Nuvola NP-1 and NP-2 4K Media player starting at 300$ - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corvus420 View Post

No software solutions then for older systems? Guess I'll wait even Roku may have something in the works or some new ones stepping up to the plate right now the nuvola sounds the most promising.

I'm waiting as well. I've tried some of the software solutions on both my Mac (Intel i7 model) and my AMD FX-6300 gaming PC, and the performance is less-than-perfect for streaming even with a discrete GPU. I figure having a dedicated streamer such as the Nuvola is the best way to go...especially since it will include 4K content and I won't need to constantly download files from YouTube. wink.gif
Rudy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 05:25 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So basically got a TV ahead of the hardware unless its the red ray at 1500 someone may figure out a software compression solution who knows I shut down everything that was taxing the CPU outside of over clocking best I could get was 20fps slow motion lol.
Corvus420 is offline  
post #63 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corvus420 View Post

So basically got a TV ahead of the hardware unless its the red ray at 1500 someone may figure out a software compression solution who knows I shut down everything that was taxing the CPU outside of over clocking best I could get was 20fps slow motion lol.

I know my PC's fans rev up whenever I try to stream files from YouTube so I stopped doing that and just download everything using 4K Downloader: http://www.4kdownload.com/
Rudy1 is offline  
post #64 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 05:40 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Corvus420 is offline  
post #65 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 05:42 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Corvus420 is offline  
post #66 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Forget that last one full of malware and viruses are so the comments say
Corvus420 is offline  
post #67 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Corvus420 is offline  
post #68 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just tried the latest zoomplayer 870Beta34 with smooth video project SVP 315 I'm hitting on 24fps
Corvus420 is offline  
post #69 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corvus420 View Post

Just tried the latest zoomplayer 870Beta34 with smooth video project SVP 315 I'm hitting on 24fps

That is pretty good for your PC...the TV maxes out at 30 Hz, so you're not too far off. By the way, if you haven't already you should request your free upscaler from Seiki...I'm using it with a WDTV Live Plus streamer and I'm getting very good results.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #70 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeh got mine in Friday its working good had to retweak the video settings.Had some jitter and banding issues using it, however the latest beta version of potplayer seems to smooth it out on 1080 files.
Corvus420 is offline  
post #71 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Got an old wdtv think its the first generation probably better than my bid card may pipe it thru there see what happens
Corvus420 is offline  
post #72 of 138 Old 03-30-2014, 08:15 PM
Member
 
norml4721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post

Hate to be the one to inform you but lossy and lossless comes from PCM masters. What does "double down on" mean?

Hi :

Thanks for the input. I am talking about the so called 5.1 PCM that is output from the FMP-X1 media player it is absolutely horrible hardly any seperation at all. What I am referring to is that most if not all current movies are available with some sort of master audio sound track. DTS, Mater audio HD. Dolby Digital HD etc etc. I am not talking about PCM masters

The Sony media player does not passthru a receiver where you can process the audio formats available on the sound tracks. The media player must be connected direct to HDMI 4 off the Sony TV not allowed per Sony to go thru receiver like any other source Blu ray, cable etc

the media player has a separate audio only output. That you are suppesed to connect to external receiver and this output is PCM or stereo. And when connected will cause
handshake issues with your receiver /TV input loop. ( This is the reason that I returned the media player )

When I say double down Sony is big on PCM and has been. Most other sources give you several options of HD master audio to choose from Sony does not

To me audio is just as importantas video when watching a movie in my home theater.

I am just a bit frustrated with all the time that I spent trouble shooting this audio problem ( With Sony product specialists ) Nothing personel

Anyway I hope that Nuvola has a decent audio output is all that I am trying to say.

LOL

NOrm L
norml4721 is offline  
post #73 of 138 Old 03-31-2014, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by norml4721 View Post

What I am referring to is that most if not all current movies are available with some sort of master audio sound track. DTS, Mater audio HD. Dolby Digital HD etc etc.

The process of re-recording a sound track (movie, TV show, etc.) from the work stems creates the finial Audio Master for that content. That content is most likely in PCM form, be it on a Avid (or some other DAW) or of recent past, Tascam DA-88 (or similar). The sound track that you receive should come from that Audio Master be it PCM or DTS HD Master Audio (and several lossy variants) or Dolby TrueHD (and several lossy variants). In some cases movie audio intended for theaters is re-processed for home use. There are quite a few titles on Blu-ray with PCM tracks. The ONLY reason to use DTS HD Master Audio or Dolby TrueHD over straight PCM is both lossless formats save on data space.

