MP4 with forced subtitles? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-14-2013, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jpifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use DLNA on my Sony dvd player for connecting to Serviio for movies. I can use Handbrake to convert the movies to mp4 using ac3 as the primary audio. I'm trying to figure out how to add the subtitles, but only for foreign language parts. (Forced On)

I've tried adding from srt files, but I have yet to find one that is in sync with the video.

I've also tried having Handbrake convert directly from a DVD and add the subtitles it finds, but when I try to encode it just sits there indefinitely.

Is it possible? I'm not even positive the sony dvd player will show the subtitles over DLNA. Will it?

Any help is appreciated.

Jame
jpifer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-14-2013, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 45
It most likely wont and Serviio would have to transcode the media to burn the subtitles into the video stream, which could account for the delay.

Forced subtitles are best burned into the video during the encode process. Dont know why Handbrake wont do it but here is the manual and 100% accurate way
* Rip DVD using MakeMKV taking all subtitles in the movie stream.
* Play in VLC and cycle between subtitle tracks to see which one is the forced subs.
* Feed MKV file into Handbrake and on subtitles page select the correct subtitles track under source then tick the box for "burn in" then click add dont click add before doing that.

Encode your video and it should have the correct forced subs. There is a list of movies with forced subs here which is a useful indicator.
Alx330 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-14-2013, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jpifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. I will give it a try!

James
jpifer is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-14-2013, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
If you are using DVD or BD as source you can use the nightly build of Handbrake to use the foreign audio search. It's worked for all of the movies I have with foreign audio subs.


Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off