Slow Network Transfer Time; Blu-ray Rips - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2013, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
cappy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: HHI
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Recently I decided to put together a small server to take with me when traveling on my RV. I bought a used HP Mediasmart EX485 server with 8TB storage, using 4- Western Digital WD20 EARX drives, upgraded with an Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200. I also am using a 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM Macbook Pro running Windows 7 on Bootcamp, an LG BE14 USB 3.0 Blu-ray drive, a Thunderbolt to Gigabit adapter and a used Popcorn Hour A-110. I have it set up using toNMT, YAMJ and a Popcorn Hour A-110 (see reason for antiquated setup below).

A typical Blu-ray rip to the server fluctuates between 8 and 4 mB/sec every few seconds and then after a few minutes it settles down to about 4mB/sec. At this speed it takes about 1 ½ - 2 hours to complete a rip. If I rip a Blu-ray directly to the Windows 7 desktop it runs at a very constant rate of 22-23 mB/sec, so this seems to remove the LG drive from the list of possible suspects. I tried turning off “checksums” in the network adapters in both the Macbook and the server, but this had no measurable effect.

Help would be appreciated!


Background: Several years ago I built a DYI 40TB server running WHS V1 and ripped about 200 Blu-rays successfully using toNMT and YAMJ, playing on a Popcorn Hour A-110. The typical rip speed to WHS typically runs about 8-11 mB/sec and takes about 50 minutes for a straight m2ts rip. This system continues to work reliably so any updating would simply be for the sake of change only. In any event, this setup is not the cause of slow transfer on the network.
cappy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2013, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I know it something simple, did you try a different cat cable?
space2001 is offline  
Old 05-03-2013, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
cappy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: HHI
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did change cables cat 5e cables and the switch as well, but everything came from my spare parts box. I think I will try some new cables and new switch to eliminate them from suspicion.

I also downloaded a Hotfix from MS that was supposed to help with speed problems on Windows 7 and WHS V1, but no improvement.
cappy1 is offline  
Old 05-03-2013, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You may want to look at this solution for a problem I had, particularly the Size and LargeSystemCache items.
DanPackMan is offline  
Old 05-03-2013, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
cappy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: HHI
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think I may have it fixed. I re-loaded that Hotfix on the server and now I am getting 10-12 mB/sec speed. The last time I tried it I mistakenly put it on the laptop C:/ drive. Duh!

Thanks for the help, but it looks as though I got lucky.
cappy1 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off