Netgear R7000 Nighthawk AC1900 Router Review and Comments Thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 861 Old 04-14-2016, 09:58 AM
Member
 
guitarchitect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hoping I can get a bit of assistance. Just picked up the R7000 and it's great! But I can't seem to play music off it.

My setup is the router, an Android phone running Retune, PCs running iTunes, and an iPhone and macbook running iTunes.
My speakers are Pioneer A4 speakers, which have airplay capability. I was able to play the library off my PC and Android phone with Retune on my older Netgear WNR3500.

I couldn't get anything to work with the R7000 (current firmware) until I turned off QoS. Once I did that, I could easily play to the speakers from my PC using itunes and its locally stored music.
However, on the PC I cannot play the iTunes library on the USB stick I've plugged into the back of the router. When I try to play it from retune, I get Error (Code 400 I think). When I try from my PC, nothing happens. If I try to sort everything by artist or album, none of it works.

Is this a typical issue? Is there a quick fix?
guitarchitect is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 861 Old 04-14-2016, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 57
For the heck of it got the "new" Netgear Genie app, use to be junk, and it lets you stream anything, except video.
FarmerBob is offline  
post #843 of 861 Old 04-15-2016, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,679
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I now use this firmware. Version 3.1-132
Runs better than Kong DD-WRT which was annoying with its constant updating that would always break something and way better than the butt ugly stock Netgear firmware which is updated if lucky once a year.
I love the bandwidth meter of Advanced Tomato better than when I using Merlin firmware when I had the Asus router.
dyingjedi likes this.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Streaming Device: Fire TV Box (1st Gen).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
 
post #844 of 861 Old 01-08-2017, 02:18 PM
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 29
netgear ac1900 here

i received an email from netgear regarding security vulnerability: VU#582384

anyone else receive this email?

its giving me instructions on downloading a R6900 firmware update.

not sure this is legit
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #845 of 861 Old 01-08-2017, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,679
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 117
This router rocks with Advanced Tomato. I would never bother with the stock firmware.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Streaming Device: Fire TV Box (1st Gen).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #846 of 861 Old 01-08-2017, 04:59 PM
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
This router rocks with Advanced Tomato. I would never bother with the stock firmware.
advanced tomato? what is that? id like to get the most out of this router
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #847 of 861 Old 01-08-2017, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luisfc1972 View Post
advanced tomato? what is that? id like to get the most out of this router
A third party firmware

https://advancedtomato.com/downloads/router/r7000

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Last edited by fmedrano1977; 01-08-2017 at 07:40 PM.
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #848 of 861 Old 01-08-2017, 07:51 PM
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
A third party firmware

https://advancedtomato.com/downloads/router/r7000

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
hmm i see many different versions. do i choose one of the top ones? the 3.4-138 instead of the 3.3-138? etc.

and then which option out of the 3 underneath the one i choose?

also when its downloaded to my computer. how do i get it downloaded into my ac1900?

sorry this is all new to me
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #849 of 861 Old 01-08-2017, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luisfc1972 View Post
hmm i see many different versions. do i choose one of the top ones? the 3.4-138 instead of the 3.3-138? etc.

and then which option out of the 3 underneath the one i choose?

also when its downloaded to my computer. how do i get it downloaded into my ac1900?

sorry this is all new to me
Post #843 mentions the one he uses, as far as how to get it on the router, view the flash guide.

If it's like dd-wrt is fairly simple to flash, you just select the file you want to flash in the router firmware update section of the router UI.
Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #850 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
This router rocks with Advanced Tomato. I would never bother with the stock firmware.
Seriously...why bother to do this? I would think it might put you on the outs with Netgear support if anything were to ever go wrong, no? Must be a major upside to take that risk...please share?

Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #851 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,679
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Seriously...why bother to do this? I would think it might put you on the outs with Netgear support if anything were to ever go wrong, no? Must be a major upside to take that risk...please share?
What tech support. I call up and speak to some brain dead idiot from half way around the world that just tells me to reboot or unplug and plug back in. I am my own tech support as Tomato runs great. Great range and fast.
azz7686 likes this.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Streaming Device: Fire TV Box (1st Gen).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #852 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
What tech support. I call up and speak to some brain dead idiot from half way around the world that just tells me to reboot or unplug and plug back in. I am my own tech support as Tomato runs great. Great range and fast.
I agree. Advanced Tomato has been on mine for a year now and it is rock solid. I think I may go back to Asus-WRT, though just because it lets you set the router as the Master Browser by default on your SMB network. Either one has been just as good or better than the stock firmware for me.
smitbret is offline  
post #853 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bobsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luisfc1972 View Post
netgear ac1900 here

i received an email from netgear regarding security vulnerability: VU#582384

anyone else receive this email?

its giving me instructions on downloading a R6900 firmware update.

not sure this is legit

The firmware update is legit. There was a vulnerability discovered and Netgear released the updated firmware. I am using it myself on my R7000. No issues.

