Makemkv Question - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 41 Old 07-14-2013, 05:18 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,103
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

Can you re-open a MKV? For whatever reason the BD "Transformers 2" is working from the flat screen. If I could re-open it to see what audio selections I made with that one, perhaps my problem will be solved.

The free "mkvmerge" package will allow you to inspect the file attributes and has a header editor to alter them.

Another utility, "mediainfo" will show the attributes but not alter them.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 41 Old 07-14-2013, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well I have made a discovery. For whatever reason the LG flat screen or the older WD media player has a brain fart when TrueHD is in da room. Kinda like me and breasts.
Anyway, I re-ripped a few without trueHD and all is well. I'm only doing 5.1 in the theater anyway so I can do without the TrueHD for now.

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
post #33 of 41 Old 07-26-2013, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just had to renew the key on my beta version of MakeMKV. Is there any functional difference between the beta version and the paid version other then getting a forever key?

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
post #34 of 41 Old 07-26-2013, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Can you place where subtitles go with this software so that they actually appear on the screen rather than below it? I'll have a CIH scope screen.

mijotter is offline  
post #35 of 41 Old 07-27-2013, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

I just had to renew the key on my beta version of MakeMKV. Is there any functional difference between the beta version and the paid version other then getting a forever key?

No

Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Can you place where subtitles go with this software so that they actually appear on the screen rather than below it? I'll have a CIH scope screen.

Subtitle positioning depends on your playback software.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #36 of 41 Old 07-27-2013, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
oh ok. What playback software would you recommend then?

mijotter is offline  
post #37 of 41 Old 07-28-2013, 03:09 PM
Member
 
mjt5282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Old Greenwich, CT, USA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a 2.35 (CIH) screen, too and use DunePlayer to playback my MKV's (which can vertically shift subtitles), see this thread : http://www.avsforum.com/t/1264144/hdi-dune-will-soon-vertically-shift-subtitles
mjt5282 is online now  
post #38 of 41 Old 07-28-2013, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

No
Subtitle positioning depends on your playback software.

I think the latest beta key is only good till the end of this month. Is there a new key available?

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
post #39 of 41 Old 07-28-2013, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
So there is no way from a HTPC to shift the subtitles?

mijotter is offline  
post #40 of 41 Old 07-29-2013, 02:58 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

So there is no way from a HTPC to shift the subtitles?

There is lots of ways. It depends on the software you are using.

VLC, MPC-HC, XBMC etc can all do it in their own ways. You just need to play around with the options. There is no point in me telling you exactly how to do it because I don't know what res and AR you want to output to your projector.
elario is offline  
post #41 of 41 Old 07-29-2013, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

I think the latest beta key is only good till the end of this month. Is there a new key available?

Makemkv is free while in beta. He supplies a new key each month. Who knows when the beta will end, but it's been in beta for years now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

So there is no way from a HTPC to shift the subtitles?

I can see an option right now in mpc-hc. You will just have to play around with whatever software you want to use. It sounds like you can change vertical position in XBMC. I'm sure you can change position in JRiver too.
lockdown571 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off