Enjoy your music on a Dune with Dune Music Manager (DMM) - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 228 Old 12-05-2013, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by denass View Post

I am looking to rip all my cd's to hdd and use this program to play them
just a three of questions
What is the best freeware to rip the cd's
What is the best format for quality eg mp3 etc that will play fine on my dunes
What kb/sec should I expect
I am thinking of a small monitor to run from the dune or reciever like a picture frame lcd I have
thanks for any help and thoughts
I dont' know about freeware. I am using dbpoweramp to convert CDs into highest quality FLAC files to play on Dune player.
sukumar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 228 Old 12-05-2013, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does flac files play on most devices too
just learning about the audio thing now
thanks:D

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #93 of 228 Old 12-05-2013, 11:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukumar View Post

...
1. To show more meta data about each track. I think once Dune starts playing, you may not have control and not sure if it is possible to show on TV screen. I believe I saw only following meta data from Dune but need to verify again.
one of the artist
name of song or track
year
file name
It would help to see all artists, album artist, composer as well.

2. When I select artist, template is only showing 3 or 4 alubms on TV screens. Then I have to move the remote arrow button to see more of the albums by the artist. However, I have more space on TV screen to show all of albums by the artist. May be I need to play with other templates. Not sure if any of the template already supports it. It should be customizable for number of albums
Hi Sukumar

1. DMM cannot control what the Dune shows on TV, so I'm afraid for TV playback that's the way it is. In the WebApp I added much more information, basically the ones you mentioned. In the future I'll add in the webapp the possibility to see detailed info of a song without actually playing it

2. This depends on the template you've chosen at it is anyway fully customisable. It depends also if you want to give space for the background (with the artist picture) or for the albums (if you often have artists with many albums). Tell me what you'd like to have (number of albums, background picture Y/N, template you prefer) and I'll send you a modified version that fits your needs. You can also experience template editing yourself if you want. Keep just in mind that currently, to save disk space, DMM uses only one size for the covers. It means that if you make covers smaller/bigger on one page the same cover size will be used wherever album covers are displayed

Alberto
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #94 of 228 Old 12-06-2013, 12:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by denass View Post

I am looking to rip all my cd's to hdd and use this program to play them
just a three of questions
What is the best freeware to rip the cd's
What is the best format for quality eg mp3 etc that will play fine on my dunes
What kb/sec should I expect
I am thinking of a small monitor to run from the dune or reciever like a picture frame lcd I have
thanks for any help and thoughts

Well, 3 questions ... many possible answers smile.gif

I'm a basic user. I use iTunes to organise my library (plus mp3tag or mediamonkey to adjust tags). I use iTunes to rip my CD but I could also have used Mediamonkey, Windows Media Player, VLC, Sony MediaGo, ...
I use mp3 because my kids also have mp3 players and didn't want to double encode.

format, quality, bitrate is often a choice you have to make as a compromise between quality and space. The dune plays pretty much all common formats
Al
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #95 of 228 Old 12-06-2013, 01:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I would have plenty of space and would like best quality as I have a high end system to play on.
Which file system would give the best quality
thanks

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #96 of 228 Old 12-06-2013, 01:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 33
FLAC (lossless) would be the best. Most CD rippers are able to output FLAC and dunes can play it. I used dbpoweramp CD ripper in the past and was quite happy with it.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #97 of 228 Old 12-06-2013, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pstrisik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I also use dbPowerAmp. It doesn't cost much and it's worth it. Makes ripping almost a one click operation. Configurable for folder and file naming format, scrapes, pretty fast. Also has a batch conversion module for converting files already on your disk (e.g., from wav to flac).

I also use flac. Most players handle it fine. My Dune and my Cambridge Audio streamers both do. Come to think of it, even my Sony BDP will play/stream them.

.
. . . . . . . . . . . Peter

pstrisik is offline  
post #98 of 228 Old 12-06-2013, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks guys thats how I am going to do lossless flac
Have heaps of cd's in the cupboard and will be great to get them onto a drive.
I will now how to figure away to not have my projector not going and use some type of monitor etc to see to be able to use the dune and audio wall:D

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #99 of 228 Old 12-08-2013, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I wish to create a hard drive for just cd music
Can this program do that as I dont use a network
I have 3 dune players and wish to use the CD hdd in any by just putting it in any of them and play.
thanks

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #100 of 228 Old 12-09-2013, 02:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Sure you can use locally attached disks
Just separate music and DMM Menu folders. If the drive is attached to your PC as D:\ you can have, for example,

D:\Music for your music library
D:\DMM for your menus. If a menu is called MyMenu you'll then have a folder D:\DMM\MyMenu

Of course pay attention to the dune path to your HDD. If the label of your HDD (as seen on the PC) is, e.g. HD_Music, you can use the following dune path to the music library (connection type = local)

storage_label://HD_Music/Music
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #101 of 228 Old 12-09-2013, 03:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thankyou
I have started tonite ripping my Cd's and will give it ago:D

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #102 of 228 Old 12-09-2013, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am sorry but dont understand the Dune path thing
Do I have to name the hdd
At the moment it is F drive in my computer
I have in that drive
MUSIC folder with all my music in it
DMM folder with MyMenu Folder inside that
thanks

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #103 of 228 Old 12-09-2013, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 33
yes you have to name your drive. It's easier then to use this name for the dune path. On your PC just right click on the drive letter/properties and then enter any name you want in the empty field on the first tab.

