Powerline Network Setup Help... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-01-2013, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ClerkDante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good Morning All,

I've spent the last several months setting up a home theatre room built around a WDTV Live Hub, fed by two Live Book Duo's. Ripping is complete, everything is setup and working beautifully. I've gone fully digital with all my discs safely stowed away.

Then I got to thinking, "Hmmm....what if I want to watch a movie in another room?". This lead to me purchasing a WDTV Live with the hopes of streaming from my collection stored in the theatre, to the TV in the living. I set it up, connected it to my airport network, and successfully linked to the drives and had access to my content.

Performance was a little "hiccupy" at times, but I imagine that was to be expected when trying to stream full bluray rips over Wi-Fi. Most stuff worked fine, the rest I dealt with.

So then I started reading about Powerline Ethernet, and how this should be the answer to my problems (and perhaps an option for stream to even other rooms). So I had some Best Buy Rewards points, and ordered a NetGear Powerline 500 Nano set of adapters. Plug them in, and got all greens on both ends. 500mb listed, 194mb pass thru via Netgear tool, should be great right?

Well, I still get the buffering wheel periodically on any movie with a bitrate greater than 25/mb or so. So, for detail, here's my setup:

Living Room: Upstairs
WDTV Live
Comcast Modem
Airport Extreme (set to bridge)
Netgear Powerline Adapter

Theatre Room: Downstairs
WDTV Live Hub
Apple Time Capsule (set to bridge)
MyBook Duo connected to Time Capsule
My Book Duo connected to other MyBook via USB
NetGear Adapter.

Both apple routers are setup as "Create Network" but share same name and security settings. Both Netgear Adapters are showing full green, which should be significantly faster than the 25/mb or so I max out at.

My iMac, which is about 30 feet from the Airport Extreme, is pulling internet speeds at about 40mb, wirelessly.

Any advice, tips, etc?
ClerkDante is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-01-2013, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ClerkDante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I just transferred a 19.5GB file across this same path and it completed in less than an hour. To my best estimate, that means its pushing at better than 50MB/s, should be more than enough for a decent stream, but alas, not so much.
ClerkDante is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-02-2013, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 253
I had the same problems and simply gave up on Powerline Ethernet. I ran cable instead. Everything works as intended now.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-02-2013, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ClerkDante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd love to be able to run cable everywhere I need it, but at the moment we're in a rental so there's limitations to the holes one can drill.
ClerkDante is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-02-2013, 09:58 AM
Member
 
BlacMagik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Apopka, FL
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Try running jPerf between the locations, should give you a better idea of how much actual throughput you're actually getting between the locations.
BlacMagik is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-02-2013, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 53
If you are only getting ~50Mbps throughput then you are on the limit for streaming full BD, especially if you have ripped in ISO form (very wasteful).

When you say your bitrate goes over 25Mbps, you are probably referring to just the video bitrate. Because you will have audio streams as well, plus a/v container overhead, ISO overhead, streaming protocol overhead. It all adds up.
elario is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-03-2013, 09:57 AM
Member
 
ZmHD69PigQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
After a bit of searching, I found this post. This person set up a test of streaming blu rays through PLAs of the highest bitrate blu rays he had, which the highest was 39Mbps. Streaming through SMB share was stuttery, and then streaming through DLNA was fine.

Try setting up DLNA. You'll have to stream from a PC, instead of the Hub.
ZmHD69PigQ is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off