*Official* Google Chromecast owners thread - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 53
To add, I will probably be adding an access point in the cabinet behind one of our TVs in order to better provide some coverage for WiFi out on the patio (using Sonos and other automation apps on tablets/phones). I'll be tuning it's channel and signal strength power to avoid other networks and keep the signal reduced. It may be that you'd benefit from the same thing. A cheapie router, perhaps capable of running dd-wrt, and configured just as an access point (no DHCP running on it) would probably work. That and you'd get a couple of extra wired ports in the process.

It's unlikely you'd exceed even 100mb network requirements most of the time. Besides, your ISP uplink and local WiFi speed is the deciding factor if you're streaming. So having a full gigE connection is kinda not as important as you might guess.
HopefulFred likes this.
wkearney99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Can I assume that any cheap router can be configured that way? (I understand a particular linux firmware may not work on just any router)

Thanks for your help!
HopefulFred is online now  
post #573 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Most can, but finding one capable of running a 3rd party firmware usually means there's a community of users that may already have done a lot with it. As in, the vendor might say it's possible, but the user community has learned otherwise... I'm not up on which ones are best lately. My plan is to just recycle one of my other units for the task. Dumb it down to not act as a router.

I probably won't even use the WAN port for the uplink to the rest of my network, just one of the four switch ports. This further reduces the dependency on using the software in the router to do anything.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #574 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Leave your router alone and add a wireless extender. This one is inexpensive and simple to set up in extender mode. I have my entire house covered now. As always, being wireless, you have to try a number of different placements to find your optimum coverage for the most important devices you want covered.
Gary J is offline  
post #575 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
chromasuns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I had the same issues with chromecast and spoke with google support as well.  They are only supported for I believe up to 10-15 ft from router.  I've resolved to just use the chromecast on the tv near the router - because that's sadly the only place it works reliably.  I've considered a range extender but haven't tested anything like that yet.

chromasuns is offline  
post #576 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 187
I went ahead and bought an additional router. I got it set as an access point - so now it broadcasts it's own new SSID from behind the TV. Using the laptop to run the Chromecast setup app to change the network assignment and password on the Chromecast went super smoothly. I've just resumed some playback from Plex, which would not last more than about 25 minutes before. So far so good...

If it doesn't work, I'll still probably use the router as access point in the basement... the $40 for a new Belkin N300 won't be wasted.

Edit: good news is the signal is reliable and the connection is stable. I've had to turn down the bit-rate to keep the stream smooth, but it still looks good enough for the purpose.

Thanks for the help, Bill.
HopefulFred is online now  
post #577 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Just wait if Google is smart enough to release a Chromecast 2.0 with 5 ghz support. I had to disconnect my Chromecast because it only runs on 2.4 ghz and I have over 70 other networks in my area. That is why I stream everything wired or on 5 ghz. The only thing I do on 2.4 ghz is print.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #578 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Leave your router alone and add a wireless extender. This one is inexpensive and simple to set up in extender mode. I have my entire house covered now. As always, being wireless, you have to try a number of different placements to find your optimum coverage for the most important devices you want covered.

The problem with wireless extenders is they essentially cut the bandwidth in half. That and they introduce another hop of latency, a bad thing if you're a gamer. It's wireless to the extender and then wireless again to the router. Running a wire to a known good location is usually just not that much work (or expense to pay a cabling tech to do it for you).

The same is true of powerline extenders. Another level of latency, but at least it's not as bad as double the wireless consumption.

