Is there anything like (Slingbox satellite receiver) out there? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-08-2013, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krayyem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have experienced Slingbox solo from an overseas source for more then a year (Yes, the Slingbox Solo was up about 18 months!) and it was OK.

Now, My slingbox is kinda old and I got a fiber connection back home (I can stream with up to 40mb upload speed).

So, I'm looking for something like slingbox and have a satellite receiver at the same time (instead of running two devices and cooling them for tens of months!)

I have seen some of the google TVs with a HDMI input, does these devices streams over the internet to another google tv?

Thanks..
krayyem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-08-2013, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Dish network offers a satellite receiver with built in sling box.
audvid is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-08-2013, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krayyem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks audvid, may you provide the model number or a link please.
krayyem is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-08-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 359

It is called Hopper w/sling.  The original hopper did not have it built in, the new model does.  They also have a Sling adapter, which I have, but not sure if it is still available.  cost was $99 and it connects via USB to hopper, or ViP series boxes to sling enable them.

primetimeguy is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-08-2013, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krayyem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool! does this model is sticked to dish network channels =, or can be used with other FTA channels?
krayyem is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-08-2013, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by krayyem View Post

Cool! does this model is sticked to dish network channels =, or can be used with other FTA channels?

 

Dishnetwork or OTA channels, not FTA.  So anything you can receive with the Dish receiver you can sling.

primetimeguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off