*Official* Google Chromecast owners thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 663 Old 08-12-2013, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by patseguin View Post

I plugged my Chromecast into the the front HDMI 3 on my Pioneer Receiver and all I get is stereo sound. No surround from Play, Youtube, or Netflix. Is it that the HDMI 3 port doesn't do surround os is the CC junk?


I wasn't aware that you could plug it into a receiver. Just in HDTVs.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 663 Old 08-12-2013, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post


I wasn't aware that you could plug it into a receiver. Just in HDTVs.

It plugs into receivers and works fine.

Onkyo RC-360 with a Chromecast on an HDMI input works great and outputs 5.1 from 5.1 source material.
undecided is offline  
post #33 of 663 Old 08-13-2013, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post

Someone wake me up when I can chromecast from my ipad. So far this thing is a pretty big bummer.
I have to agree with you on that. Maybe someday the iPad will actually become usable.
No chance, unless Apple changes its anal personality.
olyteddy likes this.
Cebolla is offline  
post #34 of 663 Old 08-13-2013, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by patseguin View Post

I plugged my Chromecast into the the front HDMI 3 on my Pioneer Receiver and all I get is stereo sound. No surround from Play, Youtube, or Netflix. Is it that the HDMI 3 port doesn't do surround os is the CC junk?

Btw, YouTube contents are in stereo/2ch pcm. Some of Netflix HD contents (w/5.1) are in 5.1 Dolby Digital Plus, work fine. check out these settings.
avf5 is offline  
post #35 of 663 Old 08-13-2013, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cebolla View Post

No chance, unless Apple changes its anal personality.

well there's always the jailbreak community...
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #36 of 663 Old 08-13-2013, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Drlink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post


I wasn't aware that you could plug it into a receiver. Just in HDTVs.

I can also second full audio and video functionality when plugging the CC into an AV Receiver. I have it plugged into my Sony STR-DN1030 and it works flawlessly.

The only issue I am aware of when plugging into an AV receiver is that if you plug the AC into the receiver, or (as I do) plug into a USB port on the receiver for power, you will lose the "always on" functionality whenever you turn the receiver off.

PSN ID: Kranin
Drlink is offline  
post #37 of 663 Old 08-13-2013, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I was going to get the Chromecast but when I found out it does not have 5Ghz support I passed on it. 2.4Ghz is barely bearable even just streaming low bit rate music I get packet loss only about two meters in the same room as my router as I have over 60 AP's on the overcrowded 2.4Ghz.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim Wired

Cats are the best pets
reddice is offline  
post #38 of 663 Old 08-15-2013, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Drlink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

I have over 60 AP's on the overcrowded 2.4Ghz.

Damn, son! And I thought the airways were clogged at my place!

PSN ID: Kranin
Drlink is offline  
post #39 of 663 Old 08-15-2013, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Well this kinda sucks . . .

I received my Chromecast today. Of the twenty machines I have on my network, not one of them is supported by Chromecast. And, of course, I had to download and install Chrome in order to find that out.

I can't even test the darn thing.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #40 of 663 Old 08-16-2013, 12:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

Well this kinda sucks . . .

I received my Chromecast today. Of the twenty machines I have on my network, not one of them is supported by Chromecast. And, of course, I had to download and install Chrome in order to find that out.

I can't even test the darn thing.

Wow - what do you mean not supported by Chromecast?

All my (Windows) PC can talk to Chromecast although none of them meet the minimum requirements for casting from Chrome https://support.google.com/chromecast/answer/3209990?hl=en

All our mobile devices (Galaxy S3, HTC One, iPhone 4S's, iPads) work very well for YouTube and Netflix.
undecided is offline  
post #41 of 663 Old 08-16-2013, 02:55 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Btw, the Chromecast app got updated to Version: 1.1.2
avf5 is offline  
post #42 of 663 Old 08-16-2013, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi Undecided,
Quote:
Originally Posted by undecided View Post

Wow - what do you mean not supported by Chromecast?
My computers are all Windows XP, Windows Servers (various), and Linux. Once I downloaded Chrome and went to the "http://Google.com/chromecast/setup" page, it told me that the operating system was not supported. But to be fair, the documentation said Windows 7, but I have no Win7.

But what really annoyed me was that it doesn't support iPads, iPods or IPhones, even though it says it supports iOS both in the original online order-form and on the box. I bought it mainly for the iPads.

