Recommended way to convert VC1 to H264? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That was disabled.

Also, all my HDDVDs are 1080p - Transfomers 1, The Bourne Trilogy, Constantine, King Kong, Superman Returns, Batman Begins

I tried several videos, with different codec combinations.

I have the in-video settings set to VDPAU - Bob, Auto Deinterlace, and Video Scaling Method Auto, per earlier in this thread.

drop stayed at 0 despite the stutters. CPU usage is also very low, 10-20% FR is 23.976. My display is set to 60 though. Should it not be? I can change that. I"ve never had to for my bluray players. If that's the issue I'm going to feel stupid.

edit: I just changed that and the VC1 blurays are still skipping. That seems to have mitigated some of the H264 stutters, but that's not a setting I've every changed before, so I'm not sure about it.

the pc: which i'm seeing is the pullup correction, is showing 1 on the blurays (even VC1), and non/0 on the HDDVDs so that seems to confirm to me a bad rip.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie97L View Post


drop stayed at 0 despite the stutters. CPU usage is also very low, 10-20% FR is 23.976.
I feel stupid for not asking this earlier. How is the Revo connected to your network? Wired or Wifi?
bluechunks is offline  
post #33 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wired, all the way. I'm running:

Synology j413 -> cat6 -> asus gigabit switch -> cat6 -> revo / pi

Putting the framerate at 24 definitely imrpoved the h264 stuff.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #34 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 07:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Does your switch have any settings for flow control and/or traffic (or port) priority?

I ask because I experienced a similar stuttering issue with my gigabit network also serving from a Synology NAS to an Oppo Blu Ray player. It should have "just worked" but instead I experienced problems with high bandwidth content that should have well below the limits of the network. The issue was rectified when I updated the firmware on the managed switches and made some configuration changes.
bluechunks is offline  
post #35 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's the ASUS GX-D1501. I don't think it has any settings I can access...

But the gigabit indicator is on for both ports.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #36 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
GX-1501 or GX-1051?

If it's the 1051 have you tried connecting the Revo to the "VIP" port? If not, try that.

And I just want to confirm you are only using NFS on the Revo to access the NAS. If not, can you try that? And if so, have you tried other protocols?
bluechunks is offline  
post #37 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Crap it is the 1051.

I will try VIP right now.

That didn't help.

on the Pi the VC1 blurays are playing fine, as are the H264.

I'm re-ripping a hddvd manually as we speak.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #38 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am only using NFS.

I can try Samba I suppose. I researched that NFS was way better for this. Will try that now.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #39 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie97L View Post

I am only using NFS.

I can try Samba I suppose. I researched that NFS was way better for this. Will try that now.
In theory NFS should be the first choice but at this point it's worth eliminating variables.
bluechunks is offline  
post #40 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On Samba share, VC1 rips are still stuttering.

Maybe MKV Screwed up all of the VC1 rips?

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #41 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie97L View Post

On Samba share, VC1 rips are still stuttering.

Maybe MKV Screwed up all of the VC1 rips?

Certainly a strong possibility.

But it's only on the HD-DVD rips, correct? Blu Ray VC1 rips are fine on both the Pi and the Revo? If so, I'd say that helps add suspicion to Make MKV.

If the Blu Ray VC1 rips are working on the Pi but not the Revo it sounds like something could still be going on with the Revo.
bluechunks is offline  
post #42 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On the Pi-
After changing the display rate to 24.00 and forcing audio passthrough
Bluray H264 runs fine
Bluray VC1 runs fine
HDDVD is a slide show

On the Revo-
After changing the display rate to 23.97
Bluray H264 runs fine
Bluray VC1 stutters
HDDVD stutters

This is an NFS share. Samba was worse performance, with frame drops registering in the OSD.

In NFS there were stutters but the drop value was 0.

So my main issue is the VC1 blurays on the Revo. The Pi is working gangbusters.

Also, seriously, thank you all for helping me with this.

Still manually ripping a test HDDVD.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #43 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 63
HD-DVD is a little problematic because of the way it stores 23.976 content with pulldown flags. Not every ripper software and player is in agreement with how it should be handled and applying pulldown when it isn't needed can cause problems like you describe. I believe MakeMKV removes the flags currently but did not do this several years ago.

I leave de-interlace set to 'off' by default (and manually switch it on by movie if required) because leaving it on 'Auto' caused problems with HD-DVD remuxes on my OpenElec system in the past, attempting to deinterlace stuff that didn't require it. I filed bug reports on github but they were never addressed. But if it works for you like that then leave it set to Auto.
elario is offline  
post #44 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok! I will let you know how it works vis-a-vis the new hddvd rip.

