DVD Fab video ts (VOB) to samsung smart TV using Plex - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 06-06-2013, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
micpat84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I started using Plex media server on Win XP PC the other day to stream movies to my Samsung 7000 series PNE60E700 (Smart TV). I have several of the kids movies already backed up on the Win XP PC as Video ts/Audo ts folders and used DVD Fab. We used the Boxee Box in the past and that played everything, even the Video ts from DVD Fab. Just a couple of questions below....Thanks in advance for any input.

1. Plex will not play DVD Fab Video ts structure so what is my best bet as far as converting them for plex or any program my TV will support?

2. In the future what is the most time effieceint way to get movies on the server from our DVD collection?

1. Should I use a program like Make MKV from the DVD Fab video ts folders?

2. Convert the DVD Fab filers using handbrake? If so what is a good preset?
micpat84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 06-06-2013, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The fastest is going to be loading the video ts folder into MakeMKV and converting them that way. The only reason that will slow you down is MakeMKV can't do a batch of files as far as I know. You're also going to have to deal with foreign audio sub titles as well. If you're going to convert via Handbrake and if you don't have any Blu-ray to convert then you're probably better off converting to mp4 and aac/ac3 5.1 with a constant quality preset around 15-16 (lower number = higher quality) with the slowest preset you can tolerate. I use the very slow preset. Handbrake is much easier to deal with foreign audio sub titles as I just use the foreign audio search feature and burn them into the video.
micpat84 likes this.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 06-06-2013, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
micpat84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed make mkv, after it ran the output file is not supported on Samsung. Could this be a plex issue or are there settings within make mkv I need to adjust?
micpat84 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 06-06-2013, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by micpat84 View Post

I installed make mkv, after it ran the output file is not supported on Samsung. Could this be a plex issue or are there settings within make mkv I need to adjust?

I couldn't find the specs on what file types are supported for your TV. It's not a Plex issue. Plex plays MKV just fine. If it doesn't direct play on your TV then it should transcode to a format that is compatible. Do you have transcoding disabled?

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 06-06-2013, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
micpat84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not see any options to enable/disable transcoding on the media server?
micpat84 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 06-07-2013, 03:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Where you going through the Plex client on Samsung app store or the DLNA interface, Plex does both.

It's a little unusual that the Samsung wouldn't play it as it should but I would try Serviio or Mezzmo instead as the DLNA server and go via that.

Samsung use a custom version of DLNA that requires specific profiles in order to work, double check that the IP address of the TV matches correct Samsung profile in the device manager of Mezzmo or Serviio (I dont think Plex exposes this option).

VIDEO_TS is not recommended or supported through DLNA, it's best to go with MakeMKV or VOB2MPG which gives you .mpg files (same thing as MakeMKV) and the .mpg files should always work.
micpat84 likes this.
Alx330 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 06-07-2013, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I could definitely see it not working if you were using DLNA. The Plex Client (if there is one for your TV) should work just fine. The transcoding options will be on the client side not the server side.
micpat84 likes this.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 06-07-2013, 08:20 AM
Member
 
BlacMagik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Apopka, FL
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Use Handbrake to encode your DVD files into h.264 (mp4) format.
BlacMagik is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 06-07-2013, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlacMagik View Post

Use Handbrake to encode your DVD files into h.264 (mp4) format.

That's always an option. The mp4 (x264/aac/ac3) file should be compatible with almost any player..... except my Blu-ray player for some reason =\
This is a must for Roku based Plex clients since that is the only format the Roku can stream over HTTP. This is a great guide for using Handbrake with Roku compliance: http://roku.yt1300.com/

edit: One thing that guide doesn't mention is the sub titles. In version 0.9.9 you can use the Foreign Audio search to grab any sub titles that should appear when a character is speaking in anything other than English. So far that has worked for every movie I've tried. I made a post on the Plex forum with some additional things I've run into: http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/66482-encoding-for-plex-on-roku-handbrake/
micpat84 likes this.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 06-07-2013, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
micpat84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys, really useful info. I found the transcoding option on plex samsung last night. I can now see all 35 titles backed up last year. I will try from scratch tonight by taking a DVD, use makemkv then see if it will play on Samsung TV. I did change the default directory in makemkv and read somewhere about the folder structure. Could this be an issue? I ran a videots previously created by dvdfab and the output file was something like "title00.mkv" not "shrek.mkv" only want the main movie so I selected the largest section.
micpat84 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 06-07-2013, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
micpat84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlacMagik View Post

Use Handbrake to encode your DVD files into h.264 (mp4) format.
what preset settings do you suggest? Will be playing on a 60 inch samsung
micpat84 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 06-07-2013, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
micpat84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got plex client on Samsung to see file after using make mkV, maybe a bad read first time around. Two issues I notice now: 1.loading (buffering) message on screen on playback, file is 3.2G mkv.Do I need to adjust buffer settings on plex client? Currently set at 10mb initial 40 pending & 50 total. Force transcoding is ticked with a quality of 12.

2. I think something is up with metadata for the file. It shows as Some random movie in plex client. Will renaming on server fix this?
micpat84 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 06-07-2013, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by micpat84 View Post

Got plex client on Samsung to see file after using make mkV, maybe a bad read first time around. Two issues I notice now: 1.loading (buffering) message on screen on playback, file is 3.2G mkv.Do I need to adjust buffer settings on plex client? Currently set at 10mb initial 40 pending & 50 total. Force transcoding is ticked with a quality of 12.

2. I think something is up with metadata for the file. It shows as Some random movie in plex client. Will renaming on server fix this?

http://wiki.plexapp.com/index.php/Media_Naming_and_Organization_Guide

You can get detailed troubleshooting of the Plex logs on their forum by their staff. They can analyze the logs and tell you exactly what is happening.
micpat84 likes this.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Samsung Pn60e7000 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Ultra Slim Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off