Dune - Blu-Ray - HDMI - TV Sound Problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-12-2013, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wcndave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When playing a blu-ray rip with DTS sound straight to TV with HDMI, the speech element is silent. I get music and sound effects, however no speech.

I have tried setting the Dune to both PCM downmix and original bitstream output, no joy.

It's odd because other media that is in 5.1 surround is fine.

If I turn on the AV receiver which is connected with digital coax, then it plays fine whether the AVR is set to dolby pro-logic or dts input.

However I don't always want to turn on the Stereo to watch TV...

I am also not sure if it's a problem with the Dune (given it works to stero, seems unlikely), the TV (Brand new samsung 6500 so should manage anything), or the cable...

Any ideas would be very helpful!
wcndave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wcndave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any ideas, it's really annoying the wife that she can't watch any movies that have DTS only, and can't watch any that have DTS + other audio tracks without calling me up so I can explain how to select audio track that will work...
wcndave is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wcndave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually not only DTS, it's also on "Dolby EN Multichannel" on a number of discs... basically the choices seem to be:

1. always use amp and surround sound for films
2. go into the dune settings and change between PCM downmix and original bitstream as I need.

Neither are really acceptable - I would have thought a modern "smart TV" would downmix multi-channel sound?
wcndave is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by wcndave View Post

Actually not only DTS, it's also on "Dolby EN Multichannel" on a number of discs... basically the choices seem to be:

1. always use amp and surround sound for films
2. go into the dune settings and change between PCM downmix and original bitstream as I need.

Neither are really acceptable - I would have thought a modern "smart TV" would downmix multi-channel sound?

A modern Smart TV will decode Dolby Surround SRS at best, not 5.1 or DTS. You will need the AVR to decode multi-channel / HD sound.
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Does the Dune have a setting to make it send audio based on handshake? It should, I know they do for video output.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
What Model Dune do you have? The Dune Smart Series will downmix HD sound tracks so the TV can play them correctly. The new 3D capable media player will not do that.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wcndave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Dune Max.

In Audio, you can select PCM downmix, or original bitstream.

My Digital Coax out is going to my AVR, which is fine when I am in "cinema" feeling.

However for just switching on and watching something, it's the HDMI to the TV that is carrying the signal direct.

I really don't want to swtich on the amp to watch TV... It would be better if the Dune downmixed the HDMI output and left the coax in original bitstream...

I am not sure where I would find a handshake type setting.
wcndave is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wcndave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried setting the output back to PCM to check, and I see that on my AVR the digital now comes through as stereo only.

There is one setting for audio over HDMI which is set to "on"
one setting for digital out, which is "on"

I don't see anyway to set hdmi to downmix and digital coax to original bitstream.
wcndave is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Any time you're mixing outputs, there's bound to be issues. There's certainly no way to have one digital output doing one thing and another digital output something else.

Best advice is to update to an HDMI processor with pass-through options, so when you shut it off the TV takes over and handshakes for stereo PCM. That's by far the most common approach these days.
Some TVs offer the option of combining one HDMI input for video and a different analog or digital input for audio. If the player outputs stereo analog, that would be a possible option.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-17-2013, 04:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wcndave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Best advice is to update to an HDMI processor with pass-through options, so when you shut it off the TV takes over and handshakes for stereo PCM.

Thanks for your response. Few questions.

Update what to an HDMI processor? Do you mean the AVR?
The TV would handshake with the Media player? As far as I know the Dune has no handshaking ability, you have to select one thing or another. Maybe that is the crux, that you have to select what you want when you want it, in which case perhaps a shortcut is in order...

Also the TV is advertised thusly, so not sure how it can do 5.1 anyway... but it is certainly confusing...


wcndave is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off