I will wait a week or two to see if iOS support materializes, and if not, I'll eBay it.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #43 of 663 Old 08-16-2013, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post


I will wait a week or two to see if iOS support materializes, and if not, I'll eBay it.

If you mean casting from an IOS device to the Chromecast my guess is probably not. The minimum specs call for a pretty high end PC today (high quality requires a 2nd-generation Core i5 (2GHz+), 3rd/4th-generation Core i5 processor, or equivalent). For me it wouldn't add much anyway as I have an Apple TV and can mirror or use airplay.

IOS devices can already use the Chromecast apps - YouTube and Netflix today - but hopefully with more coming - which I think is what they mean on the box etc.
Neil S. Bulk likes this.
undecided is offline  
post #44 of 663 Old 08-16-2013, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
SyCoREAPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am disappointed so far. Setup is in-fact easy but was a hassle.


Phone: Bionic
OS: ICS Leak and LS JB

  • LS JB Rom would not let me setup the Chromecast. Booted into Stock, setup worked. Stock would not let me cast, LS JB did. (Apparently a Moto Issue based on searches)
  • Next issue and my biggest complaint. Netflix does not seem to really support 5.1 for Chromecast. The only movie I can get 5.1 with is Hunger Games. All others appear to come in as Stereo.



The Plus-sides:

  • Would ordinarily be super easy to setup.
  • HD Picture quality is superior to PS3 output.
  • Uses next to no power to run.
  • Navigation is easy and quick.
SyCoREAPER is offline  
post #45 of 663 Old 08-16-2013, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drlink View Post

Dang, son! And I thought the airways were clogged at my place!

Here. I have people moving in and out of my block all the time so I keep seeing new AP networks.

I am WiFi_Tony. See why I can only stream on wired or 5Ghz and the only thing I do on 2.4Ghz is print wireless.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim Wired

Cats are the best pets
reddice is offline  
post #46 of 663 Old 08-17-2013, 01:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by SyCoREAPER View Post

Next issue and my biggest complaint. Netflix does not seem to really support 5.1 for Chromecast. The only movie I can get 5.1 with is Hunger Games. All others appear to come in as Stereo.

That seems strange. I get 5.1 with all the same titles I have tried on my Apple TV that get 5.1.
undecided is offline  
post #47 of 663 Old 08-17-2013, 07:14 AM
Newbie
 
SyCoREAPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have any titles you can think off hand that I can test? None of the titles even show 5.1 (in the loading screen next to the HD logo) except previous mentioned Hunger Games.

Interesting. I tried a few other random titles and they have 5.1. Maybe I just never noticed how few movies are in 5.1 on Netflix.
SyCoREAPER is offline  
post #48 of 663 Old 08-19-2013, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeldomSeen31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm just scratching the surface with this little device but so for I like it quite a bit. Netflix casting from my phone (HTC EVO) is a snap. I like how the app on the phone adds volume control.

I used the Chrome browser on my Core i3 Windows 7 machine to cast a Premier League game on Saturday morning from the NBC Sport Live Extra feed. Picture Quality wasn't fantastic, but it was nice enough and had nothing to do with the Chromecast, just the stream from NBC.

If I could get plex to let me add my movie library I could test out casting some of my .mkv blu ray rips.

PSN ID: Seldom_Seen
SeldomSeen31 is offline  
post #49 of 663 Old 08-22-2013, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
jjsink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone plugged the Chromecast into the HDMI port on an LED projector, such as an ACER K-130 or LG PA70g ?
I'm interested in learning if I can then stream Netflix directly to the projector from my phone, tablet or computer without having to contend with the hdmi cables.
I have two on order and am anxious to try this, but I have to wait forever for Amazon.com to get them in and ship them to me.
jjsink is offline  
post #50 of 663 Old 08-23-2013, 10:39 PM
Newbie
 
SyCoREAPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjsink View Post

Has anyone plugged the Chromecast into the HDMI port on an LED projector, such as an ACER K-130 or LG PA70g ?
I'm interested in learning if I can then stream Netflix directly to the projector from my phone, tablet or computer without having to contend with the hdmi cables.
I have two on order and am anxious to try this, but I have to wait forever for Amazon.com to get them in and ship them to me.

