House of Cards: Blu-ray vs. Amazon vs. Netflix vs. Vudu - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
dargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Now that everyone agrees Blu-Ray is vastly superior to streaming, lets have no more talk of streaming HD
AVS should be promoting how much better Blu-Ray is not doing silly comparisons of inferior delivery systems
Plus streaming gives back to much control to the studios who like control of what I can watch, which is always a bad thing.
dargo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
^ I agree that BD is superior, but I think these comparisons are a good idea. Many of them show just how close Vudu HDX and apple 1080 are getting on the video side, audio is a different story. The author(s) put a lot of time into these, and some people need to see which is best in black and white. I believe the support for shiny discs of all kinds on AVS and other sites is a good thing. Who knew that half of all the posts I've seen anyway support keeping them around for awhile, and I doubt this support goes unnoticed smile.gif
imagic likes this.
comfynumb is offline  
post #33 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ryan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by dargo View Post

Now that everyone agrees Blu-Ray is vastly superior to streaming, lets have no more talk of streaming HD
AVS should be promoting how much better Blu-Ray is not doing silly comparisons of inferior delivery systems
Plus streaming gives back to much control to the studios who like control of what I can watch, which is always a bad thing.

Complaining about relevant and informative comparisons is rather silly in itself, methinks. rolleyes.gif

Moreover, in most case BR is NOT "vastly" superior. In fact, I rather doubt that a casual viewer would be able to notice much of a difference on something like a 50" LCD and the differences are not all that significant on 60"-70" screens as well.

While I would normally agree with you on the studio control subject, the studios do not like "all you can stream for a flat fee" services like Netflix. That's why they've been trying to use Amazon Prime to syphon Netflix subscribers and then switch them to pay per view. So technically, we should all be supporting Netflix. wink.gif
Ryan1 is offline  
post #34 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
I'm watching the first episode now and although I can toggle between DD and DTS my pre/pro says Dolby PL 2 M 2/0/.0 Meaning I'm not in 5.1 I'm basically in multi channel stereo. Or am I missing something?
If it matters my ISP is Comcast and I'm subscribing to their 20Mbps service although I'm closer to 22Mbps.
comfynumb is offline  
post #35 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,372
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2520 Post(s)
Liked: 3991
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

I'm watching the first episode now and although I can toggle between DD and DTS my pre/pro says Dolby PL 2 M 2/0/.0 Meaning I'm not in 5.1 I'm basically in multi channel stereo. Or am I missing something?
If it matters my ISP is Comcast and I'm subscribing to their 20Mbps service although I'm closer to 22Mbps.

Which platform are you on? On a PC all you will get is 2-channel audio.

Mark Henninger
imagic is offline  
post #36 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Streaming through my Oppo 93.
comfynumb is offline  
post #37 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 05:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,766
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post


Which platform are you on? On a PC all you will get is 2-channel audio.

 

With Windows 8's Netflix App you get 5.1... once started simply select 5.1` in audio options.

Charles R is offline  
post #38 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 06:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

Streaming through my Oppo 93.

From Netflix? I assume that the Oppo 93's Netflix player is like this (on a PS3):

Common Netflix UI Browser (Click to show)
FILE0283.JPG

If so, you should be able to get to an "Audio & subtitles" menu and choose DD+ sound like this:

Audio & subtitles options (Click to show)
FILE0293.JPG

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #39 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

From Netflix? I assume that the Oppo 93's Netflix player is like this (on a PS3):

Common Netflix UI Browser (Click to show)
FILE0283.JPG

If so, you should be able to get to an "Audio & subtitles" menu and choose DD+ sound like this:

Audio & subtitles options (Click to show)
FILE0293.JPG



I didn't see the audio menu thanks smile.gif
comfynumb is offline  
post #40 of 58 Old 06-30-2013, 11:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,372
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2520 Post(s)
Liked: 3991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

With Windows 8's Netflix App you get 5.1... once started simply select 5.1` in audio options.

It never occurred to me to use the Windows 8 app. That's a great point and a huge oversight on my part. Thank you for pointing it out. eek.gif

Mark Henninger
imagic is offline  
post #41 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

From Netflix? I assume that the Oppo 93's Netflix player is like this (on a PS3):

Common Netflix UI Browser (Click to show)
FILE0283.JPG

If so, you should be able to get to an "Audio & subtitles" menu and choose DD+ sound like this:

Audio & subtitles options (Click to show)
FILE0293.JPG



The reason I didn't see the audio menu is because it isn't there for me. Very strange because I can do HDX from Vudu, so it's not a question of bandwidth. I can change to DD or DTS on my pre/pro but I'm still in 2.0 stereo.
comfynumb is offline  
post #42 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 09:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,766
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post


The reason I didn't see the audio menu is because it isn't there for me. Very strange because I can do HDX from Vudu, so it's not a question of bandwidth.


Not strange at all since the OPPO 93 doesn't support 1080p or 5.1 audio... last I heard.

Charles R is offline  
post #43 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,372
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2520 Post(s)
Liked: 3991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post


Not strange at all since the OPPO 93 doesn't support 1080p or 5.1 audio... last I heard.

I'm guessing you mean the Netflix app on the Oppo 93? That certainly is one of the main issues with Netflix, their app is fragmented—with different specs and capabilities from device to device.

Mark Henninger
imagic is offline  
post #44 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post


Not strange at all since the OPPO 93 doesn't support 1080p or 5.1 audio... last I heard.



As far as streaming Netflix you mean? The 93 streams Vudu HDX at full 1080p and DD plus 7.1 perfectly. Well 5.1 for me.
comfynumb is offline  
post #45 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post

I'm guessing you mean the Netflix app on the Oppo 93? That certainly is one of the main issues with Netflix, their app is fragmented—with different specs and capabilities from device to device.