Purely a guess, Sony did not use one of the lossless formats because licensing fee structures are not in place for this method of content distribution plus it saves them money. The sound tracks via the Sony puck may have issues but PCM should not be the cause.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #74 of 138 Old 03-31-2014, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What's a good USB media player I ordered a Micca mplay HD to hold me over til, the Nicolas drop in price did I make a right choice in that price range didn't need streaming did see the g2midnight but was higher and the xmbc player downscales 1080.WDTV didn't get as high as a review in the under 100 dollar price range.
Corvus420 is offline  
post #75 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
The WDTV players are excellent when they work, but they can be infuriating when they don't...and that can happen several times a year. I should know, as I've owned three different generations of them. Luckily, the user base is enormous so you can usually find a fix for any problem you're experiencing by visiting the WD Community webpages at Western Digital. The Micca player you ordered appears to be good, but I would suggest you read all of the reviews on this unit posted by "David Bridges" on Amazon. If you plan on using the media player with the Seiki upscaler, make sure it can actually output 1080p/24...otherwise the scaler may not recognize the signal. And I would recommend that you use the Toslink output on the Micca for audio to your sound system...I've found that the Seiki upscaler will sometimes not work if the signal it's getting has been routed through an AVR.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #76 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeh downloaded the manual stated it had 1080x24. Don't know what kinda whiskey Bridges is drinking but he should have RTFM on the manual about turning off indexing hopefullyvthe seiki will upscale the Micca seems it should.Was wondering how important high speed HDMI cable vs standard cable I'm using a standard belkin HDMI cable.
Corvus420 is offline  
post #77 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corvus420 View Post

Yeh downloaded the manual stated it had 1080x24. Don't know what kinda whiskey Bridges is drinking but he should have RTFM on the manual about turning off indexing hopefullyvthe seiki will upscale the Micca seems it should.Was wondering how important high speed HDMI cable vs standard cable I'm using a standard belkin HDMI cable.

High speed HDMI is absolutely required. I get all my cables from Monoprice:

http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=102&cp_id=10240
Rudy1 is offline  
post #78 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well thing is me olds laptops not high speed.Canceled my micca order guess I'll wait till something else better arrives what devices are out with 1.4 HDMI output ,which is the highest there is currently I guess.
Corvus420 is offline  
post #79 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 04:49 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Corvus420 is offline  
post #80 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 05:27 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Appears it only does 60hz on the gbox
Corvus420 is offline  
post #81 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The latest wdtv is only HDMI 1.3
Corvus420 is offline  
post #82 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corvus420 View Post

The latest wdtv is only HDMI 1.3

Yeah, that's right...I totally forgot about that. Well, looks like we are both going to have to sit tight and wait for the Nuvola. You know what you might try? Change your GPU's output to 1080p/24, and run it through the Seiki upscaler...it might just work and give you a little taste of 4K goodness. And if it does, you can hook up your USB drive to the PC and stream your movies that way. wink.gif
Rudy1 is offline  
post #83 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sometimes new devices show up at deal extremes
Corvus420 is offline  
post #84 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Corvus420 is offline  
post #85 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Brilliant! But will the power supply work here in the US?
Rudy1 is offline  
post #86 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Found another one at amazon but as you say the power supply maybe different anyway sent them a letter had a real good YouTube video on this one no amazon reviews as of yet.Nothing mentioned in the specs as having the H.265 codec. http://www.amazon.com/iconBIT-TOUCAN-SMART-3D-QUAD/dp/B00HBU8KW2/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1396407560&sr=1-3&keywords=4k+media+player#productDetails
Corvus420 is offline  
post #87 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 08:36 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Corvus420 is offline  
post #88 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
This last one looks like it would work for you. Email the guy from Texas who reviewed it on Amazon so you can get some feedback on the unit.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #89 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 09:21 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I ordered it can't wait on the Nicola and the price is a bit steep this thing sounds pretty good only thing is refresh rate settings
Corvus420 is offline  
post #90 of 138 Old 04-01-2014, 10:22 PM
Member
 
Corvus420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Canceled my order again lol some of the forums saying its not working to good even the mele m9 with the same chip set so nuvola has to be the answer
Corvus420 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nuvola np-1 , Roku Streaming Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off