*Official* Google Chromecast owners thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 901 Old 10-01-2015, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 120
For those of you who missed the announcement the other day from Google, there is a lot of new Chromecast news.

There is the new redesigned Chromecast that will have 5Ghz Wifi (hopefully, that will stop the endless repeated posts that all say the same thing from a certain user here): http://www.google.com/chromecast/tv/
There is also the new Chromecast Audio: http://www.google.com/chromecast/speakers/
There are also a new Chromecast app and new features and new app compatibility (I heard Spotify works now but I didn't check yet myself): http://chrome.blogspot.com/2015/09/h...ecast-lot.html

There are other things but I don't have time to look it all up to make sure I get it right, so you can just do a search if you want more news.
jprc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 901 Old 10-02-2015, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 60
i have the following set up:

iPad
tv with HDMI input

I want to do the following:

Cast a WatchESPN football game to my TV while at the same time, watching a different football game on my iPad via the same WatchESPN app.

I know I can cast a game, then flip over to a different app like YouTube/Netflix and watch THAT on my iPad, but if I go back to WatchESPN and wish to watch a different game, then the game I was casting gets changed to the new selection..

Is this a limitation of the device/app, or is there a workaround I can try?
Any and all assistance is greatly appreciated

thank you
billmich is offline  
post #813 of 901 Old 10-02-2015, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,630
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 109
I have the Ethernet adapter AC plug for the current Chromecast. I wonder if it would work on the newer Chromecast? I will try it out when I get the new Chromecast and let you know.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.3-138 K26ARM USB AIO-64K.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Apple TV (4th Gen), Fire TV (2nd Gen), PS4 (1st Gen), TiVo Roamio OTA.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #814 of 901 Old 10-02-2015, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 60
i have the following set up:

iPad
tv with HDMI input

I want to do the following:

Cast a WatchESPN football game to my TV while at the same time, watching a different football game on my iPad via the same WatchESPN app.

I know I can cast a game, then flip over to a different app like YouTube/Netflix and watch THAT on my iPad, but if I go back to WatchESPN and wish to watch a different game, then the game I was casting gets changed to the new selection..

Is this a limitation of the device/app, or is there a workaround I can try?
Any and all assistance is greatly appreciated

thank you
billmich is offline  
post #815 of 901 Old 10-02-2015, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by billmich View Post
i have the following set up:

iPad
tv with HDMI input

I want to do the following:

Cast a WatchESPN football game to my TV while at the same time, watching a different football game on my iPad via the same WatchESPN app.

I know I can cast a game, then flip over to a different app like YouTube/Netflix and watch THAT on my iPad, but if I go back to WatchESPN and wish to watch a different game, then the game I was casting gets changed to the new selection..

Is this a limitation of the device/app, or is there a workaround I can try?
Any and all assistance is greatly appreciated

thank you
Since the app is being used to control the playback on the Chromecast, you would need to use a different device. However, there is one thing you could try that *may* trick it into working the way you want. This will depend on how the app is written and I don't have an ESPN account to try your situation myself. I also only Android devices so don't know if this is different on a iPad.

What you can try is casting from the iPad, then, without disconnecting, reboot your iPad. Then open the app again and don't reconnect to Chromecast and you may be able to watch something else. This works on some apps on Android devices. It depends on whether the app is written to automatically disconnect from CC and/or automatically stop playback when the phone/device is rebooted. Some are and some aren't so you will have to just try it. Otherwise, you can't do it.
jprc is offline  
post #816 of 901 Old 10-02-2015, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprc View Post
Since the app is being used to control the playback on the Chromecast, you would need to use a different device. However, there is one thing you could try that *may* trick it into working the way you want. This will depend on how the app is written and I don't have an ESPN account to try your situation myself. I also only Android devices so don't know if this is different on a iPad.

