Fixing Subtitles on BD Rips for HTPC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2013, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey all-

I just finished ripping my BD collection to a server to stream throughout the house.

I realized in watching Iron Man, that I messed up ripping the subtitles somehow. I used MakeMKV, and while the subtitles turn on and off if I wish, the english translation (I guess forced subtitles) of the foreign language are not present.

Can I re-rip just the subtitle stream and somehow add that into my existing MKV of the movie, or do I need to re-rip?

Thanks!

Charlie

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2013, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie97L View Post

Hey all-

I just finished ripping my BD collection to a server to stream throughout the house.

I realized in watching Iron Man, that I messed up ripping the subtitles somehow. I used MakeMKV, and while the subtitles turn on and off if I wish, the english translation (I guess forced subtitles) of the foreign language are not present.

Can I re-rip just the subtitle stream and somehow add that into my existing MKV of the movie, or do I need to re-rip?

Thanks!

Charlie

This is an issue with forced subs. As long as you ripped the subs there's a quick and easy fix:

Download and install MKVMerge.
Open MKVMerge
Under the file menu, open the Header Editor
Drag your MKV file into the Header Editor Window
You should see all the audio and sub streams listed.
Select the stream you want to make sure plays, and set the forced and default options to ON.
Save, takes a few seconds to save the changes to the file

I use this with foreign films as well, I just set the default eng subs and the default lang for the movie to default and on.

End result is that XBMC, the Dune players with the forced sub patch, and the PCH players will show the sub track you set as default with the players sub settings defaulted to off. WAF was very high with this one.
GusGus748s likes this.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
Old 08-18-2013, 04:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

This is an issue with forced subs. As long as you ripped the subs there's a quick and easy fix:

Download and install MKVMerge.
Open MKVMerge
Under the file menu, open the Header Editor
Drag your MKV file into the Header Editor Window
You should see all the audio and sub streams listed.
Select the stream you want to make sure plays, and set the forced and default options to ON.
Save, takes a few seconds to save the changes to the file

I use this with foreign films as well, I just set the default eng subs and the default lang for the movie to default and on.

End result is that XBMC, the Dune players with the forced sub patch, and the PCH players will show the sub track you set as default with the players sub settings defaulted to off. WAF was very high with this one.

+1

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
Old 08-18-2013, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, If the forced stream is missing, my only recourse really is to do a complete re-rip?

If so, it's not a big deal, I can figure out which of my disks need it.

Also having some issues with DVD forced, but from my research that seems to just be an issues. District 9 and DaVinci Code don't seem to have a solution.

Thanks!

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
Old 08-20-2013, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie97L View Post

So, If the forced stream is missing, my only recourse really is to do a complete re-rip?

If so, it's not a big deal, I can figure out which of my disks need it.

Also having some issues with DVD forced, but from my research that seems to just be an issues. District 9 and DaVinci Code don't seem to have a solution.

Thanks!

Yes, you'll need to rerip.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the confirmation!

I think for the forced subs on DVD i'll just have to download them for select titles.

Thanks! Now to go through my blurays and figure out which have subs. UGH.

I"ve already seen the google doc about it, but it's not totally comprehensive.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off