CAT5e Vs HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-10-2013, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mpek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Folks --

For my new home, I am opting to run video over CAT5E cables as opposed to HDMI in a multi-room setup. Wondering, if its a good idea to begin with ? Do you guys see any future limitations, issues or concerns with this approach ?

Any feedback would be much appreciated !!!

Cheers

Mayur
mpek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-10-2013, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
I don't think there are any TV's or AVR that do video/audio via ethernet cable nor any TV's for that matter. However, I might be wrong and that could be very expensive.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-10-2013, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
khiem27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
khiem27 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-10-2013, 06:13 PM
Member
 
stangdriverdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I would run cat 6 instead. For long runs cat 6 and HDMI baluns will be your best bet.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 4
stangdriverdoug is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-10-2013, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
chucky08016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpek View Post

Hello Folks --

For my new home, I am opting to run video over CAT5E cables as opposed to HDMI in a multi-room setup. Wondering, if its a good idea to begin with ? Do you guys see any future limitations, issues or concerns with this approach ?

Any feedback would be much appreciated !!!

Cheers

Mayur

You'll be fine and probably the best way to run your A/V solutions through walls and long distances. Just make sure to run CAT6 vs CAT5E just in case to avoid any transmission issue and to future proof. I use HDMI baluns in my bedroom and theater via CAT6 and all work flawlessly including 3D. I've also setup a trio of HDMI baluns behind my best friend's flat panel TV also via CAT6 but the cable runs were just over 100' each and again everything performed flawlessly.

Here's the HDMI baluns I used...

LINK: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10425&cs_id=1042501&p_id=8008&seq=1&format=2
chucky08016 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-16-2013, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mpek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Appreciate all the responses and suggestions well noted !!!

Cheers to you all ...
mpek is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Siig Inc Hdmi Over Cat5e Transceiver , Iogear Cat5e 6 Extender

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off