Newbie with MoCa need help with setting up MoCa with Verizon Fios - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-07-2013, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
y0umebednow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys newbie here with MoCa wanting to set up MoCa with verizon fios. I did spend some hours reading up on terms and information regarding MoCa but still have some concerns before ordering the required hardware

I have verizon Fios 50/20 package and using the provided mi424wr router im only getting 20Mbps download speeds using wifi (does not matter how close or far i am to the router). Im guessing there is a lot of interference from other wireless devices. 20mbps is still fine for regular wireless devices but i need the whole 50mbps upstairs to my media room PC.

The ONT is downstairs and is connected to the mi424wr router VIA Coax. I also have directTV Dish and ive read that there are some complication with the both? will i still be able to set up MoCa in conjunction with DirectTV?

The directTV is wired so that the STB is upstairs and a Coax connected downstairs to provide Both the upstairs and downstairs TV with dish TV.

If possible, how do i go about setting up MoCa? How many mi424wr devices do i need since i already have one? any other info that i may have not read that is important?

Thank you for all the help and please bear with me as im level one newbie with this technology (although i learn quickly!)
y0umebednow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 06-10-2013, 09:12 AM
Member
 
RangerDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It sounds like you may have an older G wireless network setup on your PC rather than the new, faster N.

We also recently started Verizon FiOS 50/25 service a month ago and I found this same issue with our 6 year old laptop. It ran at 20 mbps down over wi-fi, but when I plugged it into the router (same model as yours) with an ethernet cable, I got the full 50 mbps.

Good luck,
RangerDave
RangerDave is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 06-10-2013, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
geo1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
geo1267 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off