Bob Silver
Netgear Product Advisor
bobsilver is offline  
post #854 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsilver View Post
The firmware update is legit. There was a vulnerability discovered and Netgear released the updated firmware. I am using it myself on my R7000. No issues.

Bob Silver
Netgear Product Advisor
So even if we did not receive an email notification regarding this firmware update, we likely need to do it, correct? How recently was the update made available? Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #855 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitbret View Post
I agree. Advanced Tomato has been on mine for a year now and it is rock solid. I think I may go back to Asus-WRT, though just because it lets you set the router as the Master Browser by default on your SMB network. Either one has been just as good or better than the stock firmware for me.
So is it as simple as pointing the router to the most current advanced tomato firmware version and flashing it over the stock software? I find wifi routers to be a bit more voodoo than you guys obviously do, so I still may be too chicken to try it. But definitely curious...thanks!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #856 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 38
There is also a chance of bricking your expensive router by flashing another firmware to it. Keep that in mind.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Stevetd is offline  
post #857 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
There is also a chance of bricking your expensive router by flashing another firmware to it. Keep that in mind.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's true. I only flash to alt firmware if there is a specific reason or feature that I am after. I am comfortable with it and have never bricked one yet, but I remember the first time I tried I was just about s#!*ing bricks. Granted that was the long and tedious rooting and flashing that converted my T-Mobile Cell Spot to a stock Asus RT-68A but I got it right. Other flashes haven't been as difficult.
smitbret is offline  
post #858 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bobsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
So even if we did not receive an email notification regarding this firmware update, we likely need to do it, correct? How recently was the update made available? Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
The reason for the email is that the firmware hasnt been put through the normal update channel which takes longer. The breach was found and got a bit of press attention. So Netgear responded quickly to satisfy concerns.

You can update now or wait. I personally dont think it's a big deal but if you are very concerned about security do. As I said I did the update and its been fine.

The update was made available about 2-3 weeks ago.

Bob Silver
Netgear Product Advisor
bobsilver is offline  
post #859 of 861 Old 01-09-2017, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bobsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
There is also a chance of bricking your expensive router by flashing another firmware to it. Keep that in mind.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The R7000 is pretty flushed out and the other firmware is all pretty stable. I have tried several and went back to the Netgear firmware since all the functions I need are there and it's a lot easier to understand. Much of the third party firmware is for advanced functionality which most normal users wont need. But it can be fun to play. But know that taking down your network to update to a different firmware is sure to cause you some headaches so be prepared for the time sink it takes to get all things sorted out.

Bob Silver
Netgear Product Advisor
bobsilver is offline  
post #860 of 861 Old 01-10-2017, 11:33 AM
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsilver View Post
The reason for the email is that the firmware hasnt been put through the normal update channel which takes longer. The breach was found and got a bit of press attention. So Netgear responded quickly to satisfy concerns.

You can update now or wait. I personally dont think it's a big deal but if you are very concerned about security do. As I said I did the update and its been fine.

The update was made available about 2-3 weeks ago.

Bob Silver
Netgear Product Advisor
good to know netgear will update the router eventuallly. i can wait
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #861 of 861 Old 01-11-2017, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,679
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsilver View Post
The R7000 is pretty flushed out and the other firmware is all pretty stable. I have tried several and went back to the Netgear firmware since all the functions I need are there and it's a lot easier to understand. Much of the third party firmware is for advanced functionality which most normal users wont need. But it can be fun to play. But know that taking down your network to update to a different firmware is sure to cause you some headaches so be prepared for the time sink it takes to get all things sorted out.

Bob Silver
Netgear Product Advisor
I love advanced settings. The stock firmware is ugly and basic. It does not even have a bandwidth monitor. Great to have when I have streaming issues.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Streaming Device: Fire TV Box (1st Gen).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Netgear R7000 100pas Ac1900 Gig Router

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off