Would it be a good idea? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 08-07-2013, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I am thinking of selling / trade my Dune TV303D for an Intel NUC. I really like the XBMC set up, and I also like the idea of using WMC for my wife's TV Shows on HULU. However, I am not sure if this would be a wise move? Anyone? Suggestions?

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 08-07-2013, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
As long as your willing to take the time to set it up and do some tweaking on off for a month to get it just right I see no downside.
halfelite is online now  
post #3 of 20 Old 08-07-2013, 11:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Time...I've got the time...money, my future wife is taking it all preparing for the wedding...I don't really like the sound of tweaking for a month lol.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 12:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Tweaking might be the wrong word. Playback should run great, it comes down to the nitty gritty details of which views do you like best how do you like the menu items to look and function. Do you want external players or use built in xbmc player. It just adds layers that can be fine tuned over time. fresh on the box you can hit the ground running and be playing your media.
halfelite is online now  
post #5 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Confluence Customize Mod helps keep things nice and simple,, the CCM skin allows to remove anything you find unnecessary from the stock XBMC skin so you can hide away add-ons, programs music, pictures anything you don't want.

I've never tried it but the PlayOn UPNP server supports Hulu so you could install that in the background and add the UPnP server into XBMC, wouldn't have to go through another interface assuming it works.

If you have another windows PC on the network to run PlayOn then you could ditch windows on the Intel nuc entirely and just use Openelec OS which only runs XBMC nothing else.
Alx330 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sean Spamilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I am thinking of selling / trade my Dune TV303D for an Intel NUC. I really like the XBMC set up, and I also like the idea of using WMC for my wife's TV Shows on HULU. However, I am not sure if this would be a wise move? Anyone? Suggestions?

I'm all about XBMC. I've tried all the others, and think ( at least in my humble opinion ) it's the best. My music and movie library have never looked better - seriously - it's got the best looking GUI going. It might take you some trial and error to get it where you want it to be - but it's well worth it. I use the " Transparency " skin - and think it looks great!

Sean Spamilton is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

Tweaking might be the wrong word. Playback should run great, it comes down to the nitty gritty details of which views do you like best how do you like the menu items to look and function. Do you want external players or use built in xbmc player. It just adds layers that can be fine tuned over time. fresh on the box you can hit the ground running and be playing your media.

What do you mean by external / internal? I've got a Win7 PC and laptop. I would really like to not have another PC on if possible. I've got all of my media in an Unraid server. I also want to ask, if I decide to use XBMC for music do I have to have the TV on? Is there any way to control it from an iDevice?

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I just saw that newegg has the i5 CPU NUC on sale for $379.99.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

What do you mean by external / internal? I've got a Win7 PC and laptop. I would really like to not have another PC on if possible. I've got all of my media in an Unraid server. I also want to ask, if I decide to use XBMC for music do I have to have the TV on? Is there any way to control it from an iDevice?

I mean there is a built in player on xbmc its PQ quality is not = to that of your dune model, Yet if you tell xbmc to launch something like mpc-hc with madvr you will have amazing PQ quality. Now some people will not notice a difference in the PQ from the internal xbmc player. as I said xbmc out of the box works great there is just so many layers
halfelite is online now  
post #10 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

I mean there is a built in player on xbmc its PQ quality is not = to that of your dune model, Yet if you tell xbmc to launch something like mpc-hc with madvr you will have amazing PQ quality. Now some people will not notice a difference in the PQ from the internal xbmc player. as I said xbmc out of the box works great there is just so many layers

I see what you mean. Well, I am pretty picky about my picture and sound quality. So, I would like to be the best as possible or at least equal to my Dune. I'm going to try and sell my Dune TV303D, and give the Intel NUC a try. If it works, I'm probably going to sell my Dune D1 as well.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I also want to ask, if I decide to use XBMC for music do I have to have the TV on? NO.

Is there any way to control it from an iDevice? YES, as long as you have XBMC running, to sync with the remote software. (see below)

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Official_XBMC_Remote/iOS
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I see what you mean. Well, I am pretty picky about my picture and sound quality. So, I would like to be the best as possible or at least equal to my Dune. I'm going to try and sell my Dune TV303D, and give the Intel NUC a try. If it works, I'm probably going to sell my Dune D1 as well.

Using xbmc with mpchc as external player and a bunch of filters correctly tweaked gives you a PQ light years from a dune. IMO it's the best pq you could have even compared to high end players like the oppo. There's no comparison.

Why not testing it ? If you have a pc, just install xbmc, start tweaking it (there are thousands of forum pages full of tutorials) and see if you like it. If you have an iDevice just use the official xbmc app, or one of the mqny others available, and you won't even need a remote.

Xbmc correctly set up is a beast. But you have to know where you want to go because there's so much information about it that you can easily be lost...
Mr Eric is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

Using xbmc with mpchc as external player and a bunch of filters correctly tweaked gives you a PQ light years from a dune. IMO it's the best pq you could have even compared to high end players like the oppo. There's no comparison.

I 100% agree with this the only downside to it is. it takes a lot of cpu power im not sure a NUC could handle mpc-hc with madvr on full settings

But I will say the NUC still has issues with 23.976 it will repeat a frame about every 40 seconds so might see some judder not sure this is fixed or not.
halfelite is online now  
post #14 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I'm thinking of giving it a try with my PC. Hopefully, I won't have too many issues.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I'm thinking of giving it a try with my PC. Hopefully, I won't have too many issues.

my suggestion is dont sale the 303d to pay for it yet. if you are going to buy the the intel nuc buy it then test it out first
halfelite is online now  
post #16 of 20 Old 08-08-2013, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

my suggestion is dont sale the 303d to pay for it yet. if you are going to buy the the intel nuc buy it then test it out first

I'm going to test it out with my Win7 PC first and see how that works out first.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 08-09-2013, 12:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I just saw that newegg has the i5 CPU NUC on sale for $379.99.

You don't need an i5. My i3 NUC handles pretty well anything under XBMC ( running under win8). It took a while to finally silence it as the NUC units do have fans and I'd imagine the i5 would generate even more heat than the i3 unless they are using their newer processors. In addition to $380 you will need an mSata SSD, ram and OS so you are getting up there in price. Really nice once you set it up. XBMC is great though it is not the most user friendly thing around. Just never seems to be consistent. Once you are used to it then nothing beats it, but it's not totally wife friendly.

The NUC running XBMC under win8 is as close as you can get to a complete solution for streaming and local playback. I only wish it had no fan.

Philip
pmcd is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 08-09-2013, 01:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

I 100% agree with this the only downside to it is. it takes a lot of cpu power im not sure a NUC could handle mpc-hc with madvr on full settings

But I will say the NUC still has issues with 23.976 it will repeat a frame about every 40 seconds so might see some judder not sure this is fixed or not.

Indeed, not sure that the HD4000 could do madvr+lav+reclock plus other filters easily even with a i5 behind. Anyway, the few tests I've ran on my ****** E6300 + GT620 PC with basic filters (but correctly tweaked) already gives a much better PQ than my Smart (at least in HD, for SD i think I would need another PC biggrin.gif)

I thought that the 23.976 problem could be solved using reclock and/or autofrequency ? Am i wrong ?
Mr Eric is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 08-09-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
It can be even more so then you are doing 100% software decoding but once you do I think you lose bitstream of audio and have to use waspi PCM out
halfelite is online now  
post #20 of 20 Old 08-09-2013, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Yeah, my wife said that I am banned from hanging out at AVS Forum, Polk Club, Audioholics and any other forum that give me the idea to spend money lol eek.gif

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Tv303d Wifi 3d Streamer
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off