What you can try is casting from the iPad, then, without disconnecting, reboot your iPad. Then open the app again and don't reconnect to Chromecast and you may be able to watch something else. This works on some apps on Android devices. It depends on whether the app is written to automatically disconnect from CC and/or automatically stop playback when the phone/device is rebooted. Some are and some aren't so you will have to just try it. Otherwise, you can't do it.
thanks a bunch, I will test that out tonight.
billmich is offline  
post #817 of 901 Old 10-02-2015, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
I have the Ethernet adapter AC plug for the current Chromecast. I wonder if it would work on the newer Chromecast? I will try it out when I get the new Chromecast and let you know.
Yes. https://twitter.com/googlecast/statu...62389283614722
jprc is offline  
post #818 of 901 Old 10-02-2015, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,630
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 109
The Ethernet adapter works with the Chromecast but first I had to connect it using the adapter and set it up on the computer. My phone and tablet could not find it. Then I was able to connect it using the Ethernet adapter once it was set up.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.3-138 K26ARM USB AIO-64K.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Apple TV (4th Gen), Fire TV (2nd Gen), PS4 (1st Gen), TiVo Roamio OTA.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #819 of 901 Old 10-04-2015, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Anybody have Chromecast ver. 2.0 yet?
snidely is offline  
post #820 of 901 Old 10-04-2015, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
Anybody have Chromecast ver. 2.0 yet?
There's a few reviews/unboxings of it on YouTube.
maddog510 is online now  
post #821 of 901 Old 10-05-2015, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 6,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Reading through the Google pages about Chromecast Audio, it looks like they are taking a queue from other manufacturers of lifestyle devices and not telling you many tech specs...

...or at least I am not finding whether it can stream local content (from a media server) losslessly via the digital output -- and, if so, what the max bit depth and sample rate supported are.

I realize this could be app dependent, in which case, I am further unclear which apps I might rely on.

____________________

Current theater & gear: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is offline  
post #822 of 901 Old 10-05-2015, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprc View Post
Since the app is being used to control the playback on the Chromecast, you would need to use a different device. However, there is one thing you could try that *may* trick it into working the way you want. This will depend on how the app is written and I don't have an ESPN account to try your situation myself. I also only Android devices so don't know if this is different on a iPad.

What you can try is casting from the iPad, then, without disconnecting, reboot your iPad. Then open the app again and don't reconnect to Chromecast and you may be able to watch something else. This works on some apps on Android devices. It depends on whether the app is written to automatically disconnect from CC and/or automatically stop playback when the phone/device is rebooted. Some are and some aren't so you will have to just try it. Otherwise, you can't do it.
I can confirm that this "trick" does indeed work on all my devices
iPhone 6
Iphone 4s
and iPad 2

thank you
billmich is offline  
post #823 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
jer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Chromecast 2 is a winner. I purchased one to replace a Fire TV Stick that I loathed. The casting is much faster and more stable. I connected it directly to my 5GHz network with no problems. I'm looking forward to the iOS Chromecast app that will help you find content to watch. For $35, Chromecast 2 is tough to beat. Kudos to Google for not raising the price like the new Apple TV and Roku.
reddice and Montucky like this.
jer88 is offline  
post #824 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,630
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 109
I sent back the Fire TV Stick it was horrible and slow. I do like the new Chromecast as it has 5ghz support so no need for a wired connection so I connected my old signal band Chromecast to the living room TV using the Ethernet adapter.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.3-138 K26ARM USB AIO-64K.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Apple TV (4th Gen), Fire TV (2nd Gen), PS4 (1st Gen), TiVo Roamio OTA.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #825 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
eecubed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Reading through the Google pages about Chromecast Audio, it looks like they are taking a queue from other manufacturers of lifestyle devices and not telling you many tech specs...

...or at least I am not finding whether it can stream local content (from a media server) losslessly via the digital output -- and, if so, what the max bit depth and sample rate supported are.

I realize this could be app dependent, in which case, I am further unclear which apps I might rely on.
https://support.google.com/chromecas...037-2003841817

Chromecast Audio will support 24-bit/96KHZ

It's up to the app if it can stream local content or not. Otherwise, you're looking at streaming from the Internet from any supported music locker or subscription music service app.

veni, vidi, vici
You can't understand something until you can measure it with numbers.
eecubed is offline  
post #826 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 6,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Very cool. Now I just need to find a dlna player app that casts from an iOS device but then does a direction connection with my local server.
nathan_h is offline  
post #827 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 04:55 PM
Member
 
9512tacoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Try Allcast it works on my iPhone and can cast from my nas/Dlna server


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
9512tacoma is offline  
post #828 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Reading through the Google pages about Chromecast Audio, it looks like they are taking a queue from other manufacturers of lifestyle devices and not telling you many tech specs...

