Media streaming with full web browser? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-14-2013, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rdkaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to stream live internet video from my PC in one room; to my Panasonic HDTV in another room over my LAN.
I need a fully functional browser; to allow me to select any website to stream.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks.
RDKAZ
rdkaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-14-2013, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkaz View Post

I am trying to stream live internet video from my PC in one room; to my Panasonic HDTV in another room over my LAN.
I need a fully functional browser; to allow me to select any website to stream.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks.
RDKAZ

Connect your PC to your TV via HDMI and problem solved.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-14-2013, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rdkaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no good way to run the HDMI cable so it can't be seen.
I was hoping for another solution.
My main desire is to have full internet access on my HDTV.
Thanks.
rdkaz is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-14-2013, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkaz View Post

There is no good way to run the HDMI cable so it can't be seen.
I was hoping for another solution.
My main desire is to have full internet access on my HDTV.
Thanks.

A HTPC would be your best option. None of the media players have a full supported WebBrowser. So, it might work with some website, but it might not work with others. Does your TV even support video / audio via ethernet?

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-14-2013, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rdkaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply. I was afraid that HTPC was best way to go; but was trying to avoid buying another PC.
I have a Panasonic Tc-P46GT25. It has an ethernet port; but not sue if it will support audio/video.
rdkaz is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-16-2013, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
rdb4133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Another option might be one of the newer Google TV devices like the Vizio Co-Star or one of the many Android TV sticks.
rdb4133 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off