That must be it, different specs for different devices.
comfynumb is offline  
post #46 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,372
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2520 Post(s)
Liked: 3991
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

As far as their streaming capabilities go you mean? The 93 streams Vudu HDX at full 1080p and DD plus 7.1 perfectly. Well 5.1 for me.

How about other movies, has Netflix ever produced a 5.1 stream for you?

Mark Henninger
imagic is offline  
post #47 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post

How about other movies, has Netflix ever produced a 5.1 stream for you?



I've only used it a few times, but from the movies I have watched 5.1 has not been an option. I'm using my gf's account at my house. I will be paying more attention from now on.
comfynumb is offline  
post #48 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

The reason I didn't see the audio menu is because it isn't there for me. Very strange because I can do HDX from Vudu, so it's not a question of bandwidth. I can change to DD or DTS on my pre/pro but I'm still in 2.0 stereo.

Can you post a picture of the Netflix app on Oppo, showing the menu for a title as in the picture below?

Common Netflix UI w/Title Selected (Click to show)
FILE0288.JPG

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #49 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409




I just snapped these with my iPad.
comfynumb is offline  
post #50 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
comfynumb is offline  
post #51 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post

I'm guessing you mean the Netflix app on the Oppo 93? That certainly is one of the main issues with Netflix, their app is fragmented—with different specs and capabilities from device to device.

Not really. I have the UI in the pictures that I've posted on PS3, TiVo Premiere, Sony BDP-S390, Panasonic DMP-BDT220, BDT110 and WD TV Live and they're all largely the same. The BDT110 for some reason was never 1080p-capable and they never patched it to add that; it seems to use a different set of video encodes. The TiVo's UI is the most deficient, lacking scroll through browser rows by three using FF and REW, people search and the Just for Kids alternative UI.

They tend to introduce new features on the PS3 (they've stated that it's the single most used), so it's the most advanced one. Recently it got this and this (weird and IMO useless biggrin.gif) update that none of my others with that UI have seen.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #52 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

I just snapped these with my iPad.

Thanks for those. You do not have the new common UI. When they first came out with the HTML5/Webkit based UI (lots of which gets download when you run the player so they can make pretty major mods without a firmware upgrade) they tried several different designs. The one that you have (which I think that they codenamed "Special") was my favorite--it has a buttload of genres and subgenres and can browse up to 250 titles. It was on my BDT110 for the longest before they finally killed it--I'm surprised that they didn't replace it on your Oppo. They settled on one in the pictures I linked, which presumably has the most features and best performance which they could squeeze onto the largest number of platforms.

I'm fairly sure that the UI that you do have had "Audio and subtitles" menus; you can see the selection in the picture below (from when it was on the PS3, long, long ago biggrin.gif).

Netflix Special UI Title Menu (Click to show)
DSCN1316.JPG

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #53 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Thanks for those. You do not have the new common UI. When they first came out with the HTML5/Webkit based UI (lots of which gets download when you run the player so they can make pretty major mods without a firmware upgrade) they tried several different designs. The one that you have (which I think that they codenamed "Special") was my favorite--it has a buttload of genres and subgenres and can browse up to 250 titles. It was on my BDT110 for the longest before they finally killed it--I'm surprised that they didn't replace it on your Oppo. They settled on one in the pictures I linked, which presumably has the most features and best performance which they could squeeze onto the largest number of platforms.

I'm fairly sure that the UI that you do have had "Audio and subtitles" menus; you can see the selection in the picture below (from when it was on the PS3, long, long ago biggrin.gif).

Netflix Special UI Title Menu (Click to show)
DSCN1316.JPG



This is strange, if my app had it why would they take it away? The next firmware is out in beta, maybe when it's officially released the audio menu will be back.
comfynumb is offline  
post #54 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 11:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

This is strange, if my app had it why would they take it away? The next firmware is out in beta, maybe when it's officially released the audio menu will be back.

Maybe it's just not there for House of Cards. Could you take a look at the title menu for Weeds, the title in photo I just linked to?

The "Audio and subtitles" menu is only there if there is a choice for one, the other or both. If all that's available is English stereo audio with no subtitles the menu choice won't show up.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #55 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Maybe it's just not there for House of Cards. Could you take a look at the title menu for Weeds, the title in photo I just linked to?

The "Audio and subtitles" menu is only there if there is a choice for one, the other or both. If all that's available is English stereo audio with no subtitles the menu choice won't show up.



No good Michael, it's not there for Weeds either.
comfynumb is offline  
post #56 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 11:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

No good Michael, it's not there for Weeds either.

Okay, so it's an Oppo 93 specific limitation. I found a picture showing the use of that menu in the style of UI on your Oppo:

Netflix Special UI Audio and subtitles menu (Click to show)
feature-netflix-batman-1.jpg

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #57 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Okay, so it's an Oppo 93 specific limitation. I found a picture showing the use of that menu in the style of UI on your Oppo:

Netflix Special UI Audio and subtitles menu (Click to show)
feature-netflix-batman-1.jpg



Maybe a future update will add the audio menu for me. I really like the 93 and won't update until I see where 4K goes. I don't think it will be long before there's a BD standard revealed. Thanks for your help smile.gif
comfynumb is offline  
post #58 of 58 Old 07-01-2013, 12:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post

It never occurred to me to use the Windows 8 app. That's a great point and a huge oversight on my part. Thank you for pointing it out. eek.gif

It should be noted that the Win8 app will only output DD+ 5.1 if your system has HDMI sound output. It won't output 5.1 through an optical or coax S/PDIF connection which would require conversion of DD+ (something that a PC is perfectly capable of doing rolleyes.gif).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
House Of Cards The Complete First Season Blu Ray Widescreen

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off