That said, that Almond is a clever looking little beastie. But the reviews for it elsewhere don't really seem to support it being all that great of a performer, certainly not for the additional price and rather odd touchscreen on it. Were it capable of running, say, android or chumby-like apps, maybe. But then there's only 2 wired ports on it? So it's less ports, less speed, more money and an app-less touchscreen. Can't say I'm sold on that.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #579 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 187
My location isn't so congested. My PC picks up ten broadcast SSIDs - three of them are mine (main, guest, and this new one). Of the others, probably only one would be strong enough to even get anything done on it. So, if I find myself in the market for a new Chromecast (which I easily could), I'll be interested to try a 5GHz option, but it doesn't look like I need it.
HopefulFred is online now  
post #580 of 624 Old 05-27-2014, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 86
On my laptop I get the same speed and response wireless to the repeater or wired. You have to have a pretty bad network to have a hop matter. I simply don't notice or care about an extra millisec or two. I am more interested in all of my Chromecasts, wireless security cams and iPads working everywhere.
Gary J is offline  
post #581 of 624 Old 05-31-2014, 02:52 AM
Senior Member
 
uncola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I couldn't get Plex to work on my android phone until I switched the phone from 5ghz to 2.4ghz wifi. Very strange. Once I did that, playback was smooth on the phone and also using the phone to cast to my chromecast. Before when I was using 5ghz wifi on my phone, neither would work

Gear list: Main setup - Kef Q900, Svs sb12-nsd subwoofer, onkyo 609 receiver, epson 8350 projector, elitescreens sable 92" screen, mac mini htpc
bedroom setup: PSB Image B5, maverick tubemagic a1 amplifier, hifimediy sabre9023 dac, ZMF Fostex T50RP modded headphones
preordered gear: Light Harmonic Geek Pulse X dac and headphone amp
uncola is offline  
post #582 of 624 Old 06-03-2014, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 108
WatchESPN and MLS Matchday apps now streaming as well as Google+. http://chrome.blogspot.com/2014/06/gooooooaal-chromecast-scores-watchespn.html?m=1

Watch ABC and Watch Disney are coming soon. There are well over 200 apps now that support Chromecast. Remember all those discussions I had with people who said it would never be opened up for other apps....
jprc is offline  
post #583 of 624 Old 06-03-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Good more apps but I really hope they announce a new Chromecast with dual band WiFi later this month. Some people like me can't stream high demand video or even low bit rate audio on 2.4ghz.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #584 of 624 Old 06-05-2014, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
hyperactiveme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprc View Post

WatchESPN and MLS Matchday apps now streaming as well as Google+. http://chrome.blogspot.com/2014/06/gooooooaal-chromecast-scores-watchespn.html?m=1

Watch ABC and Watch Disney are coming soon. There are well over 200 apps now that support Chromecast. Remember all those discussions I had with people who said it would never be opened up for other apps....

I hope they stream without having to login. I cut the cord.
hyperactiveme is offline  
post #585 of 624 Old 06-09-2014, 04:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Just picked up one of this to replace a crappy Minix X5 (stay away from that company!)...so happy to have a product that doesn't lock up every other day! Hopefully I can get justintv to work with it so that I can catch some of the 24 hour of Le Mans! Just got the thing Friday, so still trying to figure what I can and can't get with it.
bac522 is offline  
post #586 of 624 Old 06-12-2014, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 3,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Though I have actually tried building a Chromecast app I did notice that Google Play Services do not require the Google API just the Android API. So I want to correct what I said about requirements and indeed the examples for Chromecast only require the Android API to build. That would mean that Amazon could build an app for Chromecast but I doubt that they will.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #587 of 624 Old 06-20-2014, 07:59 AM
Member
 
toke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Netflix's support claims that their app for ChromeCast support 23.976Hz and Google's support's "specialist for ChromeCast" claimed that CC's hdmi-output also supports 23.976Hz.
I'm in a bit of disbelief, because of all complaints all over the net.
Can anybody confirm these allegations true or false?

