*Official* Google Chromecast owners thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 07:45 AM
Member
 
brianmlamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Hoping someone might be able to help me with this issue. I've been having issues getting my chromecast to send a 5.1 Dolby Digital+ signal to my AVR (Denon 2112ci) while using google play's app on my iphone 6. I bought a few movies from the google play store that support 5.1 (Interstellar, Hunger Games) and can't get dolby digital + to play, just stereo.

I did some troubleshooting and reset the chromecast to factory settings and re-setup everything. I was able to get DD+ to work with the Netflix app from my iphone to the chromecast so I know there's no issue with my gear, it's something with google play. Is there a setting in google play or any suggestions anyone can give me on how to get the play movies to output DD+ as well? i tried going through all the menus and didn't see any options other than subtitles regarding audio or video quality.

Appreciate your input.
brianmlamb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmlamb View Post
Hoping someone might be able to help me with this issue. I've been having issues getting my chromecast to send a 5.1 Dolby Digital+ signal to my AVR (Denon 2112ci) while using google play's app on my iphone 6. I bought a few movies from the google play store that support 5.1 (Interstellar, Hunger Games) and can't get dolby digital + to play, just stereo.

I did some troubleshooting and reset the chromecast to factory settings and re-setup everything. I was able to get DD+ to work with the Netflix app from my iphone to the chromecast so I know there's no issue with my gear, it's something with google play. Is there a setting in google play or any suggestions anyone can give me on how to get the play movies to output DD+ as well? i tried going through all the menus and didn't see any options other than subtitles regarding audio or video quality.

Appreciate your input.
Have you tried playing the movies on another device you know supports 5.1?
xnamkcor is offline  
post #753 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 08:14 AM
Member
 
brianmlamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnamkcor View Post
Have you tried playing the movies on another device you know supports 5.1?
I can get 5.1 DD+ on the chromecast with the netflix app, just not with google play.

I can also get 5.1 DD+ on my PS3 for netflix, but the PS3 doesn't have a google play app to try.

I was going to try using the cast feature on my PC instead of the iphone when I got home tonight, but I don't see why it would matter because the iphone isn't playing anything, it's just functioning as the remote for the app on the chromecast itself.
brianmlamb is offline  
post #754 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmlamb View Post
I can get 5.1 DD+ on the chromecast with the netflix app, just not with google play.

I can also get 5.1 DD+ on my PS3 for netflix, but the PS3 doesn't have a google play app to try.
I thought we were troubleshooting Google Play. Does Netflix play your Google Play movies?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmlamb View Post
I don't see why it would matter
Establishing a baseline for functionality. If 5.1 never works, it'd be silly to assume it works on something.

PS: Which HDMI port is your Chromecast attached to? Are you using ARC?
xnamkcor is offline  
post #755 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 08:52 AM
Member
 
brianmlamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnamkcor View Post
I thought we were troubleshooting Google Play. Does Netflix play your Google Play movies?



Establishing a baseline for functionality. If 5.1 never works, it'd be silly to assume it works on something.

PS: Which HDMI port is your Chromecast attached to? Are you using ARC?
I see what you're referring to. I was only mentioning Netflix because I know my receiver and the chromecast are both able to support 5.1 showing that it's an issue only with the google play source.

I'll definitely try using my PC to start the movie when I get home this evening to test as you suggested.

I have it plugged directly into my Denon AVR (2112ci). I've tried 3 different HDMI ports on my receiver (DVD, Sat/cable, and Game1). All work fine for everything except the play store for passing through audio correctly.

Thanks for your help.

*EDIT*

Google support suggested the following, I'll update tonight after getting a chance to try:

Please try the following troubleshooting steps: (remember to test the sound after each step)
Use the back arrow to go back to the main menu, then try playing the movie again.
Check that the Wi-Fi connection is strong (streaming playback using cellular data is not supported at this time).
Turn off Wi-Fi on your device, then turn it back on again.

Please try downloading the video to your device to see if the issue still occurs. To do so:
Open the Google Play Movies & TV app.
Touch the download icon on iOS.
Once your video has been saved to your device, it will display a red checkmark.
Sign out of the app (go to Menu > Settings [gear icon] > Sign out), then sign in again. This clears the data cache.
Uninstall the app, then reinstall it. This clears the app’s data cache and image cache.

