Need help connecting computer to display -- with complications - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-16-2013, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Weimdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm building a computerized directory for a medical office facility, and I have very little experience in the AV world. I'm looking to connect a computer to a digital display of roughly 40", but the cables which connect them need to be small -- Cat5, or another connection which can fit through a 1" diameter hole. There should be no need for audio, so this setup can be fairly simple.

Can a Cat5 carry a video signal from a computer to a display? Can a Cat5 carry a video signal from a router to a display?

If It's possible, I'd love to have a display that can be controlled via Wi-Fi. Is that possible?

I have not bought either the computer (most likely a laptop) or the display yet, so I am open to many options. The laptop will remain on 24/7, should I need one, but I would prefer to be able to control the display from behind a router if possible.

I really appreciate any suggestions!

James
Weimdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 05-16-2013, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
replayrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY- The tax State
Posts: 4,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Most modern computers & laptops have (or can add via option) an HDMI output- the HDMI connector is less than an inch high- and gives full digital signal.
If you need to control the computer remotely- use Real VNC via your network.

"I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure...."

replayrob is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-16-2013, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Weimdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
replayrob,

Thanks for the suggestions! I'm sure I will be using an HDMI cable now, if a laptop is going to be present at the display monitor. I read about Real VNC, and it looks like a great deal.

Does anyone know of a way to have signal come through a router, and lead to a display monitor, without the need for a computer at the monitor? This scenario is why I'm curious about Cat5 cables and video feed.
Weimdog is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off