Any way to get forced subtitles to work with movie only .iso's - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 07-23-2013, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Here is my ripping process...

1. AnyDVDHD (Full ISO)
2. DVDFab (Movie Only ISO w/ all subtitles selected)
3. Play Movie - Forced subtitles do not work.

How to fix while maintaing uncompressed .iso's?

Fixed in Post #11


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 07-23-2013, 06:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 370
What player are you using.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 07-24-2013, 03:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Why do movie only ISO's ?

MakeMKV does movie only and can rip just forced subs track if you know which one it is or manually set forced subtitle flag in mkv container via mkvmerge.
Alx330 is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 07-26-2013, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
MakeMKV is a compressed formate is it not?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #5 of 26 Old 07-26-2013, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
No it's not, just wraps it in the MKV container.
djc11369 is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 07-26-2013, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

MakeMKV is a compressed formate is it not?

No, MakeMKV is 1:1.
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 07-26-2013, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
What is the easiest way to do this with DVDFab version 9? Any super easy and fool proof way to do it?

I will try when I get home with avengers iso


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #8 of 26 Old 07-26-2013, 10:10 AM
Member
 
thetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There is a single reason to for a movie only iso, to burn to a bdrom and play on a blu-ray player, though not really the theme of this forum smile.gif
thetoad is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 07-26-2013, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I figured out how to do it in ISO format... smile.gif

Thanks for all your help guys


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #10 of 26 Old 07-26-2013, 11:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

I figured out how to do it in ISO format... smile.gif

Thanks for all your help guys

Can you explain how you got them to work? So, for others who might be asking the same question can know how to. Thanks.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 01:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Yes:

Here is my new Blu-Ray ripping process if movie has Forced Subtitles...

1. Run DVDFab 9
2. BD Copy
3. Movie Only
4. Select High Quality Audio and *Flag*
5. Select Forced Subtitle ENG track and *Flag*
6. Rip Movie Only ISO
7. Play on Media Device

Because you flagged the forced subtitle ENG track, the Player should be smart enough to automatically turn on the forced subtitles.


Example:

The Avengers

Subtitle: ENG track 3 is the forced subtitles track

You would Flag this subtitle track and when the movie plays the Device should have the forced subtitles turned on by default.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #12 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 01:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Cool thanks.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

OK, new question....


So I now have my perfect Main Movie Only .ISO with flagged forced Subtitle.

How can I convert to .MKV and maintain Subtitle Flag and High Res Audio Like DTS Master Audio 7.1 channel?

I used MAKEMKV, and it did not keep forced subtitles on, and only left it with the normal DTS track...

I use MKVMerge GUI for that purpose.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
If MakeMKV is 1:1 why are the files sizes different?

.ISO = 32,092,732 KB
.MKV = 31,802,259 KB


Also is mkvmerge the only way to set the forced flag on subtitles?


Can I not have MakeMKV flag the correct subtitle track and have it on by default?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #15 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

If MakeMKV is 1:1 why are the files sizes different?

.ISO = 32,092,732 KB
.MKV = 31,802,259 KB


Also is mkvmerge the only way to set the forced flag on subtitles?


Can I not have MakeMKV flag the correct subtitle track and have it on by default?


1. File structure is different. Plus, if you've selected to only rip the main movie in MKV, all the extra bits of the disc are stripped out - previews, deleted scenes, menus, etc. Nowadays, films come with loads of deleted scenes, and I cannot be bothered with previews. I buy discs, just to watch the f'n show! :P

Furthermore, you may have not selected certain subtitles or audio tracks, as part of the rip. Audio tracks are a bulk of the allocated storage space.

2. You can with 1.8.1 or higher, but doesn't work every time. I prefer MKVmerge.

3. Yes, and see #2.
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
The .ISO was Main Movie Only Already.
I did go back in to make sure everything was selected.

So just different file format then?

where can you get version 2.8.1?

The website makeMKV.com only goes to

1.8.4


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #17 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

The .ISO was Main Movie Only Already.
I did go back in to make sure everything was selected.

So just different file format then?

where can you get version 2.8.1?

The website makeMKV.com only goes to

1.8.4

My apologies, I meant 1.81 or higher.

What did you use to create ISOs?
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
DVDFAB 9


So here is an example:



Everything is selected...

How do I flag the Forced subtitles?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #19 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

The .ISO was Main Movie Only Already.
I did go back in to make sure everything was selected.

So just different file format then?

where can you get version 2.8.1?

The website makeMKV.com only goes to

1.8.4

MakeMKV doesn't have that option.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
.MKV files are much more tedious then just .ISO


Why is it the defacto standard... lol


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #21 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

.MKV files are much more tedious then just .ISO


Why is it the defacto standard... lol

MKV is just as easy as ISO just seems like a steep learning curve. But it offers a lot more value if you use software the flags and tags things correctly then a player that also reads the flags correctly
halfelite is online now  
post #22 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
So now I took my already reduced sized .mkv file and used MKVmerge and set the flag on the forced subtitle track, and it came back even smaller... What the....

.ISO = 32,092,732 KB
.MKV = 31,802,259 KB
.MKV = 31,726,503 KB (Flagged with MKVmerge)


WHY!!!!

Does this not concern anyone?

Or am I being OCD?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #23 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

MKV is just as easy as ISO just seems like a steep learning curve. But it offers a lot more value if you use software the flags and tags things correctly then a player that also reads the flags correctly


Does the oppo 103 support correct flags? That is why I am asking all this, before I buy one.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is online now  
post #24 of 26 Old 07-27-2013, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 09-26-2013, 04:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Sorry, I know this thread is a little stale, but I thought I'd respond for people that stumble over it in searches (like I did.)

MKVs can be smaller for several reasons:
- because the stream headers are removed by certain muxers. This is called "Header Stripping" and can save a little space.
- because the cues and indexes are more compact
- because (lossless) compression can be employed on certain streams (using ZLib compression which is lossless)
- etc.

So, yes, even an MKV remuxed wtih MKVMerge can be smaller than the source even though nothing is removed.
WDFan1970 is online now  
post #26 of 26 Old 03-03-2014, 10:59 PM
Newbie
 
Jerecho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what do you mean you are *flagging*
Jerecho is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off