As long as your projector has a sound out line and can direct sound from the HDMI input, I don't see why it wouldn't.

On a different note, the Netflix remote is annoying because there is no way to disable it. Not Chromecasts fault but navigation, such as next episode is clumsy. Have to exit remote/Netflix and reopen to get back to the normal interface.
SyCoREAPER is offline  
post #51 of 663 Old 08-24-2013, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
jjsink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply.


I'll find out soon. The Chromecast is supposed to get here Tuesday.
jjsink is offline  
post #52 of 663 Old 08-25-2013, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 264
olyteddy is online now  
post #53 of 663 Old 08-27-2013, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Dave84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Runs very hot and drops WiFi connection, not the router other wireless equpment work fine I've had to do two hard resets so far not sure it's worth it
Dave84 is offline  
post #54 of 663 Old 08-27-2013, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave84 View Post

Runs very hot and drops WiFi connection, not the router other wireless equpment work fine I've had to do two hard resets so far not sure it's worth it

I noticed it runs pretty hot as well. I was told in another thread here 'The aluminum casing acts as a heat sink. Basically, it's designed to get warm'. Anyway I use a USB from my TV to power it - that way it is only when the TV is on and not running (hot) all the time.

I have never had any wireless disconnect issues.
undecided is offline  
post #55 of 663 Old 08-27-2013, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
Vreely's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking into plugging one of these into an older receiver with an HDMI -> optical adapter. This just to get the music off the google play all access, ignoring all video. Does anybody know if this would work?
Vreely is offline  
post #56 of 663 Old 08-28-2013, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Dave84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah, I've since put the Cast power supply on a switched outlet so it's not up all the time and use the HDMI pigtail that came with it to keep some distance from the set. I understand about the heat sink I've just never had equipment plugged into the TV get that hot. Hopefully after this last reset the WiFi will stay connected.



After more problems connecting I talked with CS at Chromecast and found out the problem is with my modem/router and not the CC they were helpful in trouble shooting the problem and the Cast seems to be working fine now.
Dave84 is offline  
post #57 of 663 Old 09-02-2013, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
Steve20R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I got my Chromecast plugged into my Onkyo 5009 in the HDMI PC slot. I feel like the quality of the sound is not there, does anyone know if all HDMI slots are equal, or is there a better HDMI slot to plug into? Also looking for any hints on bringing up the quality of the sound. All my FLAC music is going through my Google music and off of my Nexus 4 to the chromecast.
Steve20R is offline  
post #58 of 663 Old 09-02-2013, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
onsoku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apple app here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id680819774?mt=8

Robert Chatman II
onsoku is offline  
post #59 of 663 Old 09-03-2013, 01:21 AM
Member
 
REVNU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my CC hooked up to the HDMI 3 slot of my Marantz SR4002 (tried HDMI 1 and 2) as well, but cannot get 5.1. I'm guessing it's because my receiver does not decode/support DD+?

It plays at 2CH PCM on everything I've tried and there is no option for 5.1 on any of the movies I've tried so far.

Anyone have a list of movies they've successfully streamed from their phone, tablet or PC that they've been able to get 5.1 on?

So far I'm really liking my CC, saves me from having to turn on my personal space heater (PS3). tongue.gif

Thanks!

~ REVNU
REVNU is offline  
post #60 of 663 Old 09-03-2013, 09:28 AM
Newbie
 
mjgraves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We've had Chromecast for about a month. We've mostly used it to watch Netflix streams to our admittedly older 42" Sharp Aquos. We don't use any kind of surround audio. We just use the speakers built into the HDTV. Our initial experience with Chromecast was very bad because of the dialogue track seems to be missing. To hear the dialogue we must turn the volume up a lot. Then when the music/effects return it's intolerably loud.

I've spent some time in an IM session with Netflix support but they are unable to offer any guidance. They do say that some content includes 5.1 stream and a stereo down-mix, but the availability of surround varies by title. Everything should include a stereo stream.

We're using our Android devices to invoke the Netflix streams. I've put some notes/thoughts about this online on my blog.

http://www.mgraves.org/2013/09/chromecast-in-da-house/

Does anyone here have any guidance to offer?

Michael Graves
mjgraves is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Google Chromecast Hdmi Streaming Media Player , Logitech Harmony 650 Remote Silver



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off