After use this name to create the dune path like Alberto explained just before.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #104 of 228 Old 12-09-2013, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am sorry still having problems getting it going properly on the Dune Player
I installed the plugin and it installed properly
I put the zipped folder on a stick--I didnt unzip it and it said it worked
I tried the dune and selected the usb input with the usb hdd
I renamed the hdd to HD_Music as was told

When I go to the dune usb I see the 3 folders
DMM
MUSIC
MYMENU

I dont get any video wall pictures just folders for the cd's with cd tracks inside

I just brought up MENU INFO
MENU EXPORT FOLDER is F:\MyMenu
MUSIC SCAN FOLDER is F:\Music
DUNE MUSIC FOLDER is F:\Music

DUNE PATH TO MUSIC FOLDER
is
storage_label://HD_Music/Music


thanks

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #105 of 228 Old 12-09-2013, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Which folder are you opening on your dune ?

MyMenu ?
Mr Eric is offline  
post #106 of 228 Old 12-09-2013, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
if MENU EXPORT FOLDER is F:\MyMenu

then your actual menu is within F:\MyMenu with the name you gave to the menu. If name is also MyMenu then you'll have

F:\MyMenu\MyMenu

DMM folder is probably empty. Initially I thought you'd have called your menu MyMenu and use f:\DMM as MENU EXPORT FOLDER. Don't worry it isn't mandatory to do so.

If you browse your usb storage and enter the MyMenu, you'll see the DMM logo (the red note) with the name MyMenu underneath. This is the Music Jukebox.

Feel free to send me an email to albertocasale@yahoo.com as it will probably more effective to provide help
denass likes this.
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #107 of 228 Old 12-09-2013, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thankyou
have sent you an email
And thankyou MrEric for trying too
You have helped alot this year on different projects I have had and very much been appreciated:)

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #108 of 228 Old 12-10-2013, 01:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by otreblaelasac View Post

Sure you can use locally attached disks
Just separate music and DMM Menu folders. If the drive is attached to your PC as D:\ you can have, for example,

D:\Music for your music library
D:\DMM for your menus. If a menu is called MyMenu you'll then have a folder D:\DMM\MyMenu

Of course pay attention to the dune path to your HDD. If the label of your HDD (as seen on the PC) is, e.g. HD_Music, you can use the following dune path to the music library (connection type = local)

storage_label://HD_Music/Music

Hi Alberto
I did not export the menu.That's why nothing came up
Its working now
It looks great and love it already

Thankyou,thankyou very impressed Its just what I wanted

Now to play:D

Dennis

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #109 of 228 Old 12-13-2013, 04:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Alberto
Just wondering if it is possible for the following

The pictures in the video wall could be in a cd case like Dune Explorer has dvd/bluray cases--just makes things a little nicer

Under each pic in the video wall could there be text of the name of the cd/album as its named
I like this in Dune Explorer and many cd covers you cant read what the cd/album is

Is it possible down the track to have simple play list of order to play things

Very much liking your program but havent had much time to play with of late

Thanks:D

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #110 of 228 Old 12-13-2013, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hi Denass,

I downloaded Dune Explorer 2.2 and got the icons it uses. Definitely possible, I'll make it an option
Having the album title below the cover as we have the artist/genre name below the picture is also in my TODO list for next release

I don't quite get your point when you say "Is it possible down the track to have simple play list of order to play things". Could you clarify ?
Alberto
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #111 of 228 Old 12-13-2013, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
thxjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've finally got a new tablet and have been playing with the latest version of DMM and it is a work of art!

