Makemkv Question - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #31 of 45 Old 07-14-2013, 05:18 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,280
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

Can you re-open a MKV? For whatever reason the BD "Transformers 2" is working from the flat screen. If I could re-open it to see what audio selections I made with that one, perhaps my problem will be solved.

The free "mkvmerge" package will allow you to inspect the file attributes and has a header editor to alter them.

Another utility, "mediainfo" will show the attributes but not alter them.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 45 Old 07-14-2013, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well I have made a discovery. For whatever reason the LG flat screen or the older WD media player has a brain fart when TrueHD is in da room. Kinda like me and breasts.
Anyway, I re-ripped a few without trueHD and all is well. I'm only doing 5.1 in the theater anyway so I can do without the TrueHD for now.

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is online now  
post #33 of 45 Old 07-26-2013, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just had to renew the key on my beta version of MakeMKV. Is there any functional difference between the beta version and the paid version other then getting a forever key?

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is online now  
post #34 of 45 Old 07-26-2013, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Can you place where subtitles go with this software so that they actually appear on the screen rather than below it? I'll have a CIH scope screen.

mijotter is offline  
post #35 of 45 Old 07-27-2013, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

I just had to renew the key on my beta version of MakeMKV. Is there any functional difference between the beta version and the paid version other then getting a forever key?

No

Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Can you place where subtitles go with this software so that they actually appear on the screen rather than below it? I'll have a CIH scope screen.

Subtitle positioning depends on your playback software.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #36 of 45 Old 07-27-2013, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 58
oh ok. What playback software would you recommend then?

mijotter is offline  
post #37 of 45 Old 07-28-2013, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
mjt5282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Old Greenwich, CT, USA
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a 2.35 (CIH) screen, too and use DunePlayer to playback my MKV's (which can vertically shift subtitles), see this thread : http://www.avsforum.com/t/1264144/hdi-dune-will-soon-vertically-shift-subtitles
mjt5282 is offline  
post #38 of 45 Old 07-28-2013, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

No
Subtitle positioning depends on your playback software.

I think the latest beta key is only good till the end of this month. Is there a new key available?

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is online now  
post #39 of 45 Old 07-28-2013, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 58
So there is no way from a HTPC to shift the subtitles?

mijotter is offline  
post #40 of 45 Old 07-29-2013, 02:58 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

So there is no way from a HTPC to shift the subtitles?

There is lots of ways. It depends on the software you are using.

VLC, MPC-HC, XBMC etc can all do it in their own ways. You just need to play around with the options. There is no point in me telling you exactly how to do it because I don't know what res and AR you want to output to your projector.
elario is offline  
post #41 of 45 Old 07-29-2013, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

I think the latest beta key is only good till the end of this month. Is there a new key available?

Makemkv is free while in beta. He supplies a new key each month. Who knows when the beta will end, but it's been in beta for years now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

So there is no way from a HTPC to shift the subtitles?

I can see an option right now in mpc-hc. You will just have to play around with whatever software you want to use. It sounds like you can change vertical position in XBMC. I'm sure you can change position in JRiver too.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #42 of 45 Old 04-10-2015, 09:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 7,327
Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1183 Post(s)
Liked: 1129
I'm trying to collect some demo clips for my theater from my bluray collection. I ultimately wanted to make my own bluray demo disc, but I've never found affordable, reasonably simple software to author a bluray, so I'll be content to play the short demo clips from my HTPC.


I ripped my Brave bluray using makemkv to make a demo clip of the Brave intro where the big bear is introduced, but even when I select 7.1 audio during the makemkv ripping selection, and it seems to rip without error --- then can't seem to get my cyberpower dvd 10 software, nor JRiver to recognize more than 5.1 sound on the this particular rip. My playback software works with other clips I've made and demo discs like the ones that scubasteve, @Jindrak, and @superleo made.





I use tsmuxer to shorten the full rip to a couple minute clip and when I try to load this Brave rip into tsmuxer to make the demo clip I get this error message. I assume this is a problem with the audio track somehow.


Then it appears I'm missing the HD 7.1 track in the list of available audio streams in tsmuxer. I've tried ripping the bluray twice with makemkv -- same problem both times.




Anyone have any suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TSMuxer Error.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	660169   Click image for larger version

Name:	7.1.JPG
Views:	60
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	660177   Click image for larger version

Name:	missing 7.1 track.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	194.6 KB
ID:	660185  

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint

Last edited by Archaea; 04-10-2015 at 09:50 PM.
Archaea is online now  
post #43 of 45 Old 04-10-2015, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 7,327
Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1183 Post(s)
Liked: 1129
hmmm


interesting




I found that I do have the stream for 7.1 that shows up in JRiver in the original rip, but not in Cyberpower DVD.


When tsmuxer is used to make the actual demo clip I no longer have the option in JRiver for 7.1, just regular 5.1. So it appears the problem is two fold.
One - tsmuxer can't utilize the rip, and
Two - PowerDVD can't see the 7.1 stream in the original rip.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is online now  
post #44 of 45 Old Yesterday, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Jindrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Are you using a HTPC for streaming? If so, you will need to configure you base computer's speaker configuration for 7.1 in the system audio settings, then it should allow you to actually use 7.1 I use a HTPC myself and have noticed this. Unfortunately, I can't comment on MakeMKV, I use DvDFab HD. But if you select the 7.1 audio track, it should correctly pull that audio (as long as that is the only track you select) and display it as such.

If one is going to make a simplistic assessment of the value of different alignments, it would be that sealed/IB goes the lowest, at the highest cost per dB; horns have the lowest cost per dB at the expense of size, and vented box characteristics lie in between the other two. None is inherently superior across the board, neither is any inherently inferior across the board. The one to use is the one that fits your response and output needs, available space and bank account. -BFM
Jindrak is offline  
post #45 of 45 Unread Today, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Same here Johny, can't comment on Makemkv, I use Anydvd hd. I have a suggestion for testing purposes, and that is what I do for demos too -- when I cut the clip with TsMuxer I only select the audio track that I want to be the default, in this case the 7.1 audio track. The playing source should be smart enoug to convert it to regular DTS or Dolby or AC3 if the audio stream, for whatever reason, is not supported. By doing this, it also helps to keep the size of the demo clip smaller.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off