Should all these steps not help, you may want to try and play the movie through the YouTube app and see if you are able to control more audio options:
Open the YouTube app.
Touch the Menu button at the top left (3 lines).
You will see a tab marked 'Purchases'.
Touch Purchases and here you will see your movie library.
Try playing movies from here and see if you can adjust the audio

Last edited by brianmlamb; 04-29-2015 at 11:01 AM.
brianmlamb is offline  
post #756 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Neil S. Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Google Play does not support Dolby Digital+.

Google Play Movies uses HE-AAC. When playing a movie from them with the Chromecast, the device should decode that and send out a 5.1 PCM signal. That's how my system handles it.

Neil
Neil S. Bulk is offline  
post #757 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 07:12 PM
Member
 
brianmlamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil S. Bulk View Post
Google Play does not support Dolby Digital+.

Google Play Movies uses HE-AAC. When playing a movie from them with the Chromecast, the device should decode that and send out a 5.1 PCM signal. That's how my system handles it.

Neil
I've never heard of HE-AAC. Maybe my receiver doesn't support it =(. How do you get the 5.1 PCM signal to show up?

Tried casting interstellar from the youtube app on my phone, reinstalling the play app, and using my home PC to cast and wasn't able to get 5.1 to work at all. I've only got the options: Stereo, Multi in, Multi Ch Stereo, virtual, and direct. Multi in seems like it might be somewhat surround soundish as does direct, but I have to turn the volume up to almost reference level (0) to hear the dialogue while it makes the subs super loud. No issues with any of my other sources from cable to netflix to bluray.
brianmlamb is offline  
post #758 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Neil S. Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
You won't get it "casting" from YouTube. Use the Google Play Movies app and "cast" from that.

Neil
Neil S. Bulk is offline  
post #759 of 773 Old 04-29-2015, 08:19 PM
Member
 
brianmlamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil S. Bulk View Post
You won't get it "casting" from YouTube. Use the Google Play Movies app and "cast" from that.

Neil
That was what I was originally using and had issues with. The Google play app won't pass through a decent audio signal. Even stereo it's pretty poor and difficult to hear. I used youtube as an alternative to cast per the suggestion of the google tech support. Appreciate the help troubleshooting.
brianmlamb is offline  
post #760 of 773 Old 05-03-2015, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
Michael Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What is the best cast player for chromecast?
Michael Tan is offline  
post #761 of 773 Old 05-03-2015, 10:01 AM
Member
 
9512tacoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In my opinion All Cast is the best
9512tacoma is offline  
post #762 of 773 Old 07-03-2015, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I've had Chromecast since it came out. It does some things perfectly (youtube, HBO-Go etc.) It even casts Chrome Browser tabs pretty well.
I do have lots of trouble when I run Xfinity Tv Go from a tab. It plays pretty well on the PC, but breaks up and disconnects often when I try to play from Chrome tab on PC.
Wifi in our bldg is superfast (200Mbps up/down).

any ideas? My guess is it's a problem w. the Comcast (xfinity) app.
snidely is online now  
post #763 of 773 Old 07-03-2015, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I've had Chromecast since it came out. It does some things perfectly (youtube, HBO-Go etc.) It even casts Chrome Browser tabs pretty well.
I do have lots of trouble when I run Xfinity Tv Go from a tab. It plays pretty well on the PC, but breaks up and disconnects often when I try to play from Chrome tab on PC.
Wifi in our bldg is superfast (200Mbps up/down).

any ideas? My guess is it's a problem w. the Comcast (xfinity) app.
snidely is online now  
post #764 of 773 Old 07-03-2015, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
gvardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
I've had Chromecast since it came out. It does some things perfectly (youtube, HBO-Go etc.) It even casts Chrome Browser tabs pretty well.
I do have lots of trouble when I run Xfinity Tv Go from a tab. It plays pretty well on the PC, but breaks up and disconnects often when I try to play from Chrome tab on PC.
Wifi in our bldg is superfast (200Mbps up/down).

any ideas? My guess is it's a problem w. the Comcast (xfinity) app.
Have you tried decreasing the bitrate of the cast ? This will allow you to differentiate if it's a problem with your Wifi and/or the Xfinity app.