...or at least I am not finding whether it can stream local content (from a media server) losslessly via the digital output -- and, if so, what the max bit depth and sample rate supported are.

I realize this could be app dependent, in which case, I am further unclear which apps I might rely on.
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/queue

https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/cue

Also, the Hardware, except for the WiFi module, is almost the same. Ethernet Adapter does work, but if you don't have severe EMI and Dual Band AC, you should be getting the same or better speeds then 100mbps anyway.
xnamkcor is offline  
post #829 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 6,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9512tacoma View Post
Try Allcast it works on my iPhone and can cast from my nas/Dlna server


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks. I need to experiment more. So far it only lets me cast what is on my phone.
nathan_h is offline  
post #830 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 6,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 400
My favorite pedant.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	129
Size:	149.9 KB
ID:	980585  
nathan_h is offline  
post #831 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 07:58 PM
Member
 
9512tacoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Nathan _h I did pay the $5 premium not sure that is required to use with a NAS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
9512tacoma is offline  
post #832 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
My favorite pedant.
I read that as "Pendant", and I thought you were talking about the Chromecast.
xnamkcor is offline  
post #833 of 901 Old 10-06-2015, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 6,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9512tacoma View Post
Nathan _h I did pay the $5 premium not sure that is required to use with a NAS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
While i didnt see that function listed it may well be there. Thanks. It would be worth five bucks
nathan_h is offline  
post #834 of 901 Old 10-07-2015, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
eecubed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some more info on the Chromecast hardware.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/9688/g...-dual-cortexa7
http://ifixit.org/blog/7431/chromecast-2015-audio/

AKM AK4430 192kHz 24-Bit Stereo DAC

veni, vidi, vici
You can't understand something until you can measure it with numbers.

Last edited by eecubed; 10-08-2015 at 08:53 AM.
eecubed is offline  
post #835 of 901 Old 10-07-2015, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Neil S. Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
It's disappointing that none of the new streamers from Roku, Amazon, Google or Apple support 24p. I won't be upgrading.

Neil
Neil S. Bulk is offline  
post #836 of 901 Old 10-07-2015, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil S. Bulk View Post
It's disappointing that none of the new streamers from Roku, Amazon, Google or Apple support 24p. I won't be upgrading.

Neil
http://www.aftvnews.com/fire-os-5-adds-partial-24p-25p-30p-video-support-to-the-amazon-fire-tv/
xnamkcor is offline  
post #837 of 901 Old 10-07-2015, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Very cool. Now I just need to find a dlna player app that casts from an iOS device but then does a direction connection with my local server.
Have you looked at Plex? I know a Plex server can function as a DLNA server and the Plex app (which is a paid app) can cast from the server. But I don't have the iOS app, only Android, so you should check whether this is true for iOS before paying any money or going to any trouble setting up your Plex server.
jprc is offline  
post #838 of 901 Old 10-07-2015, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 6,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 400
That's a good idea. Now that you mention it, I have a license for another server (Twonky) that has an iOS app too and I should try that. Thanks.

UPDATE: Twonky can "beam" to many renderers including Apple TV's, Roku's, and some others. But does not support Chromecast.

Last edited by nathan_h; 10-08-2015 at 07:18 AM.
nathan_h is offline  
post #839 of 901 Old 10-07-2015, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
dmarqueset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
Anybody have Chromecast ver. 2.0 yet?
Just picked it up yesterday. Liking it so far.
dmarqueset is offline  
post #840 of 901 Old 10-07-2015, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarqueset View Post
Just picked it up yesterday. Liking it so far.
Why should I "upgrade"? What does it have that ver 1 doesn't?
snidely is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Google Chromecast Hdmi Streaming Media Player , Logitech Harmony 650 Remote Silver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off