Streaming video with DTS-MA? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 02:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mirrorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi, I've tried and tried to to stream a video file with DTS-MA audio but i can only get it to output
DTS 5.1.
I' ve tried to stream it via ps3 media server to ps3 and Samsung share all to blu-ray player,but
nothing will play it back as DTS-MA.
I've used ripbot,dvdfab,and handbrake to encode video but the end result is the same no DTS-MA.
Could someone tell me it's because it's impossible,so i can stop pulling my hair out trying to do it,
or a solution.Here's the media info from my last rip with handbrake.
Thanks in advance for any help.

General
Complete name : C:\Users\Neil\Videos\Handbrake\00485-1.mp4
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : Base Media / Version 2
Codec ID : mp42
File size : 4.99 GiB
Duration : 2h 25mn
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 4 918 Kbps
Encoded date : UTC 2013-06-05 19:29:19
Tagged date : UTC 2013-06-05 22:13:55
Writing application : HandBrake 0.9.9 2013052900

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 2h 25mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 1 000 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 2.667
Frame rate mode : Variable
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Minimum frame rate : 23.974 fps
Maximum frame rate : 23.981 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.045
Stream size : 1.01 GiB (20%)
Writing library : x264 core 130 r2273 b3065e6
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=3 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=hex / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=6 / lookahead_threads=1 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=240 / keyint_min=24 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=1000 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=62500 / vbv_bufsize=78125 / nal_hrd=none / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
Encoded date : UTC 2013-06-05 19:29:19
Tagged date : UTC 2013-06-05 22:13:55
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709

Audio
ID : 2
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Format profile : MA / Core
Mode : 16
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : A9
Duration : 2h 25mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : Unknown / 1 509 Kbps
Nominal bit rate : 3 912 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 5 598 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 24 bits
Compression mode : Lossless / Lossy
Delay relative to video : 83ms
Stream size : 3.97 GiB (80%)
Encoded date : UTC 2013-06-05 19:29:19
Tagged date : UTC 2013-06-05 22:13:54
mirrorman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 03:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 45
PS3 and Samsung dont do DTS-MA pass-through over DLNA, only Dobly/DTS 5.1.
Alx330 is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 04:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mirrorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alx330 View Post

PS3 and Samsung dont do DTS-MA pass-through over DLNA, only Dobly/DTS 5.1.

Thanks for your reply.Do you know of any device's that will stream DTS-MA pass-through over DLNA,
mirrorman is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 04:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 826
I dont think its possible yet to stream lossless audio. Or atleast its not available to the consumer.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #5 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 33
+1

I think that DLNA is unable to stream HD Audio. It as to go through a DLNA server like plex, serviio or PSM (the one you use) and be downconverted so your DLNA product can play it.

Anyway, DLNA is bad for many reasons. You should investigate about a real media player able to stream anhthing through a normal network connection using SMB or NFS.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mirrorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can anyone guide me to a media player that will stream DTS-MA? Can't seem to find one.
Cheers.smile.gif
mirrorman is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 45
The ability to pass-through DTS-MA is not a limitation of DLNA but an intentional choice by the product manufacturer. On top of that I would imagine there are very few players that support any type of DTS audio in the MP4 container.

If you want DTS-MA pass-through for network media you need to look at something like a Popcornhour A400 or Dune player (use MKV container too).
Alx330 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mirrorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Was thinking of buying the Dune HD Smart H1 http://dune-hd.com/eng/products/full_hd_media_players/16 i think it might be the
answer to my streaming problem with DTS-MA.
Is it rated or slated?smile.gif
mirrorman is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Aren't you better off building an HTPC? I looked into PCH and Dune players for a while before I decided it was cheaper, easier and would play anything if I just stuck with HTPCs.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirrorman View Post

Was thinking of buying the Dune HD Smart H1 http://dune-hd.com/eng/products/full_hd_media_players/16 i think it might be the
answer to my streaming problem with DTS-MA.
Is it rated or slated?smile.gif

http://www.mediaconceptusa.com/mede8er_med1000x3d.html
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mirrorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:

You must have been reading my thoughts,i just changed my mind about getting the Dune HD Smart H1
and sent off for the Mede8er MED1000X3D limited black edition from Amazon (could'nt live with anything silver)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mede8er-MED1000X3D-Black-Media-player/dp/B00CE8YKG6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1370558275&sr=8-1&keywords=Mede8er-MED1000X3D-Black
mirrorman is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 06-06-2013, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirrorman View Post

You must have been reading my thoughts,i just changed my mind about getting the Dune HD Smart H1
and sent off for the Mede8er MED1000X3D limited black edition from Amazon (could'nt live with anything silver)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mede8er-MED1000X3D-Black-Media-player/dp/B00CE8YKG6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1370558275&sr=8-1&keywords=Mede8er-MED1000X3D-Black

Congrats! Get back to us here, after you've tried it out.
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 06-07-2013, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
TiSLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I streamed movies with DTS-MA to my BoxeeBox from my PC no problems whatsoever
TiSLine is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 06-10-2013, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirrorman View Post

Can anyone guide me to a media player that will stream DTS-MA? Can't seem to find one.

 

I use the WD TV Play.. it's often a whopping $65.

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815140004

 

Very limited featured set (support) but so far MKV HD audio/video bitstream wonderfully.

Charles R is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 06-10-2013, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
The WD TV Live does not pass DTS-MA, just the core DTS track. I have no problem playing back movies with DTS-MA over my network via a pc connected to my receiver via HDMI. The WD TV Live Hubs have the same issue with DTS-MA.
myoda is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 06-10-2013, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by myoda View Post

The WD TV Live does not pass DTS-MA, just the core DTS track.


But the WD TV Play does via DLNA... it doesn't do a whole lot more however. smile.gif

Charles R is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 06-10-2013, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post


But the WD TV Play does via DLNA... it doesn't do a whole lot more however. smile.gif

True, to a point. It does have a wide selection of streaming options:
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=330

I think it will also stream 3D content from VUDU, if connected to a 3D TV. I know both my WDTV Live Hubs have that capability. Will check that later this afternoon. I also found that the network connection is much better with a wired connection. The wireless for me was pretty weak - and the box was right next to the access point in my living room.
myoda is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 07-17-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Osirus23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 180
So the WD TV Play will bitstream DTS-MA, but the WD TV Live will not?
Osirus23 is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 07-17-2013, 01:55 PM
 
comicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osirus23 View Post

So the WD TV Play will bitstream DTS-MA, but the WD TV Live will not?
correct..
comicguy is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Med1000x3d Hd 3d Multimedia Player
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off