(Posted also here: Best possible Netflix streaming device )

Last edited by toke; 06-20-2014 at 08:57 AM.
toke is offline  
post #588 of 624 Old 06-20-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I thought I got 60hz out of my Chromecast when playing via Netflix app - but will test out for you later
markabuckley is online now  
post #589 of 624 Old 06-20-2014, 09:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
fahrenheit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by toke View Post
.
Can anybody confirm these allegations true or false?
I've never seen any evidence of this. Perhaps I'm just not playing the right content, but I somehow doubt it...
fahrenheit is offline  
post #590 of 624 Old 06-20-2014, 11:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by toke View Post
Netflix's support claims that their app for ChromeCast support 23.976Hz and Google's support's "specialist for ChromeCast" claimed that CC's hdmi-output also supports 23.976Hz.
I'm in a bit of disbelief, because of all complaints all over the net.
Can anybody confirm these allegations true or false?

(Posted also here: Best possible Netflix streaming device )

When I had my Chromecast connected it definitely only supported 60P output.

I haven't used for around 2 months so I suppose it could have changed - but I doubt it.
undecided is offline  
post #591 of 624 Old 06-22-2014, 11:57 AM
Member
 
toke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now GooglePlay's Finnish (I'm in Finland) support tells me, that the chromecast specialist can't check if 23.976Hz output really does work with Netflix, because the specialist is located in US!
Oh boy, google has grown too big. Somebody who doesn't understand what I'm asking, is deciding if I should get an answer or not...
toke is offline  
post #592 of 624 Old 06-22-2014, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by toke View Post
Now GooglePlay's Finnish (I'm in Finland) support tells me, that the chromecast specialist can't check if 23.976Hz output really does work with Netflix, because the specialist is located in US!
Oh boy, google has grown too big. Somebody who doesn't understand what I'm asking, is deciding if I should get an answer or not...
Majority of the Netflix content is sourced in 24P (in the US and elsewhere) - so yeah their response that someone in the US can't check makes no sense.

I have Netflix players in the US that can output 24P for 24P Netflix content - unfortunately last time I checked the Chromecast wasn't one of them.

Now if it was it might reclaim one of the HDMI spots on my receiver....
undecided is offline  
post #593 of 624 Old 06-23-2014, 04:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 86
HDMI switchers are cheap and effective. Plus the ease of casting a web page for all to see is quite convenient.
Gary J is offline  
post #594 of 624 Old 06-23-2014, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
HDMI switchers are cheap and effective.
Maybe - but for now my Chromecast can't do anything that my currently connected devices can do - so no point adding an HDMI switch for no gain.
undecided is offline  
post #595 of 624 Old 06-23-2014, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 86
How do you cast a web page?
Gary J is offline  
post #596 of 624 Old 06-23-2014, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
How do you cast a web page?
Don't want to - if I want to look at a web page I'll use a tablet, phone or PC (I could mirror to my Apple TV as well - but as I say don't really see the need).
undecided is offline  
post #597 of 624 Old 06-23-2014, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Ok well I think many people like to throw up a Youtube for others to see in about 2 seconds flat for example. I have a number of ways to do that too but not without jumping through a bunch more hoops. But whatever - I'm glad I have mine available.
Gary J is offline  
post #598 of 624 Old 06-25-2014, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Some good chromecast developments announced at Google I/O today. The two biggest ones are being able to mirror your android device and being able to cast from a device that is not on the same network (can be opted out by user if you don't want this and requires an onscreen code to be input). There's also some less important stuff like personalizing the background pictures.

Edit: Just thought I'd add that they said they now have over 6000 registered developers and 10,000 Chromecast apps in development.

Last edited by jprc; 06-25-2014 at 08:30 PM.
jprc is offline  
post #599 of 624 Old 06-26-2014, 03:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 86
They also announced a STB like they tried once before. I am not sure why since there are so many and the Chromecast has been well received.
Gary J is offline  
post #600 of 624 Old 06-26-2014, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 43
No new dual band Chromecast. Too bad. I can't use the Chromecast as the 2.4ghz network in my area is crushed with over 70 other networks.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Google Chromecast Hdmi Streaming Media Player , Logitech Harmony 650 Remote Silver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off