*Official* Google Chromecast owners thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 633 Old 09-07-2014, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,025
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkfloydhomer View Post
Is there a way to use Chromecast as an wireless digital audio source for my surround receiver?

Preferably:

- without having to turn on the tv, instead being controlled from a computer, tablet or phone.
- the music files themselves being stored on a local NAS or a local share from a computer etc.
- with the ability to play at least lossless 44.1 KHz 16-bit but preferably lossless 192 KHz 24-bit.
The answer to #1 is yes. In fact, you MUST use Chromecast this way. There is no remote control, or way to control it, except via apps on other devices.
#2 : Sort of. If you use a quasi proprietary DLNA server that has a dedicated special client app that is Chromecast friendly. (Plex is often mentioned.)
#3 : I don't know, since I don't have an app like alluded to in #2 , and none of the movie services are streaming high res soundtracks.

____________________

Build Thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nathan_h is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 633 Old 09-17-2014, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Slingbox support for Chromecast. http://blog.sling.com/2014/09/17/chr...g-has-arrived/
I know people had asked about this before.
jprc is offline  
post #633 of 633 Old Yesterday, 07:48 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My three Chromecasts worked fine in different corners of the house for over a year. Then my router died and the new Comcast Arris wireless gateway didn't have the range to reach two of them, although iPad and iPhones worked throughout the house. I returned it and Comcast gave me a Technicolor gateway, and everything works fine now. Hope this might help fellow owners.
dfp is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Google Chromecast Hdmi Streaming Media Player , Logitech Harmony 650 Remote Silver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off