Newbie----Building System to play Networked Music. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 07-27-2013, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am hoping to purchase a new Audio Receiver that has network capabilities. Any Advice?? Denon or Onkyo?? Looking the $700 to 1000 dollar range.

My other thing I want to do is cd rip my huge collection. I would like to put the music on a external drive like the WD MY BOOK. Not sure if this is the way to go. I want to be able to access the music over the network on my new receiver...the easiest and best way possible.

Not sure what program I am going to use to burn all my cds and would love some peoples input on how to do this the best way.

PLEASE help..I am new to all this and could use the insight.

Thanks

TODD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 07-27-2013, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I can't advise on receiver models. If you want to rip your CDs to an external hard drive, you have the option of streaming your music files over your wireless network or plugging the hard drive into a USB port on the receiver. If you do the latter, be sure your receiver is able to read the hard drives file system (some receivers will read FAT-32 drives but not NTFS). you can easily reformat the hard drive before putting your files in it if you need to.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
post #3 of 12 Old 07-28-2013, 01:36 PM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I'll also add to pbarach's advice by saying that if you choose the network streaming option, you'll most likely need to have a UPnP/DLNA server running on a device on the same network, eg a computer with the external hard drive attached, or a NAS, etc. This is because most of the receivers with streaming capability cannot access network shared folders directly and can only access the music over the network via DLNA.