Choice of front end for ease of use - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 06-24-2013, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Finishing building the "server" this week. 8TB in raid 5 which will give me 6TB of storage.
I'm using MakeMKV to rip and process BD's and DVD's which seems to work well. I have tested the setup using a borrowed WD media player and it works great. While I'm processing , oh say 600 movies (mostly DVD's), I need to find two media players that will be rack mounted to feed two locations. The person who will use this most is a autistic child. Therefore the front end must be real easy to navigate. He can read but mostly relys on cover art for selection. He has no problem navigating a Escient Fireball connected to a 400 disc changer so something close would be nice. I like having all the bells and whistles but would settle for less to make it easy for him. Thanks,
Chip

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 06-25-2013, 03:00 AM
Member
 
jkbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Check out the Dune streamers. They can now be set to startup in your jukebox of choice, such as my movies, Zappitti, Yadis, etc. All have cover art options. There is now a Zappitti player with that jukebox built in.
jkbs is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 06-25-2013, 03:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 33
the zappiti player doesn't have any jukebox built in...This is only planned for "future evolution" that could easily be considered as vaporware since they're talking about it for at least one year.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 06-25-2013, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

the zappiti player doesn't have any jukebox built in...This is only planned for "future evolution" that could easily be considered as vaporware since they're talking about it for at least one year.

I noticed on the Zappiti site that thay have a Dune player (don't remember the model) with their name stenciled on it. Does the free Zappiti software work on all Dune models?
Same question for yadis. Does it support all Dunes? What other media players have decent stock or aftermarket front ends? I'm not going to lose to much sleep over the price of Dune but why pay the extra price if you don't have to. All I really need is a player.
I don't need something with on-board storage. That's in the server.

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 06-25-2013, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

I noticed on the Zappiti site that thay have a Dune player (don't remember the model) with their name stenciled on it.

The Base 3D model?

Does the free Zappiti software work on all Dune models?

All the current models, yes.

Same question for yadis. Does it support all Dunes?

Yep, works great. Personally, I like it over Zappiti. *runs for cover*

I'm not going to lose to much sleep over the price of Dune but why pay the extra price if you don't have to. All I really need is a player.
I don't need something with on-board storage. That's in the server.

With Dune (and MEDE8ER), you get what you pay for, unlike others.
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 06-25-2013, 04:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yep, works great. Personally, I like it over Zappiti. *runs for cover*

No need to run. I've been looking at both and am having a hard time justifying one over the other. What ever I get will have to be the quickest to navigate for a autistic child.
Then I figure if he can do it, the dumb blonde next door might have a chance

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 06-26-2013, 02:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 33
yadis being highly customizable (while zappiti is absolutely not), i would say that it's the best choice for you.

My choice is also yadis, zappiti has one big advantage : the ipad app (for android you can use DMC for both). For all the rest I consider yadis fairly above zappiti.

PS : didn't we already talk about that together ?
Mr Eric is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 06-26-2013, 02:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 601
I'm thinking of giving Yadis a try. I like how customizable it is.
L33TX43RT likes this.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 06-26-2013, 03:04 AM
Member
 
jkbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Stefuel - if you do decide to get a Dune you can try all the jukeboxes on a trial basis and see which works best for your son.
jkbs is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 06-26-2013, 03:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I'm thinking of giving Yadis a try. I like how customizable it is.

if you already use zappiti, you might have a little problem (zapp is renaming your HDD without any notice), but nothing very complex to solve. wink.gif

That's why I always recommend to start testing jukeboxes with yadis, then if you're not happy with it continue with zapp and mymovies or others.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 06-26-2013, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 601
I wonder how can Zappiti rename my whole 15 TB UnRaid server?

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 06-26-2013, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 33
It's only for attached drives, not network drives. Zappiti adds a dune_folder.txt to every attached drive to the dune, inside there's a simple storage_name=xxxx, the problem comes from the fact that the xxxx is different from the name you gave to this drive when formatted, so in yadis when you use storage_label for your dune path it doesn't work because zappiti changed this name without telling you (most of the time this zappiti name is a mix between the real drive name and uuid).

I don't think that network drives are concerned but you could easily check if you have this dune_folder at the root of your unraid hdd. (even if it's there it's not a problem because you're going to use smb or nfs which doesn't care about the drive name).
Mr Eric is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 06-26-2013, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

It's only for attached drives, not network drives. Zappiti adds a dune_folder.txt to every attached drive to the dune, inside there's a simple storage_name=xxxx, the problem comes from the fact that the xxxx is different from the name you gave to this drive when formatted, so in yadis when you use storage_label for your dune path it doesn't work because zappiti changed this name without telling you (most of the time this zappiti name is a mix between the real drive name and uuid).

I don't think that network drives are concerned but you could easily check if you have this dune_folder at the root of your unraid hdd. (even if it's there it's not a problem because you're going to use smb or nfs which doesn't care about the drive name).

Good to know. I just finished mowing the front lawn....I don't think I want to do the back yard....freaking sunny as hell and 97 degress with a nice breeze and bluemoon in hand biggrin.gif I'll give it a shot and try Yadi. I might end up using both jukeboxes cool.gif

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Mede8er Med500x2 High Definition Multimedia Player
Gear in this thread - Med500x2 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off