Regards,
Pedro
gvardian is offline  
post #765 of 773 Old 07-03-2015, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 21
does anyone else have youtube issues with their Chromecasts ?

presuming its a recent update to the youtube app on my phone

but I play a video , then select another one while its playing

and .... it restarts the first video

2nd time it always goes to the next video

but about 90% of the time now - it replays the currently playing video instead of the one selected

any ideas please ? its very annoying - sure it didn't do it before
markabuckley is online now  
post #766 of 773 Old 07-03-2015, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Anybody here using the Google "Cast Screen" beta with phone or tablet>

For almost a year, Google has enabled several cell phones (maybe 20 models) and some tablets to have the ability to cast ANY screen that appears on their device. (Those souls stuck in the Apple eco system can't use this feature with their devices - but Google says that may come.)
Seems to work pretty well. I'm using an S4. I only discovered this "beta" a few months ago. Just load the Chromecast app on your device and select the "Cast Screen" option.
Excellent video quality.
snidely is online now  
post #767 of 773 Old 07-03-2015, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post
does anyone else have youtube issues with their Chromecasts ?

presuming its a recent update to the youtube app on my phone

but I play a video , then select another one while its playing

and .... it restarts the first video
I noticed for the first time yesterday that YouTube restarted the ad before the first video I picked every time I added a video to the playlist - about three times before the ad could play. I assume it's the app as well.
HopefulFred is online now  
post #768 of 773 Old 07-03-2015, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
For almost a year, Google has enabled several cell phones (maybe 20 models) and some tablets to have the ability to cast ANY screen that appears on their device.
I haven't tried it, but as with the nexus 6 I looked at while at Best Buy yesterday, it's built into my Moto G (2nd gen). It's right in the pull down menu, along with the rotate settings, airplane mode, etc. I assumed that as with tab casting the source device has to do all the heavy lifting and that my Moto G wouldn't be up to it. I may try it...
HopefulFred is online now  
post #769 of 773 Old 07-03-2015, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by HopefulFred View Post
I haven't tried it, but as with the nexus 6 I looked at while at Best Buy yesterday, it's built into my Moto G (2nd gen). It's right in the pull down menu, along with the rotate settings, airplane mode, etc. I assumed that as with tab casting the source device has to do all the heavy lifting and that my Moto G wouldn't be up to it. I may try it...
That's odd. While the Nexus 6 is on the list, no Moto phones are. They do say other phones "may" work if they have OS 4.4.2 or above. https://support.google.com/chromecas.../6059461?hl=en
snidely is online now  
post #770 of 773 Old Yesterday, 10:10 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
For almost a year, Google has enabled several cell phones (maybe 20 models) and some tablets to have the ability to cast ANY screen that appears on their device. (Those souls stuck in the Apple eco system can't use this feature with their devices - but Google says that may come.)
Seems to work pretty well. I'm using an S4. I only discovered this "beta" a few months ago. Just load the Chromecast app on your device and select the "Cast Screen" option.
Excellent video quality.
My daughter and her husband have been using it on their older Samsung phones (on the list) for over a year. They say it works great. So much so that they always used it, forgetting about using the chromecast icon embedded in CC compatible apps.
dfp is offline  
post #771 of 773 Old Yesterday, 10:31 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post
does anyone else have youtube issues with their Chromecasts ?

presuming its a recent update to the youtube app on my phone

but I play a video , then select another one while its playing

and .... it restarts the first video

2nd time it always goes to the next video

but about 90% of the time now - it replays the currently playing video instead of the one selected

any ideas please ? its very annoying - sure it didn't do it before
It could be this:

http://betanews.com/2015/06/29/chrom...d-breaks-apps/
dfp is offline  
post #772 of 773 Old Today, 12:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well that explains my current issue
NotEZBGreen is offline  
post #773 of 773 Old Today, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Neil S. Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
This could explain the Google Play Music issue I was having where music was playing on my computer and Chromecast simultaneously. After one track the music would stop and I'd get a warning about it playing on two devices. Others had this issue, too. I removed the Play Music extension on my computer and that fixed it.

Neil
Neil S. Bulk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Google Chromecast Hdmi Streaming Media Player , Logitech Harmony 650 Remote Silver



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off