Using it with BABACHAN's DMC is a real joy and it makes my Dune look beautiful at last (also got yaDIS running on it too)

Looking forward to any new features and as always THANKS for all your hard work on this great program Al smile.gif
thxjay is offline  
post #112 of 228 Old 12-13-2013, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I don't quite get your point when you say "Is it possible down the track to have simple play list of order to play things". Could you clarify ?
Alberto[/quote]

I was thinking being able to create CUSTOM PLAYLIST or RANDOM playing
IT means being able to select different tracks/albums to play in a selected order
I once had a pioneer cd player that had a cartridge that you could put in up to 6 discs in
Then you could via menu pick which tracks to play in what order you wished and could be in any order on any disc
It remembered that order when you put in that particular cartridge
It was a great system to use as you could program the songs you wanted for a party or mood--better still you could eliminate songs you didnt like
Random would play anything in any order of all your library--I think dune has that feature not sure tho just fleetingly seen something--could be wrong

With play list could be a drop down box you just drag in what you want to play and it would play those in that order
Would be great for a evenings entertainment without having to go up to the player regularly

I tried a computer monitor tonite instead of using the projector
It had DVI connection so put on a dvi to hdmi connector
It wouldnt bring up the menu from the dune only from my preamp
This is because the dune outputs 1080p and dvi doesnt support that as a copy protection thing so would need a hdmi monitor
I was hoping to have a very small monitor/tv
That might have to come down the track
Out in the tv room works great thru the dune there

Its great your thinking about the cd cover thing in the movie wall and its possible and great if under each cover is the name you used for that item
Dune explorer has that on the media wall
If there is not enough room for all the type it scrolls when you select that cover
This I missed with Yadis
take care
Dennis

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #113 of 228 Old 12-13-2013, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Dennis

Custom playlists is also on schedule for next release. A playlist will be statically created on the DMM PC app, of course, not on the dune itself.
That will actually create a "custom album" that is shown and behaves as any other album but has user selected (cover, title, list of songs).
As far as a "shuffle mode" is concerned, this is possible on the dune (press ENTER + 7 on the remote control). It is also possible using the DMM web app.

On top of "custom albums" i.e. playlists, next release will also have "Selections". A selection is a collection of albums, artists, genres that gets a name and a cover. Eventually it behaves as a "custom genre" that ends up having a user selected set of albums.
denass likes this.
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #114 of 228 Old 12-13-2013, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This all sounds great
Its really good now and looking forward to learning and doing more with it
Its working great with uncompressed Flacs @ 1400kb/s
I am using usb external drive into the dune
If you do custom menu's down the track they can be in their own folder to play--this is fantastic option to have
You create it on the PC and then its done to play as you require
Its turning into a brilliant software for cd playing on Dunes
thanks

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #115 of 228 Old 12-16-2013, 12:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Having received questions about that, I wrote a small doc explaining the differences between DMC (Android app to view any Dune jukebox) and the DMM webapp (described in detail in already existing user manual).
This document explains also the basic steps to configure DMC.

the doc is here :https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4iojcaq6drtgky8/M3etcLv-L1/Dune_Music_Manager/User_Manuals

Hoping you'll find it useful
Alberto
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #116 of 228 Old 12-16-2013, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi Alberto
Have been playing with the program and think its great for music
I found when searching manually thru cd covers that they are very small on on the Computer
Maybe if they were quite abit bigger would be great to search thru
Its not on the video wall but where you search on google etc to find covers
If the type on the cover is small its near impossible to read on 22" pc monitor.
Some covers are very similar by an artist making it harder to pick one
Just a thought
Dennis

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #117 of 228 Old 12-16-2013, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Dennis,

you could use a "Filter".
On the toolbar on the top right part of the screen you have a dropdown list button called "Filter". Depending on the section you're in (Artists, Albums, Genres) you can filter differently. For Artists you also have a "Search For" where you can enter a text and DMM will show you only the artists whose name partially matches the text you entered. I might extend this search capability to Albums as well.

One of the filter turns also the images ON/OFF

Let me know if you think that other searching/filtering features are required to manage big databases
Alberto
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #118 of 228 Old 12-16-2013, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thankyou
Will have a play

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #119 of 228 Old 12-19-2013, 12:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
otreblaelasac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I think I already mentioned this Dune bug but it is worth repeating

If you encounter an "Error: format not supported" while playing a mp3 file that plays well outside of a DMM menu you might have stumbled in a mysterious bug about embedded images.

When a music file has a cover image embedded in the tags that is > ~600KB (irrespective of the pixel resolution), the Dune isn't capable of playing it when it is launched by an application (media_url in a dune_folder.txt or IP control).

The solution is to
  • 1st test that you are in this case by checking the tags and making a test with a smaller or no image for a given file
  • extract a cover from the tag and save it in the album folder as folder.jpg
  • remove all fat images or compress them
otreblaelasac is offline  
post #120 of 228 Old 12-21-2013, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi Alberto
Finally got the system up and running.
I have a 18.5" tv to use as a monitor instead of having to switch on the projector.
I played this afternoon with playing some cd files thru my dune.
Worked well.
It would be great if in the search album section the cd covers could be set to 2 covers across to make them much bigger and easier to read on a small screen
Maybe it could be an option to have different sizes
Really liking the playing system and will make some custom play lists
Thanks for a great program

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Netgear Ntv550
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off