Why do my home movies on bluray look better than the same home movies on hard drive? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-14-2013, 12:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
msedaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For years now, I've been downloading my Canon AVCHD home movie footage to Final Cut Pro (first 7, now X) and then burning the resulting project to Bluray via Final Cut's "Share" command. The resulting blurays looked stunning. As of late, however, I have been moving from burning to bluray to burning to hard drive (for an XBMC home media server) and the resulting footage is always, for lack of a better term, muddy. Does anyone know how I can retain the crisp high-def look I see on the blurays? Any help appreciated!!!
msedaka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-14-2013, 01:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 208
What are you playing them on? The files should be identical assuming you rendered them to the same coded and spec.
olyteddy is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-14-2013, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Very likely, they're being compressed onto the drive.
L33TX43RT is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-14-2013, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
msedaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm displaying them on a 55" LED TV. The bluray is playing through a Sony bluray player and the hard drive version plays through a Mac Mini using XBMC. I would have thought they would look identical, especially since I used the "Master File" setting to make the hard drive version, but they do not. The hard drive version has more of a "film" look and not in a good way. Colors not quite as saturated, action not quite as smooth. Perhaps the fault lies within the settings of the Mac Mini or the XBMC interface, but I'm just not sure. Any thoughts?
msedaka is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-14-2013, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Both using the same HDMI input on the TV?

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-14-2013, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 208
I'd try a different playe on the Mac. What is available? MPC-HC is about the best on Windows. Do they have a Mac port? If not, VLC might be an option.
olyteddy is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-14-2013, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
msedaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

Both using the same HDMI input on the TV?

Bill

Yes. Good question, though!
msedaka is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-14-2013, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
msedaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

I'd try a different playe on the Mac. What is available? MPC-HC is about the best on Windows. Do they have a Mac port? If not, VLC might be an option.

I tried Quicktime player and it didn't look any better.
msedaka is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 03:47 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I suspect that your TV is applying processing (sharpness filters etc) to the Bluray player input, but not to the PC input. This is causing you to think that the PC input is 'muddy' whereas in reality it is the more correct picture.
elario is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-15-2013, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
L33TX43RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If your TV is running through HDMI / DVI from your PC, very likely you'll need to check your Advanced video settings (Intel graphics or AMD). Make sure running RGB (4:4:4), not YCbCr (4:2:2). The difference in picture quality would be very noticeable. This worked for me, when I first connected my laptop to a flat-panel HDTV, via HDMI / DVI.
L33TX43RT is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off