I might try that for the bluray vc1 rips as well.

That's the big killer for me on the Revo, as that's my primary "fancy" htpc in my home theater, with a big theme.

I've also got that matching RAM arriving tomorrow, we'll see if that helps.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #45 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WELL, that deinterlace to off seems to have fixed the at least some of the HDDVDs on the PI. I'm testing all of them as we speak.

Will check out he revo next.

i'm still probably going to re-rip the HDDVDs since they're all not working. Won't take too long. just as insurance.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #46 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Changing the De-interlace to "off" did not fix any of the VC1 bluray rips on the revo.

I guess I'm going to have to assume it's the rip that's bad.

I will re-rip a problematic bluray manually and see what happens. Might not get to that until tomorrow, but will update when I do.

i also haven't ruled out the RAM being an issue, that will be here tomorrow.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #47 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, so the re-ripped HDDVD plays perfect on the Pi.

Plays a LOT better on the Revo, but still not perfect. I'm ripping a VC1 BD, and goign to rip a VC1 HDDVD, and see what that's like.

At this point, I'm thinking it might be the RAM. I hope so, I thought this was a viable platform for an HTPC, if not I'll have to look at something else.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #48 of 55 Old 09-25-2013, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
VC1 Manual Bluray played the same on the revo, so we will see tomorrow if it is the ram. hope so.

thanks again for helping me work through this!

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #49 of 55 Old 09-26-2013, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 47
It's unusual that only VC-1 content is proving problematic, maybe faulty hardware on the Revo or a bug specific to the exact combo your using bios/GPU rev etc.

If RAM doesn't change anything you might want to start considering an alternative platform. The only long shot would be try it with Windows as the base OS.
Alx330 is offline  
post #50 of 55 Old 09-26-2013, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like it was the RAM!

Kind of relieved, after all the time that's been put in. VC1 bluray is silky, and the Manually ripped HDDVDs look amazing (as they should) and are playing without a hitch, so MakeMkv was definitely the culprit there.

Thanks everyone for the help.

I have one other question. Can I rip the hd audio tracks from the hddvd alone and then mux those in to the existing mkv? I didn't do that when I initially re-did them yesterday, but I want to add them in for archival purposes, and hope to do that without re-ripping. (Forgot some subtitle tracks on some blurays as well).

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #51 of 55 Old 09-26-2013, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie97L View Post

Looks like it was the RAM!

Kind of relieved, after all the time that's been put in. VC1 bluray is silky, and the Manually ripped HDDVDs look amazing (as they should) and are playing without a hitch, so MakeMkv was definitely the culprit there.

Thanks everyone for the help.
Fantastic! smile.gif

Glad to see things came together. Out of curiosity what software are you using with success to manually rip the HD-DVDs? (I don't have a player anymore but there are some discs sitting in the basement if I look for a used one....)
bluechunks is offline  
post #52 of 55 Old 09-26-2013, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie97L View Post

I have one other question. Can I rip the hd audio tracks from the hddvd alone and then mux those in to the existing mkv? I didn't do that when I initially re-did them yesterday, but I want to add them in for archival purposes, and hope to do that without re-ripping. (Forgot some subtitle tracks on some blurays as well).
I'm not sure about PC but I'm pretty sure TSMuxerGUI for Mac will do that.
bluechunks is offline  
post #53 of 55 Old 09-26-2013, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

Fantastic! smile.gif

Glad to see things came together. Out of curiosity what software are you using with success to manually rip the HD-DVDs? (I don't have a player anymore but there are some discs sitting in the basement if I look for a used one....)

I used an xbox 360 drive into a win7 PC:

Ripped with hd stream extractor and anydvdhd then combined with mkvmerge.

If you go back to the first page of this thread someone linked a how to on the word "manually" about 5-5 posts down. I used that method.

Only counter intuitive thing was the vc1 had to be ripped to a vc1 format, not mkv. Then it goes into a mkv on that merge.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
post #54 of 55 Old 09-27-2013, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie97L View Post

Looks like it was the RAM!

Glad to hear it works now. Now you know why I kept asking if you were running your ram in dual channel config smile.gif

It is the most common cause of VDPAU playback problems in Ion1 systems - because of the shared RAM the GPU requires as much memory bandwidth as possible. Running in dual channel doubles your bandwidth and is necessary for the higher end of video complexity/bitrate.

Later Ion systems have dedicated VRAM so its not an issue.
elario is offline  
post #55 of 55 Old 09-28-2013, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh totally. I resolved that as fast as I was able.

:-)

Thanks for your help!

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off