup to run and that is supposed to backup a set of directories not more than 500Gb. Yet the Central drive is full. On further investigation, I have found that there are 23,000 (yes 23 thousand) files starting with bootstrapdb. This looks like some sort of database file that never gets itself deleted. These files are taking up over 1Tb of space. I had this issue previously and had to delete all my backups and start fresh but it looks like this issue is not going away very fast. These files that are created are done every half an hour so definitely points to some sort of recurring job that kicks in and creates this file.

Has anyone seen this issue before and resolved it or any suggestion of what to do with bootstrapdb.
VM1024 is offline  
Old 07-25-2016, 11:55 PM
Member
 
ToonTonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by VM1024 View Post
I have a Seagate Central device with 2TB space allocation. I have set up incremental backup to run and that is supposed to backup a set of directories not more than 500Gb. Yet the Central drive is full. On further investigation, I have found that there are 23,000 (yes 23 thousand) files starting with bootstrapdb. This looks like some sort of database file that never gets itself deleted. These files are taking up over 1Tb of space. I had this issue previously and had to delete all my backups and start fresh but it looks like this issue is not going away very fast. These files that are created are done every half an hour so definitely points to some sort of recurring job that kicks in and creates this file.

Has anyone seen this issue before and resolved it or any suggestion of what to do with bootstrapdb.
Did you ever solve this? Not something I have come across & seemingly so for others.

Be handy to know how you resolved it.

Toon
ToonTonic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off