Building first media server - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > Building first media server

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

02saleen346's Avatar 02saleen346
08:47 PM Liked: 11
post #1 of 8
09-29-2013 | Posts: 105
Joined: Oct 2008
Starting my research of a couple of projects and need some help. I want to store movies, pictures, music and be albe to stream audio/video to 4 rooms. Would i be able to upload pictures from phone or tablet to server? By budget for starting out is $500. I will also be building a mini htpc for the main living room or maybe all 4 rooms if its best. Can some one share there build list and what I would need to get started? I will be running cable from each location to my master closet, what kind of switches or other products would I need to connect to server? My router is in the living room if that makes a difference. I have a 7 year old single story house and Im a big fan of XBMC. My project after this will be a whole home audio system in 8 zones (living room, garage, patio, 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Looking at sonos amps.
bluechunks's Avatar bluechunks
08:53 PM Liked: 62
post #2 of 8
09-29-2013 | Posts: 933
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02saleen346 View Post

Starting my research of a couple of projects and need some help. I want to store movies, pictures, music and be albe to stream audio/video to 4 rooms. Would i be able to upload pictures from phone or tablet to server? By budget for starting out is $500. I will also be building a mini htpc for the main living room or maybe all 4 rooms if its best. Can some one share there build list and what I would need to get started? I will be running cable from each location to my master closet, what kind of switches or other products would I need to connect to server? My router is in the living room if that makes a difference. I have a 7 year old single story house and Im a big fan of XBMC. My project after this will be a whole home audio system in 8 zones (living room, garage, patio, 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Looking at sonos amps.
You have lots of options for a NAS (server) but if you are going to build a mini-PC for each room and want XBMC take a very serious look at OpenELEC and select your components from there.
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
12:46 AM Liked: 601
post #3 of 8
09-30-2013 | Posts: 6,438
Joined: Mar 2009
Intel NUCs are a pretty good option. I am actually thinking about buying one...I'm not sure if the wife will be too happy about it though.
bluechunks's Avatar bluechunks
07:19 AM Liked: 62
post #4 of 8
09-30-2013 | Posts: 933
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Intel NUCs are a pretty good option. I am actually thinking about buying one...I'm not sure if the wife will be too happy about it though.
She will, I suspect---mine is thrilled with our NUC with OpenELEC.

Since it uses XBMC and is controlled by our Harmony remote it simply acts as another device in the rack....except is has fast great looking menus (Aeon Nux skin add-on) so it actually behaves better, and is more user friendly, than any of our other devices.

A couple hints:

1) The new "Haswel" 5th generation CPU NUCs arriving soon have an IR sensor built-in so no need for an external one like the current NUCs. They also have revised GPUs with improved 1080i de-interlacing if that is a factor.

2) Set the Shutdown option within XBMC to "sleep" so the remote simply wakes the NUC from sleep. The NUC draws 1W in standby and wakes virtually instantaneously since OpenELEC runs from RAM once booted.
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
08:42 AM Liked: 601
post #5 of 8
09-30-2013 | Posts: 6,438
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

She will, I suspect---mine is thrilled with our NUC with OpenELEC.

Since it uses XBMC and is controlled by our Harmony remote it simply acts as another device in the rack....except is has fast great looking menus (Aeon Nux skin add-on) so it actually behaves better, and is more user friendly, than any of our other devices.

A couple hints:

1) The new "Haswel" 5th generation CPU NUCs arriving soon have an IR sensor built-in so no need for an external one like the current NUCs. They also have revised GPUs with improved 1080i de-interlacing if that is a factor.

2) Set the Shutdown option within XBMC to "sleep" so the remote simply wakes the NUC from sleep. The NUC draws 1W in standby and wakes virtually instantaneously since OpenELEC runs from RAM once booted.

Good to know. I might wait.
ZzBloopzZ's Avatar ZzBloopzZ
08:15 AM Liked: 37
post #6 of 8
10-01-2013 | Posts: 149
Joined: Sep 2010
Thanks for the info bluechunks! Do you have a link to the NUC that you own?

I wish XBMC supported 3D ISO's, then I would purchase the NUC in a heart beat! I love XBMC, I used to use it back in the day with a modified Xbox 1. But then went to a WDTV. Time to get something better than the WDTV.

Debating between building my own HTPC or just purchasing a Mede8er 600X3D.
bluechunks's Avatar bluechunks
09:24 AM Liked: 62
post #7 of 8
10-01-2013 | Posts: 933
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZzBloopzZ View Post

Thanks for the info bluechunks! Do you have a link to the NUC that you own?
I have the Celeron 847 NUC with 2x2GB RAM and a micro Sandisk Cruizer USB drive with OpenELEC installed. The NUCs also come in i3 and i5 versions and the new (Hawsell) units should be out soon. This spring could also herald a very low cost unit that could be a perfect low-cost XBMC machine if Intel uses a current GPU. Alternatively, there are lots of folks using ION based units (example) with OpenELEC for XBMC.

FWIW, the NUC does almost everything---1080p in all the common codecs, HD audio bit streaming, cool Aeon Nux skin, but it does not do 3D. It is also weak, IMHO, with 1080i de-interlacing but since all my media is film based it doesn't matter to me. There is also a reported 24p "problem" that the new Haswell units are reported to solve but I also have to admit than in real world viewing I have yet to notice the problem.
kyle76092's Avatar kyle76092
08:05 AM Liked: 10
post #8 of 8
10-09-2013 | Posts: 69
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post


1) The new "Haswel" 5th generation CPU NUCs arriving soon have an IR sensor built-in so no need for an external one like the current NUCs. They also have revised GPUs with improved 1080i de-interlacing if that is a factor.

Is this the Broadwell chip?
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3