I'd like to play Bluray ISO files across a network... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 04-14-2013, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigBlkYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm sure this has been asked a million times, but I can't seem to find a great answer....

I'd like to be able to backup my Bluray collection to a computer (PC) on my network and then play them in my theater room. Ive checked out the Popcorn hour stuff, and it seems pretty solid, however it seems to get mixed reviews around here. Basically I want to backup the disc 1:1 with menus and extras. I realize this will consume more space, but that really doesn't bother me too much.

What are everyone's recommendations for a box to play back ISO files and other types of streaming content? This will be on a wired network so wireless doesn't matter to me. What matters the most is that the audio and video isn't downgraded on the other end. Maybe this isn't all possible?

I'd also rather not build a HTPC for a couple reasons: 1. Cost of the hardware to playback files and process them, and also I don't want it in the theater making a ton of noise!

Thanks guys!

My Firearms/Outdoors forum: http://thegungroup.com
BigBlkYJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 04-14-2013, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ View Post

I'm sure this has been asked a million times, but I can't seem to find a great answer....

I'd like to be able to backup my Bluray collection to a computer (PC) on my network and then play them in my theater room. Ive checked out the Popcorn hour stuff, and it seems pretty solid, however it seems to get mixed reviews around here. Basically I want to backup the disc 1:1 with menus and extras. I realize this will consume more space, but that really doesn't bother me too much.

What are everyone's recommendations for a box to play back ISO files and other types of streaming content? This will be on a wired network so wireless doesn't matter to me. What matters the most is that the audio and video isn't downgraded on the other end. Maybe this isn't all possible?

I'd also rather not build a HTPC for a couple reasons: 1. Cost of the hardware to playback files and process them, and also I don't want it in the theater making a ton of noise!

Thanks guys!

You should check the HTPC forum. I think you'd be surprised at just how cheap and quiet you can make an HTPC these days.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #3 of 15 Old 04-15-2013, 04:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigBlkYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are there a lot of advantages? I would assume im going to still have a network drive array somewhere as I know the drives are loud and I wont get enough of them in a PC case.

My Firearms/Outdoors forum: http://thegungroup.com
BigBlkYJ is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 04-16-2013, 02:49 AM
Member
 
jkbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Look at the dune smart series of boxes. If you want to play Iso files (not 3d) they work well. Newer dune models play 3d, but don't handle Iso as well.
jkbs is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 04-16-2013, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigBlkYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkbs View Post

Look at the dune smart series of boxes. If you want to play Iso files (not 3d) they work well. Newer dune models play 3d, but don't handle Iso as well.

I will check those out! I have zero need for 3d and choose a PJ accordingly. (Epson 8350) The output lag is horrible on the 3d PJ's and as Im a gamer it was a no-brainer!

My Firearms/Outdoors forum: http://thegungroup.com
BigBlkYJ is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 04-17-2013, 09:17 AM
Member
 
twan69666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a fairly pro-Dune forum, so you're going to get quite a few recommendations for those. They are very good players though.

I go ISO only with my collection and I still run a Popcorn Hour A200. Practically same hardware as the smart series from Dune, but the Popcorn Hour 200 and 300 series all give full menu support. The 300 series are still working out bugs, but the 200 series have the best bang for the buck in my opinion since they're cheaper than Dune's
twan69666 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 04-17-2013, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigBlkYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by twan69666 View Post

This is a fairly pro-Dune forum, so you're going to get quite a few recommendations for those. They are very good players though.

I go ISO only with my collection and I still run a Popcorn Hour A200. Practically same hardware as the smart series from Dune, but the Popcorn Hour 200 and 300 series all give full menu support. The 300 series are still working out bugs, but the 200 series have the best bang for the buck in my opinion since they're cheaper than Dune's

Thanks! I looked at the c200 a while ago and it seemed chock full of features! The reviews then were a bit shaky but it was probably 8 months ago I looked.

My Firearms/Outdoors forum: http://thegungroup.com
BigBlkYJ is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 04-20-2013, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
wyliec2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SD
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkbs View Post

Look at the dune smart series of boxes. If you want to play Iso files (not 3d) they work well. Newer dune models play 3d, but don't handle Iso as well.

I have a Dune HD H1 - I was told it will do BD menus. I want to play BD iso files but the Dune is not seeing the iso files on my Windows Home Sever 2011 Video folders.... UPNP only sees the BluRays I've saved in BDMV folders. SMB doesn't see anything on the server. I'm wondering if I'm missing something fundamental...???

TIA for any suggestions!

EDIT: Resolved the issue - added links on the H1 pointing to the server IP and shared folders.

Wyatt
wyliec2 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 04-20-2013, 07:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ View Post

I'm sure this has been asked a million times, but I can't seem to find a great answer....

I'd like to be able to backup my Bluray collection to a computer (PC) on my network and then play them in my theater room. Ive checked out the Popcorn hour stuff, and it seems pretty solid, however it seems to get mixed reviews around here. Basically I want to backup the disc 1:1 with menus and extras. I realize this will consume more space, but that really doesn't bother me too much.

What are everyone's recommendations for a box to play back ISO files and other types of streaming content? This will be on a wired network so wireless doesn't matter to me. What matters the most is that the audio and video isn't downgraded on the other end. Maybe this isn't all possible?

I'd also rather not build a HTPC for a couple reasons: 1. Cost of the hardware to playback files and process them, and also I don't want it in the theater making a ton of noise!

Thanks guys!

I don't think ANY media players can play full bluray menus except the Dune Prime series. I'm actually selling my Prime 3.0. I would always lean towards Dune on any media player. I own Popcorn and Dune and love Dune
Opentoe is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 04-21-2013, 04:17 AM
Member
 
Slosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

I don't think ANY media players can play full bluray menus except the Dune Prime series.
My Netgear NeoTV550 can, but it has been out of production for a while now and probably will be hard to find new.
Slosh is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 04-21-2013, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
csrini1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Check ebay you will find ntv550 for 80 dollars.
csrini1 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 04-22-2013, 09:47 AM
Member
 
thetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
the 550 is both great and sucky at the same time. basically, it plays almost everything I throw at it, but occasionally locks up so that it needs to be manually rebooted (unplugged/replugged) which is a major pain. With the fact that we can telnet into the device, we should be able to write a tool that allows for it to be rebooted remotely.
thetoad is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 04-22-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi BigBlkYJ,
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetoad View Post

the 550 is both great and sucky at the same time. basically, it plays almost everything I throw at it, but occasionally locks up so that it needs to be manually rebooted . . .
I agree, except I have been spared most of the sucky part. My NeoTV-550 plays full Blu-Ray folder-rips without ever a hiccup. Mine has never failed to play anything, and has never locked-up on me. It is also much more functional than my Dune Smart, as well as much cheaper. I seem to be the exception, however. I have come across some of the bugs, but they don't effect me with the way I use it (playing Blu-Ray, DVDs and music from a NAS).
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 04-22-2013, 12:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: the area formerly known as Black Forest
Posts: 4,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

I don't think ANY media players can play full bluray menus except the Dune Prime series. I'm actually selling my Prime 3.0. I would always lean towards Dune on any media player. I own Popcorn and Dune and love Dune

The Dune Smart series play iso and bluray folders perfectly fine.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigBlkYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can't believe I haven't checked back here recently. Been super busy! Thanks for all of the input guys! Looks like I have some shopping to do wink.gif I would love to catalog everything I have and not have to get up constantly and load a different movie or show.

My Firearms/Outdoors forum: http://thegungroup.com
BigBlkYJ is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off